We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for a Relaxing Weekend”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wartrace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walking Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wartrace
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend in this quaint little town. This hotel is within walking distance of everything in this little town and is close to several other towns which are all great for sight seeing. If staying here a trip to Bell Buckle to eat at the Bell Buckle Cafe is a must! If you are wanting a great view a trip to Normandy to George Nickle is recommended. The hotel owner also has events most weekends in the Chais Music Hall. This hotel is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel although the rooms each have their own bathrooms. This will definitely be the place we stay anytime we are going to be in the area!

Room Tip: Most rooms are upstairs with no elevator but there is one room on the ground floor that is handicap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Wartrace is slightly off the beaten path, but literally in the "Heart of Walking Horse Country." More like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, no elevator.
Some people claim there are ghosts that still live there, although friendly ones!

Two great restaurants within a short distance, both with GREAT food, Miller's Grocery and The Bell Buckle Cafe. Both have home style cooking, reasonable prices, and food so good you will come back the next day.

This is an excellent place for a quiet weekend to spend touring horse country, visit yard sales, or just stay in bed and relax. Joe and his staff will see that you have whatever you need, and even cook some BBQ on the weekends.
You can sit on the porch in a rocking chair and enjoy a simpler/more gentile time.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bestfoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

From a era of simplier times come the Walking Horse Hotel, a must place to stay if you enjoy the small towns and rolling hills of Middle TN. The inn was clean, very comfortable and has the unique bonus of a Wonderful Host. Thank you Joe and Little Joe for all you did for our family over the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

If you're planning a trip to middle Tennessee, you have to stay at this great inn. What a lovely experience and a very fine innkeep, Joe Peters.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadAgain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We enjoyed a great weekend with Joe and his staff. The entertainment is first class- the house band is amazing,. If you want a great getaway with antique shopping and other sites in the area, this the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffTN62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

This place is not hard to find--right at the heart of this tiny town. The photo of the place I saw on the web did not do it justice. The old hotel, built in 1917 has been refurbished and the room we had on the 3rd floor was humongous, with 2 large beds and a nice big bath with claw foot tub and a separate shower. They serve a continental breakfast weekends if the hotel is fairly full. Great front porch to sit in a rocker and veg out. On Fri. night we walked right across the street to the Pizza parlor and had dinner and watched local blugrass performers-fun! We stayed for 2 nights and I would definitely go back. The owner was very personable and helpful.
The only thing one might want to check on if you have trouble with stairs (we took stairs up to our room) is if they have an elevator.
The price was also reasonable--in the $80.00 range for a double.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bayoupots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Walking Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Horse Hotel

Address: 101 Spring St, Wartrace, TN 37183-2010
Region: United States > Tennessee > Wartrace
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wartrace
Number of rooms: 259

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing