We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Our trip to Blackberry Farm was a total disappointment. This is not a destination for a gourmand or serious cook. The food is heavy, over salted and overcooked. The cooking class is basic and oversimplified. For example,I "learned" how to make a bacon, lettuce and tomato salad with yogurt dressing - which is something I made in college. The accommodations are nicely furnished, but the water pressure is so poor that it is impossible to take a decent shower. It took 30 minutes to fill the bath 1/2 way. The wood burning fireplace is not adequately vented, so that the smell of smoke remains in the room for days,
There is a 19% service fee added to the total amount of the bill. This is ridiculous, as the service was poor. Check-in took a very long time, even though they were not busy. We were locked out of our cottage by the maid on a cold night. Room service for breakfast took over an hour, and the meal was barely warm. The hotel was advised well in advance of our stay of my dietary restrictions. Instead of substituting, the restaurant simply omitted and served me next to nothing.
This is a rural location, so there is very little to do, unless you add to the already substantial bill for basic activities such as horseback riding,
The website way oversells this destination.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank goldylocksChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding. We flew into the closest airport, which is only 25 minutes away in Knoxville, TN. Pulling up into the resort was like taking a step back away from it all. They immediately took our rental car (which we never saw again until departure to the airport) and unloaded everything into our cottage. I mean everything, my sunglasses were neatly arranged on the desk.
The cottages come with golf carts. We love to walk and explore, but there is something fun about driving around and exploring the expansive estate.
Yes, the prices are steep, but worth every last cent. Our cottage was in the newer Singingbrook area. Very well appointed. We even booked a couples massage in our room. Romantic and excellent massages!
The food itself is one of the best places we have ever eaten. Fresh, fresh fresh. They specialize in using ingredients from their own garden, eggs from their hens, cheese from their goats and well the lamb too! The drinks are extra, but not more overpriced than any other high quality restaurant. We are big eaters and were NEVER hungry. Just ask and you shall receive, even if its not on the menu.
If you plan a vacation at Blackberry, go for the food and the service. And of course to just relax

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank NyctravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Friends had recommended Blackberry to us for years. It was terrible disappointment. When a venue charges such an extraordinary sum, it does not seem unreasonable to expect an extraordinary experience. We had nothing of the sort. Service was pleasant but inept, food can be charitably described as uneven ,at best (desserts were particularly heinous), and the markups on wine obscene. And by the way, after you've made your exorbitant (nonrefundable) payment for your reservation, you will still be assessed a 19% service charge as well as sales tax and occupancy taxes totalling another 16% AND there is a sizable supplementary charge on various menus and food items. The pantries contain pretzels,potato chips, cookies, m&m's and soft drinks. Nothing else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank nervmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

i'm dreaming about getting away again and thinking about our favorite places - blackberry farm is definitely one of them! we just made a reservation for a return visit this summer. this is one of the very few places my workaholic husband can really relax and enjoy being pampered. we both love hiking with the naturalist, talking with the incredible people who take care of the farm and share their extensive knowledge (they are always happy to give you an in depth tour of whatever you are interested in - organic gardening, milking sheep, making cheese ect.) , driving into the incredibly beautiful smoky mountains with the lexis convertible and enjoying all the amazing food - oh and the bonfire under the stars every night. we generally stay in the main house - we love the rooms there and have great memories of our first night returning from a magical garden dinner (we were lucky enough to be there when they were having one of those!) to find our room filled with candle light and our bed decorated with rose petals and chocolate covered strawberries - it took my breath away it was so pretty and unexpected. that was four years ago - we have gone back at least once a year ever since. i wish i could be there now! : ) such a truly special place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Granted, it's not exactly a bargain establishment, but my fiance and I left the hotel feeling like we got even more than what we paid for. Every detail was flawless, from the free water, soda and snacks located everywhere to the extreme kindness of the staff, who was very interested in helping us make the most of our stay. The food? Exceptional. Not quite French Laundry--yet--but not very far from that standard. The new Singing Brook Cottages are the best hotel rooms I've stayed in--bar none. Riding around on a golf cart? Best transportation idea of all time. Also loved the Halloween activities, like a seed talk and pumpkin carving, that made things even more special. We'll be back every year--it would be great to visit with family. And don't forget to leave with some of the pimento cheese and the new cookbook!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UESnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Blackberry Farm is an amazing place! Everything is of highest quality. The food and wine experience is out of this world and the rooms are so luxurious! I recommend attending one of their food and wine events if you are passionate about food and wine. You get to see top chefs and learn great things about cooking and meet guest vitners and learn about great wines from around the world. The property is beautiful and peaceful. If you are looking for a mountain getaway where you will be pampered and wined and dined with the best, Blackberry Farm is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Just retruend from a quick getaway to Blackberry Farm ... the service, food, ambiance and overall experience were top-notch. We stayed in Pencil Cob, a perfectly appointed cabin (if you can call a structure that has a jetted tu, flat screen tv and tons of closet space a "cabin"!) and could not have been more pleased with both the accommodations and the surroundings. The food was excellent nad geared toward a sophisticated palate. We loved the perfect portion sizes, where they did not try to stuff you. All in all, it was the best vacation we have taken in the continental U.S.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LookoutLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
17.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
731 reviews
20.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
18.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
537 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hilton Knoxville Airport
4.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Address: 1471 W Millers Cove Rd, Walland, TN 37886-2649
Region: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range: £795 - £2,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blackberry Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee/Walland
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing