We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar M Guest Ranch, LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience......”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at Bar M Ranch in October for 3 nights and had a fabulous time.

The bunk house provides spacious, immaculately clean and well appointed accommodation in a lovely quiet spot. The kitchen and bathroom provide all you will need and the availability of a washing machine and dryer is very convenient.

The town of Bandera is an easy 10 minute drive away; offering a good choice of bars, restaurants, etc.

We took 2 horse rides at Bar M which were a real life experience. Never having ridden a horse before, it was a bit daunting, but the instruction/familiarisation beforehand made it all feel very safe indeed. If you stay at Bar M, you must go on a ride, it is well worth it.

Trish is an excellent host (always on hand if you need anything) and her knowledge and experience of horses is incredible.

Bar M offers high quality accommodation with the experience of a personal (unlike dude ranching) ride at a very reasonable cost. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Algona, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our first time to visit the Bar M Ranch was last April. Our experience was so wonderful that we just had to go back again this fall. It has been our first experience riding where time was taken to learn about our horses, their personalities, how best to ride them and direct them. Trisha is so patient and kind. One of the things we were most impressed with is how well she knows her horses and how much she cares about their welfare. She ensures that the ride is enjoyable for all of us, horses and riders. Paris, the trail dog is a sweetheart too. The ranch is a beautiful place to ride. I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband has on his bucket list to visit all Dance Halls of Texas. I love to ride. Bandera has it all so it was a great anniversary getaway - texas style. The Bar M bunkhouse was really cozy and very clean with everything we needed. Including deer in the backyard and Francis the cat who made himself quite at home. Trish was thoughtful enough to call us and let us know that the weather may not hold up for riding and she did not want us to be disappointed driving all the way from Fort Worth. We made the drive anyway and Trish came right over to the Bunkhouse to let us now the weather just might be ok for us to go out the next day. Best ride we have ever had! Took it easy as it was a little slick, but Trish was great, the horses were great. I wanted to take Toby home with me but Trish said no!! And Bandera and surrounding area has several dance halls that are so much fun! We will certainly go back, as there was not enough time to really appreciate everything else around the area. And we want to ride with Trish again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 991Chrisf991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If you want to experience true Southern Hospitality, by all means visit Bar M Ranch. From the minute we walked into the bunk house, we were HOME. Being from Montana, I have been around a lot of friendly people, but Trisha is by all means hands down, the Queen Of Hospitality. If you want to see beautiful scenery, have a place to unwind and be COMFORTABLE, you will find it and MORE here. Trisha goes out of her way to make everything exactly what you want, and what you expect (and more) for your stay. The 3 days we were there was the highlight of my 3 week trip to Texas. It is a place I can guarantee you will go back to many times. I know my daughter and I will. Miss y'all Trisha, Tobi, Shilo, and Frances....See ya next year, God willing. Thank you for a lovely stay... Billee & Megan, Great Falls, Mt.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilleejGuedesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We loved staying here!
The ranch is just 10 minutes from Bandera and makes a great base for exploring roundabout. The cabin was welcoming and cosy and was equiped with everything we needed during our 3 night stay, including a cute and very friendly cat named Francis who even managed to endear herself to my so-called 'not-a-cat-person' partner.
The ranch owner Trish taught us an amazing amount about horses and took us on a lovely trail ride through the ranch and along the creek with Paris the friendly ranch dog keeping us company all the way.
We've only had a handful of previous experiences of horse riding, so we were practically beginners. However we needn't have worried as our horses were wonderfully well behaved, also Trisha had taught us each of our horses precise characteristics so well that we felt really in tune with them.
Each evening we took a pleasant stroll around the ranch land and would see the horses happily roaming free, as after the trail rides Trisha immediately removed their saddles and bridles etc and let them go play!
This is a special place to enjoy and has left us with wonderful memories to treasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a great time here! The horses and scenery were wonderful. The guest cottage was great too! It had a well equipped kitchen, plenty of movies, and was extra clean. We can't wait to go back! Trisha was such a great host! Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Straightup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

One can immediately tell that Trisha and Mike care deeply about their horses. Our family of 4 had varying levels of experience, but all had ridden before. Trisha spent a lot of time at the outset to make sure that we understood everything, but also to enable us to establish a solid bond with our own horse. Mike was training a new horse, and accompanied us as well. He grew up in Bandera, so he knows all about the area. They both have quite a few stories to share along the trail. Highly recommend Bar M no matter what your riding level. One thing you're sure to notice after a few minutes is just how quiet and beautiful it is in the Texas Hill Country.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vandringslust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
2.7 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
2.6 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
17.5 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Mayan Dude Ranch
Mayan Dude Ranch
#1 of 24 in Bandera
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar M Guest Ranch, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar M Guest Ranch, LLC

Property: Bar M Guest Ranch, LLC
Address: 2569 Fm 1077, P.O. Box 153, Bandera, TX 78003-4199
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Hill Country accommodations located on the scenic Bar M Ranch, just 2-1/2 miles from Bandera, Texas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar M Guest Ranch, LLC Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing