We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice for Local Motel”
Review of The Eleven Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balmorhea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Eleven Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmorhea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Eleven Inn for 3 nights in late July 2011. We first started in room 6 and then moved to room 10 as it was a little bit larger. You must remember, this is a motel and not a major hotel chain so our review is based on a local motel feel. The Eleven Inn is almost 70 years old and is by no mean a fancy place, but it is clean and very affordable. The hotel is now owned by David and Karen. We started our reservation with Karen via email and she was very helpful. When we arrived, David met us and welcomed us like family. The smaller rooms have double beds and small bathrooms, but they have LCD tv's, A/C and spotty WiFi. The larger rooms have two queen beds and the one we stayed in had a table which was quite nice for playing games. The rooms are showing signs of age with some mildew and walls that need work. David and Karen haven't owned it long and I suspect it will only get better over time.

Balmorhea is very sleepy little town that has seen its better days. There are only about 500 folks that live there, but they have a fantastic state park with a huge spring feed pool. You are also close to Fort Davis which has lots to do and the McDonald Observatory.

If you are on I10 and need a place too stay, I would consider Eleven Inn. If you want to visit Balmorhea State Park, then stay at Eleven in for sure. Be sure to say hello to David and Karen for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WHCIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for The Eleven Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

Small, clean rooms with frig and microwave. Balmorhea State Park close by.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

New owners, David & Karen deserve a lot if credit for making this little oasis my favorite place to stay. Rooms are clean, flowerbeds lush, and atmosphere you won't find at Super 8. Don't miss a chance to stay a week. Slow down and enjoy the quiet in this darling little town.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E11iesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was fairly nice place for the price. The building is very old and it shows it but it was clean for the most part and had all the amenities needed. The manager brought us a mini fridge at request, there isn't much in the way of dinning out there and so we cooked in the room. The only draw backs were that we had to changed rooms from the one issued upon arrival, we discovered mushrooms growing out of the wall from behind the toilet. The manager isn't the nicest person he seemed a bit annoyed that he had to move us to a room with 2 double beds but my hubby wasn't about to stay in a room with visual fungi. The sheets were very high quality you could feel the thread count, but some of the pillow cases had holes in them, looked like the result of the dryer, didn't bother me too much though as there were no stains.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liltexasstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed here on a cross-country roadtrip with my sister. The most charming motel we stayed in on the whole trip, especially for the price--it was much cheaper than all the other places in town. Very cute rooms that seemed to be individually decorated, which is pretty unheard of at this price. Immaculately clean. Wonderful service. I will stop by whenever I drive through Texas again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justingakuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Eleven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eleven Inn

Address: 504 South Main Street, Balmorhea, TX 79718
Region: United States > Texas > Balmorhea
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmorhea
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eleven Inn is an 11 room court motel built in 1946. All rooms have Wi-Fi, flat screen TV's with premium cable channels, microwave and mini-fridge. Rooms have a single queen bed, two full beds or two queen beds. Sheets are line dried for sunshine freshness, chenille bedspreads cover the beds accented with designer pillow shams and quilts. Each room is unique and cleaned daily by the owners. A coffee bar is provided in the lobby and ice is available. A grassy common area is well maintained offering picnic tables, outdoor seating, fire ring, bar-b-que pits and grills and vintage playground equipment for the kids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eleven Hotel Balmorhea
11 Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing