We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Cabin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Front Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandera
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
591 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“Cosy Cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Clean an comfortable cabins looking out onto the park and river.
Very close to the town, cabins are spacious and cool.
They contain all you need for your stay, fridge and microwave
Loved the porch to relax on in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    23
    2
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We've previously stayed in the River Front Motel cabins down on the river. This year they were all booked, so we opted for a suite at the Carriage House Inn just a block away (was directly behind the 11th street Cowboy Bar). The Inn is actually an old farm style house that is now 4 suites. We had a bedroom, living area, kitchen and bath. While it wasn't fancy by any means, it was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. Moreso than mine at home. I slept better there than I have in a very long time. We did have a difficult time getting into the suite. The old door kept sticking (which you would expect in any old house/building). The office staff was great about helping us get in. In addition, there are carports assigned to each suite.

We were in Bandera for our annual July trip for the National Cowboy Appreciation weekend, so it was nice to be a block (walking distance) from 11th Street Cowboy Bar (where we planned on hearing music) as well as the shops and OST restaurant. The house could use a little bit of maintenance (landscaping is lacking, paint is chipping all over the outside of the house). But even so, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G-Fergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The cabins have been updated, the beds are comfy, the proximity to restaurants, bars and shopping can't be beat. We travel to Bandera on a motorcycle. The point of the trip being -- to wide the winding roads in the area. The River Front has always been out "go to" place, since the bike can be parked at the door, the rooms are always clean and neat, there are no unexpected surprises and the manager always makes us feel like returning family.

Room Tip: When you call ask what the bed situation is, each cabin is outfitted a little differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great cabin. Clean, cozy, and all the amenities you need. Front porch was great for relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here with friends, walked into Bandera in <5 mins. Quiet setting, and feel you have your own place rather than a hotel room. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italia2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

There are not many places to stay in Bandera but this one is recommended. It consists of individual detached cabins (although numbers 6 and 7 are semi detached) close to the river and the park in Bandera.

The cabins are basic with pine furniture but are kept very clean, and with the location are perfect for a short break in this great little town.

We arrived on a Wednesday which was fortunate as there is a communal bbq each Wednesday in a bar in the town. All you do is buy your meat from the local meat market shop and turn up. The bar supplies for a nominal charge all utensils which you will need plus a side salad and potatoes. There is then live music and dancing. All the cowboys come to town so even if you do not dance the people watching is fantastic. We understand that at the weekend there are simulated gunfights and rodeos. We would love to have seen them. The people in the town give you a very warm welcome.

We will certainly try to go back someday and would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I think we were the first guests to stay in this accommodation which is a 2 minute drive from the main site. It was sooo peaceful and relaxing here, and had everything you could need. Fully equipped kitchen, washing machine and separate dryer, massive TV, recliner sofas. Only one suggestion: a few chairs and a table for the front porch (they may be there by now).
Would have liked to have stayed longer but there wasn't much going on in Bander when we visited.
Overall a great choice (Sycamore).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
23.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
24.0 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#3 of 14 in Kerrville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
24.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunday House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Boerne
Days Inn Boerne
#7 of 7 in Boerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
0.7 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Front Motel

Property: River Front Motel
Address: 1004 Maple St, PO Box 875, Bandera, TX 78003
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandera
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
River Front Hotel Bandera
River Front Motel Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing