We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All night headlights”
Review of River Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Front Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandera
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All night headlights”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed on a Friday night and expected a cozy cabin. Got a small cell. Bed and a toilet, that's about it. TV was so small couldn't see it over the bed rails; would have sat in a chair but there wasn't one in the room. No rugs on bare floor. Chairs an the front porch, but one had the seat bottom broken out so couldn't sit on it either. So partner had to sit on the floor.

No draperies on the windows, noticed every car and truck that drove by all night long as their headlights shined through the window blinds. Finally got to sleep, but was awakened by the rooster crowing (no kidding) behind the cabin at 5:30 in the morning.

Oh yeah, and the internet connection, took multiple tries to get connected, It kept dropping. So walked closer to the office to get a signal (as suggested at the office) . But the speed was so slow, it was impossible to download even a menu from a local restaurant. Gave up.

On good side, it was only a few steps from the main street so easy to walk to town. Some good shops and restaurants. Adequate room but priced too high compared to where we stayed prior night.

Room Tip: OK if all you are looking for is a bed. But if you are looking for a cabin, this isn't the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    2
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not for the price we paid, cabin #6 off of main street though not numbered was ok once we found it, kind of spooky location though. bed was ok. Walked into the bathroom and NO MIRROR. How does one get ready for anything without a mirror?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were expecting for 90 dollars...a week night reasonable , couzy and comfortable cabins. We found probably 20 year old, never renovated extremely basic rooms, that were minimally insulated with visible holes along the entrance door trough which the freezing cold entered. This compares extremely unfavorably with any e.g. La Quinta hotel, where for 70 dollars a night you even get a substantial breakfast. If you are in cabins number 7 and up you also have to indure significant road noise from the nearby road.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surricata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I came here to work I have never traveled to work and enjoyed a place so much. Clean room. Wonderful bed. Walking distance to town. Quiet!! Deer everywhere. I just cannot say enough good about this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mnm2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

If you want to stay in Bandera, there really are not many reasonable choices for lodging. We stayed at the Riverfront, and while the prices for the weekdays ($59) were reasonable, the weekend ($99) prices were too high. We were there for 5 nights and the room was never cleaned. They brought clean towels, but never emptied the garbage nor did they sweep the floor. Coffee and cups were not replenished, either. The bed linens were never changed. The floors are tile, but there are no rugs of any sort. You need to wear shoes or your feet get dirty as the floors are not clean. The queen size bed feels like you are sleeping on plastic. If you have a cabin on the highway, it is extremely noisy. Like I said, though, there are few if any other options. I was also told there was Internet-mmmm . . . No!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that doesn't back up to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msgumby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Clean an comfortable cabins looking out onto the park and river.
Very close to the town, cabins are spacious and cool.
They contain all you need for your stay, fridge and microwave
Loved the porch to relax on in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We've previously stayed in the River Front Motel cabins down on the river. This year they were all booked, so we opted for a suite at the Carriage House Inn just a block away (was directly behind the 11th street Cowboy Bar). The Inn is actually an old farm style house that is now 4 suites. We had a bedroom, living area, kitchen and bath. While it wasn't fancy by any means, it was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. Moreso than mine at home. I slept better there than I have in a very long time. We did have a difficult time getting into the suite. The old door kept sticking (which you would expect in any old house/building). The office staff was great about helping us get in. In addition, there are carports assigned to each suite.

We were in Bandera for our annual July trip for the National Cowboy Appreciation weekend, so it was nice to be a block (walking distance) from 11th Street Cowboy Bar (where we planned on hearing music) as well as the shops and OST restaurant. The house could use a little bit of maintenance (landscaping is lacking, paint is chipping all over the outside of the house). But even so, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G-Fergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
23.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
19.8 mi away
Best Western Boerne Inn & Suites
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Texas Hill Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Kerrville
149 reviews
23.8 mi away
Lone Star Inn Kerrville/Fredericksburg
24.0 mi away
Super 8 Kerrville TX
Super 8 Kerrville TX
#2 of 14 in Kerrville
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Front Motel

Property: River Front Motel
Address: 1103 Maple St, Bandera, TX 78003
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandera
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven rustic western style cottages with porches plus king or queen & twin size beds, coffee makers, mini refrigerators, microwaves, ceiling fans, cable TV, Heat & AC, free wifi. Nestled in the trees across from the beautiful Medina River and City Park where you can swim,tube or fish. Centrally located close to golf, tennis, swimming, restaurants, museums, shopping, and great nightlife with plenty of dancing. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Front Hotel Bandera
River Front Motel Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing