We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Finess Camp, not a spa”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tennessee Fitness Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waynesboro
Birmingham, Al
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's Finess Camp, not a spa”
Reviewed 4 October 2006

A friend and I stayed at Tennessee Fitness Spa the last week of September, 2006. We stayed at a house nearby that had been converted into a duplex. It had two bedrooms and one bath per side. It was clean and comfortable, but certainly not deluxe. All the guests there agree...it is a fitness camp for some and a weight loss camp for others. In the morning there is walking, classes of pilates and stretch, and aqua aerobics twice a day. The food is low cal and low salt. Nothing fancy, but mostly good. They have a salad buffet at lunch and dinner. In the evening they have crafts, bingo, and talks. On Saturday night is group movies and popcorn. The best thing about the place is the wide variety of interesting, kind and funny people. What a great group. It is easy to go alone and be taken into the group or stay the whole trip alone...your choice. So many repeat customers and many guests staying for weeks at a time. That has to speak for itself. But remember, it is not a spa....it is like camp for grownups.

  • Liked — Two bedrooms
  • Disliked — A bit far from the facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — To save money, get a double and you may or may not get a roommate
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Danatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    13
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
10
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2006

My friend and I stayed here for a week in late May. Fresh paint and lots of improvements made this a great vacation. The food was very tasteful and low cal/low salt--a great way to detox from sugar and salt without really trying. Exercise epuipment was super, lots of classes to choose from and the pool was heavenly. I plan to go back twice a year. If, however, you're looking for a trendy, people watching, gourment food spa,. this is not it. It is very low key and a wide variety of people take advantage of what they have to offer. Almost everyone was a repeat visitor. A very affordable way to kick back and relax AND lose weight.

  • Liked — Very tranquil and beautiful setting
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank clyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2006

This is my third visit to Tennessee Fitness Spa and I will definitely go again. The staff is friendly, the food is tasty, and the exercise classes and walks really do the job. Each time I have been there I've lost at least 5 pounds. One year I went for a two week visit and lost 8!! I'm definitely planning a visit this year and will be bringing a friend. This is not a luxury place...but the setting is beautiful and the focus is on retraining your behavior and a healthy lifestyle. I'd recommend this spa to anyone...especially those on a budget. If you enjoy simplicity and the simple beauty of natural surroundings, this place should be considred

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crazeedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2006

I think this may be the least expensive weight loss spa in the USA. My husband and I stayed for a week in the spring of 2005, for a rate of $800 each. We each lost 6lbs.

So what's to complain about, right?

Well.....the room was tiny, dark, dreary, depressing and reeked of bug spray (there was a can of wasp spray outside our door for the entire week). We had no water for the first day. I had stayed there before several years ago in a "quad" room which was much brighter and had a porch with swing.

The food was pretty bad-- think 1950's mid american cuisine made diet (although by the 2nd or 3rd day on 1300 calories we ate every bite at every meal).

The staff was friendly and enthusiastic but not terribly well trained. The fitness "Director", Patsy, was a former kindergarten teacher who spoke to every guest as if they were...kindergarteners (repeating herself constantly, nodding the head, etc). Guests routinely made fun of her behind her back.
The equipment was spotty-- none of the staff was able to get the bikes working correctly while we were there (they had LOST the manuals). The vinyl lined pool was aging (although a new jacuzzi had just been added).

Overall- the feeling of the place is as if Loretta Lynn's poor cousins opened a fat farm.

All that being said-- the program is effective and affordable. Of the 40 guests there while we were, 25% were returning guests. Just don't go expecting any sort of luxury or even really staff competence. Instead, expect 1200-1600 calories a day portioned for you, a long morning walk to burn calories and a few mediocre daily excercise classes. Take books, tapes, etc (there are no tv in rooms, the lounge tv tends to be tuned to the lowest common denominater-- "Survivor", "American Idol").

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DeirdreLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TennesseeFitnessSpa, Front Office Manager at Tennessee Fitness Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We have made innumerable improvements in the rooms, nutrition, fitness program, since 2006. We hope you will read the current reviews and try us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jeanie
Customer Service
Tennessee Fitness Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
7.1 mi away
Hurricane Inn
Hurricane Inn
#2 of 3 in Waynesboro
42 reviews
21.6 mi away
Richland Inn
Richland Inn
#1 of 5 in Lawrenceburg
95 reviews
17.5 mi away
Commodore Hotel Linden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
22 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hohenwald/Natchez Trace KOA
17.7 mi away
Bear Inn
Bear Inn
#2 of 2 in Clifton
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennessee Fitness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennessee Fitness Spa

Property: Tennessee Fitness Spa
Address: 299 Natural Bridge Park Rd, Waynesboro, TN 38485
Region: United States > Tennessee > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waynesboro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tennessee Fitness is a week-long, all inclusive fitness program that provides healthy meals, clean and comfortable lodging, and 6 to 8 hours of workout classes six days a week. We have a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, fitness class room, indoor cycling, racquetball court, sauna, hot tub, sun deck, dining hall, beauty salon, massage rooms, and T.V. lounges. We are a full service, weight loss retreat, that is surprisingly affordable and proven to be effective. Guests travel from all over the world to experience a week at our fitness resort. They come to get in better shape, to get a kick start towards a weight loss goal, and/or to relax by the pool, fish in the streams, detox, stop smoking, and gather with family and friends. Located on a beautiful rural site boasting a double span natural bridge, affordable rates, and southern hospitality, our budget health spa has something for everyone. With a wide array of fitness activities, pet free and pet friendly housing options, educational workshops, healthy meal plans, and optional pampering services such as massages and pedicures, you are sure to be rejuvenated and ready to implement lifelong changes. Join us for a week or more of fun and fitness at our adult weight loss camp - you will not regret it! Accommodations include Quad, Standard, Standard Plus, Deluxe, Deluxe Plus, Penthouse, and 4 Pet Friendly Cottages which will accommodate 58 guests. The Penthouse apartment contains three beds, a fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, and TV/DVD. Housekeeping service is provided daily for all guests. Tennessee Fitness Spa is located 95 miles southwest of Nashville, Tennessee at beautiful Natural Bridge, outside Waynesboro, TN. This historic site is the only known double span natural bridge formation in the world. It is a purely natural formation that was formed over millions of years by a fresh water spring located nearby. Indians used the site over several different periods of history. Tribes including the Yuchi Indians from Mexico, the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muskogean and Creeks walked the trails around Natural Bridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tennessee Fitness Hotel Waynesboro
Tennessee Fitness Spa Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing