We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of El Oso Flojo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmorhea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Oso Flojo Lodge
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice little motel in the middle of nowhere. Clean, friendly and next door to a good Tex-Mex Cafe. I have stayed 4 times on business and would stay again. A few miles off the Interstate but well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed here twice now and really enjoy this hotel. All the rooms overlook this cute courtyard and feel more like a fancy guest room at home then a hotel room. Plenty of pillows on the bed, a small refrigerator and microwave, and a nice snack basket are great benefits. The rooms are very clean and well cared for. Lots of little touches to make things seem homey. I recommend staying here to anyone looking for a place in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 19 the other night and the room was huge. It even had a pull out couch along with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainydaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed last night on a trip to the park for scuba diving. The hotel is fairly new and seems well built. The family that lives on next door in the big house built the hotel recently to fill a need in the area for quality housing for visitors to the park.
The rooms are good size, but seem small due to the furniture they used. It is all big and bulky so the room seems a little smaller than it really is.
The service was a little different from a typical hotel. The front desk is vacant and you ring the bell and wait for someone to come in - either from the grounds or the resturaunt next door.
Overall, I would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have mini frig
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We loved El Oso Flojo! It was clean, close to the state park and very quiet. The rooms are a comfortable size, beds are adequate and you can't beat the scenery. The restaurant next door is pretty good, too! Loved and it and will definitely stay there again if we're in that area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed here multiple times over the last few years, and have never been disappointed. Clean rooms, good service, very reasonable rates. The hotel and the restaurant next door owned by the same family and its great as well. A good place to stay if you are swimming at the state park nearby or travelling trough west Texas on I-10. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We wanted to swim in Balmorhea State Park's wonderful natural artesian pool, so stayed overnight here. It was a very nice stop... quaint like a little oasis. Great location and friendly service. We'll recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed overnight in El Oso Flojo Lodge. It is conveniently located not far off the I-10, and was a perfect place to stop on our drive from Albuquerque NM, to San Antonio TX. The rooms are lovely and large, and have air con, a fridge, TV and everything we personally needed. Not sure if there was internet available, but this did not matter to us as it was a quick stop. Is located not too far from the springs in Balmorhea. Overall, I would recommend this lodge to others. We found it a much nicer place to stay than Pecos (and that town was very booked up in terms of reservations!).

Room Tip: La Colorado was a nice sized room with a King sized bed- check the room and price list on the websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nix_nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Oso Flojo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oso Flojo Lodge

Address: 208 North San Angelo Street, Balmorhea, TX 79718
Region: United States > Texas > Balmorhea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Balmorhea
Price Range: £59 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
El Oso Flojo Hotel Balmorhea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing