We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM ONLY - STINKY, SPIDER, AND LOUD NEIGHBORS”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Elm Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“ROOM ONLY - STINKY, SPIDER, AND LOUD NEIGHBORS”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was a last minute trip in Feb 2014 and for the record - I did a "Room Only" and did not participate in the other activities or food options. GOOD: Typical dude ranch with 50s bunkhouse style cabins, big corral with horses for trail riding, large RV park in back, recreation room, pool. The "Room Only" rate was 1/2 price ($61.00). Reservation by phone was easy and received an email confirmation right away. I arrived after the office closed so the key was left in mailbox. BAD: Room is VERY basic. Full bed [comfy but pillows and bedspread smell like sweat/dirty socks], Junior size twin bunkbeds, small bathroom, tiny shower, thin walls/windows. Door has a crack above and below. WORST [not exactly Management's fault]: My neighbors who spent most of their time on the shared porch a few feet from my door, woke up at 7:30am both mornings, smoking, talking, laughing, and on Saturday night came in at 11pm and talked/smoked/laughed until 2am. There was NO WAY to avoid the noise as there is no TV in room and the a/c cycled on/off due to it being in the 60s. With the office closing at 5pm, there is no one to call to report a disturbance other than the Sheriff. To top it off, there was a huge spider on the wall above the bunkbeds. Obviously, the cracks above the door do not deter them. I would not stay here again unless I had my own RV and parked way out in the back section. The management needs to enforce a "Quiet Time" policy.

Room Tip: Bring your RV - do not stay in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwinElm, Manager at Twin Elm Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are sorry to hear about this matter after your stay, as we would have been more than happy to resolve any issues while you were here, using the contact numbers on the office door. We strive on cleanliness and though the pillows are new and comforters freshly washed we would gladly replace any linens you may have needed. We wish our guests to always be comfortable and enjoy their stay at the Ranch! Again we apologize for any inconvenience. Warm Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    21
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
77
39
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jobstown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

stayed 3 days in their Rv park, horseback riding, swimming in their pool, enjoying a lovely group of lovely people. Their facilities are nice and clean, plenty of hot water. On Saturday night they have a Rodeo. Was very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a fantastic time. I visited this ranch with my parents ( I am in my late 20's) None of us had visited a ranch before or horse ridden but are into trying new things and some adventure, we all had a REALLY good time. It was personally what I would expect from and ranch and more. Not a 5* hotel but cute rustic cabins including air conditioning & wifi which I hadn't expected. The staff were great, super friendly and personable.

The trail rides were great. We were there for 2 nights and had 3 rides in total. As nervous riders we came out of the experience comfortable & would go again.

My only note was that we had a 2 bedroom cabin but there was no door in between the bedrooms, just an archway which isn't ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for several days, and loved every minute. It's not fancy, but it's fun to stay on a ranch, ride horses several times a day, go on a hayride, sit about the campfire, etc. we stayed in the lodge...for just the 2 of us. There is no tv in the room, but it's well air conditioned. All of our meals were included, which were just fine. Again, nothing elegant...like pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage....chili dogs, hamburgers, chicken fried steak, chicken and rice. No booze is served there, but you're welcome to being it in, take it with yum to dinner, the campfire, etc. we loved the horse riding. The trail rides were the best I've ever had...thru rivers, up hills, into canyons, thru fields. The horses were all great and responsive. In the summer they have their own rodeo on the weekends with the ranch wranglers. We all went to a ranch rodeo, which is fun. Very different from a process all rodeo. The wranglers were so nice, helpful and were always there to see we were enjoying ourselves. At night e erroneous goes to the campfire to socialize...all the workers and guests...so it's fun to build s'mores and relax. We just loved it. We're thinking of going back for,Thanksgiving! Great place for families...they have cabins that accommodate several. There is also a game room, but it's pretty sparse. It's more about socializing. Plus it's fun to hear the chuck wagon triangle ringing you for mealtime!

Room Tip: If you're a couple go for the lodge. You'll have your own room, porch with chairs, etc. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaMarie R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTIN
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

All the pieces are in place, but the magic words are missing. Beautiful location, horses, a creek, a rec room, ranch hands, acreage... but no glue holding it all together. We brought a group of 15 to Twin Elm and told them we were spending the day, scoping it out for a future stay. Asked for a ride and some roping. Well, the time for our ride came and went, and the wranglers were nowhere to be found. The manager did her best to locate them but to no avail. She tried to make us comfortable, offered us lemonade and cookies and we hung out in the rec room and an hour later they mosied in, and eventually things got sorted out. The rec room was worn but functional, and the kids had an enjoyable time there. So one gets the feeling that this place is just OK but could be a great guest ranch if someone added some strong management and a little "special sauce." The dinner, for example, was meat loaf. Meat loaf I can get in a NY City cafeteria. What is needed here is a little imagination. So... should you go to Twin Elms? I guess you could do worse. It is what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONATHON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwinElm, Manager at Twin Elm Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We apologize for any misunderstanding during your day trip to the Ranch. Our wranglers were very happy to accommodate your group on your trail ride when they returned from the previous one. We take pride in our employee family atmosphere and are happy to go out of our way to make our guests happy and surely hope you enjoyed the ride. Our cook staff is professional and I am sorry the choice of menu did not meet your criteria. We wish you would have given it a try! And we hope in the future you will give us the opportunity to show you another great day at the Twin Elm. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We had no tv but when your in the country, you shouldn't care. It was basic but cheap. Enjoyed the game room and watched movies in there. Went horseback riding and had a blast. Would stay here again. The couple that take care of the horses were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the ranch during a very quiet time. Unfortunately we arrived late and missed being able to have a bonfire and a hayride. Our keys were left out for us so we had to settle ourselves in. The room was very cosy and clean. There was a TV but only VHS borrowed from the store could be played on it. We didn't mind this, as it meant we explored the site more and made the best of being in the ranch.

The next morning we were greeted in a very friendly manner and went out for a horseride. The cowboys who took us out were very laid back and helpful. The horseriding experience, for me, made the visit worthwhile and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Overall, it was a lovely experience and I'm glad that we visited, but one night was enough for us. During busier periods in the summer when more activities are available i expect it would be great fun.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
22.9 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Boerne
22.8 mi away
Best Western Boerne Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
19.2 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
24.8 mi away
Joshua Creek Ranch
Joshua Creek Ranch
#5 of 11 in Boerne
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Elm Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Elm Guest Ranch

Property: Twin Elm Guest Ranch
Address: 810 Fm 470, P.O. Box 117, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Twin Elm Guest Ranch Hotel Bandera
Twin Elm Guest Ranch Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing