We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful fitness”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tennessee Fitness Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waynesboro
Certificate of Excellence
RiverOcean
2 reviews
“Peaceful fitness”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Wonderful people. I've been 5 years and plan to go
every year. Very simple, peaceful, and great value.
I don't know of any place like it for the money, and
I always run into old friends from years past. The
employees are all dedicated, helpful, and will go out
of there way to assist guests. The food is simple and
filling and what a beautiful place to eat your meals sitting
along side a creek with beavers, birds, and an occasional
hail storm. The best part for me is that you are not
surrounded by people talking on their cell phones and you
can get a room with no television. It is all about fitness
and health after all. You get out of your stay what you
put into it.

Room Tip: Do without television and enjoy the peace and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    13
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
10
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I just returned from a week at TFS and can't wait to go back. The setting was gorgeous, the workouts were challenging, the facility was immaculately clean, and the staff was warm and friendly. Everyone went out of their way to make sure the guests had everything they needed to be comfortable! I found the instructors to be highly trained and professional. They were eager to listen and answer questions. My only complaint is that the food, while good and nutritious, was not "great" (although some meals were definately better than others). All in all, it was an excellent investment in myself. I feel relaxed and invigorated. Like I said before, I really can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I went to this fitness place to "jump start" getting back into exercise and healthier lifestyle. I read many reviews on tripadvisor before choosing it. It not only met my expectations but exceeded them. The instructors were knowledgable, inspirational and seemed to truly care.

In terms of the meals, I had the vegetarian selection and it did not disappoint. Things like stuffed eggplant, black bean burgers, etc.were very good. This staff was so friendly and accomodating. The portions were very large and I often shared some of mine with other guests that admired my vegetarian selections. There was always a large selection of fresh fruit to add to your breakfast choice. The lunch and supper meals always had a salad bar available. There are snacks if you feel you need one. I never did.

I never saw anything that wasn't clean and in order. All the buiildinhgs/facilities were well kept especially considering the wet swim suits, large amount of towel use, and sweaty workouts. The grounds were the same. Beautiful plants and gardens surround this campus. It was a pleasure to walk around or just sit and enjoy.

I loved everything about this place. The classes were wonderful, the grounds were gorgious and everyone there (be it staff or guests) so friendly and easy to get to know. You must be self motivated because they aren't going to chase you down to get you to the classes. If you go there to learn and improve your physical health which can also improve mental health, then you will attend all the classes you can. For me, this was definitely the place to get myself back on track and was so affordable compared to all other places Almost every guest I met had been there before; some had been several times. That speaks volumes for me. If you want to do something good for yourself, spend a week or two here. It was fun, hard work, relaxing, empowering and addictive. I hope to come back atleast once and hopefully twice a year.

If you pinned me down to come up with something lacking here I could only say toothpicks.

Room Tip: There are several different types of rooms. You can even bring your RV and get a different price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlaKes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennFitSpa, Office assistant at Tennessee Fitness Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here so much. We'd love to have you back again and again! And we promise to get you toothpicks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have been to many spas, including Canyon Ranch, Ojai and others and I go back to TFS every year. This is a "spa" for folks interested in making a serious lifestyle change without breaking the bank. Though there is a salon, massages etc, the value of the spa resides in the number and types of fitness classes from outdoor hikes to weight training aerobics, water workouts etc. along with delicious and nutricious food. In addition the staff and other guests are friendly, so this is an ideal place to travel solo. There are activities every night or you can hide out in your room, watch TV or hole up with your computer...you have choices. The staff is caring and competent. The location is beautiful and isolated - perfect to focus on those lifestyle changes. My last visit in May was for a month and I lost 16 lbs, 18 inches and 4% body fat - YEAH! and have continued the program to lose more weight and inches. I'll go back this October to get ready for my ski season.

The guest are all ages and fitness levels - some travelling in groups and some solo - most all are friendly and I have made long time friends here.

I highly recommend TFS to anyone wanting to effect a change for health and fitness and want some money left over to buy new clothes in your new size.

Room Tip: check out the web site - all accomodations are described
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IreneKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennFitSpa, Office assistant at Tennessee Fitness Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
So glad to hear you had another great time here! Congrats on the losses! Can't wait to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My daughter and I spent a week of walking, meeting new friends, and eating healthy food.
It was my second time at the TFS, and my daughter's first. Yes, it may not be fancy, but if you want to get away from it all, do a lot of walking and exercising, meet new friends, and change your lifestyle for the better then this is the place for you.

What is most impressive, was out of the 40+ people that were there, the week we were attending probably 65% were repeat visitors. One lady was there for the 19th year. She said she comes once a year when her body tells her it needs to get away.

I tell everyone that will listen, if you want a jump start to a healthy lifestyle, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glehman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennFitSpa, Office assistant at Tennessee Fitness Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We loved having both of you here! Can't wait to have you both back again! Thanks for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My sister & I went for the 3-day 2011 "May Madness" special & loved every minute. We're both mid-50s & had realistic expectations from a friend who said "it's more like a camp than a luxury spa". That was perfect for us. I was going for fitness & fun, not pampering. It was terrific; worth every penny! We found the 'down-home'ness of the staff so enjoyable. We were educated on nutrition, fed WAY better than we prepare for ourselves (nutritionally) and were astounded that on so little calories, with so much exertion, we didn't get hungry! I lost a little bit of weight during the few days & have lost MORE in the 5 weeks since - amazing! We had FUN with other guests - many our age, several retired, down to just graduated from college. Beautiful grounds, VERY upbeat attitudes of all staff. I hope to go back for at least a week a year. Some of the other guests go every year for a week; some for a month. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

reasons to go:
Change lifestyle
Start a fitness program
Change diet
get info on Diabeties diet
Reasons not to go..
To get pampered.. yes there is massage there.. but this is not a luxury spa.. (you can tell from the price that
it is not that).

There is plenty of staff if you want to be productive, if you are looking for someone to come to your room and drag you out of your room, you will not find this. This is a place for people to get motivated or are already motivated and want to work to better them selves. You get out of this was you want to put into it.

One review said that they were always hungry.. I ate plenty of food but if I wanted more there was always an unlimited salad bar during lunch and dinner and always snacks in the refridgerator available. This is not a place to get gourmet food but the food was good and I even left with the cookbooks that Belinda made and sells with her meals. The meals are posted ahead of time, and if you do not like what is being served she will make something else for you.

When I left TFS I was 191 LBS (down from 220 at the start of my weight loss) and my A1C was below 7. Six months later my A1C has stayed down and my weight has stayed inthe range of 191 to 195. So, I got the education and education that I needed.

The resort is built in an old park so the surrounds are nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuseGlassArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
7.0 mi away
Hurricane Inn
Hurricane Inn
#2 of 3 in Waynesboro
48 reviews
17.5 mi away
Commodore Hotel Linden
23.4 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Richland Inn
Richland Inn
#1 of 5 in Lawrenceburg
101 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#2 of 2 in Clifton
64 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hohenwald/Natchez Trace KOA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennessee Fitness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennessee Fitness Spa

Property: Tennessee Fitness Spa
Address: 299 Natural Bridge Park Rd, Waynesboro, TN 38485-5313
Region: United States > Tennessee > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waynesboro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tennessee Fitness is a week-long, all inclusive fitness program that provides healthy meals, clean and comfortable lodging, and 6 to 8 hours of workout classes six days a week. We have a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, fitness class room, indoor cycling, racquetball court, sauna, hot tub, sun deck, dining hall, beauty salon, massage rooms, and T.V. lounges. We are a full service, weight loss retreat, that is surprisingly affordable and proven to be effective. Guests travel from all over the world to experience a week at our fitness resort. They come to get in better shape, to get a kick start towards a weight loss goal, and/or to relax by the pool, fish in the streams, detox, stop smoking, and gather with family and friends. Located on a beautiful rural site boasting a double span natural bridge, affordable rates, and southern hospitality, our budget health spa has something for everyone. With a wide array of fitness activities, pet free and pet friendly housing options, educational workshops, healthy meal plans, and optional pampering services such as massages and pedicures, you are sure to be rejuvenated and ready to implement lifelong changes. Join us for a week or more of fun and fitness at our adult weight loss camp - you will not regret it! Accommodations include Quad, Standard, Standard Plus, Deluxe, Deluxe Plus, Penthouse, and 4 Pet Friendly Cottages which will accommodate 58 guests. The Penthouse apartment contains three beds, a fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, and TV/DVD. Housekeeping service is provided daily for all guests. Tennessee Fitness Spa is located 95 miles southwest of Nashville, Tennessee at beautiful Natural Bridge, outside Waynesboro, TN. This historic site is the only known double span natural bridge formation in the world. It is a purely natural formation that was formed over millions of years by a fresh water spring located nearby. Indians used the site over several different periods of history. Tribes including the Yuchi Indians from Mexico, the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muskogean and Creeks walked the trails around Natural Bridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tennessee Fitness Hotel Waynesboro
Tennessee Fitness Spa Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing