We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all part of the Texas experience”
Review of Mayan Dude Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“all part of the Texas experience”
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We were lucky enough to be here for 2 nights at labour weekend although being from the UK we had no idea when we booked it. This was all part of our Texas experience and one we won’t forget. There were a lot of family and friends groups here for the weekend as well as a lot of repeat guests. We had the end of the trail lodge 25 and 26 just for the 2 of us it was lovely, very rustic and we had the choice of two rooms. Our lodge was lovely and clean. It was missing a coffee machine but you could get coffee from the dining room at any time but it was a long way for us. I got a hair dryer from reception.
We travelled here from Fredericksburg via a look round Kerrville and got to Bandera for lunch we went to Briucks after a recommendation from the tourist information it was excellent. We were able to check in a little bit early and found our lodge. (If any one has been to centre pracs it’s a little bit like that but all inclusive) You are able to use your car to get back to the main area.
We were woken up both mornings with a jump to a loud knock at the door which made us laugh. We planned our day from the information leaflet. We did Cowboy breakfast which as everyone has already said is a must. First day we went on the trailer and the second day I rode.
As it was Labour Day weekend it was celebrate Bandera weekend. This was fantastic we went out of the ranch on Saturday to watch the parade amazing, spent all day in town wondering round all the attractions, stalls, shows and the bars had a great time at 11th street cowboy and the longhorn. We went back for dinner (all of the food was good) which should have been via the trailer to Hicksville in the ranch but it rained so it was in the main area. Then we went to the Rodeo amazing!
We found it to be very family and children orientated, which is fantastic for families, but maybe not so good for couples unless you want to horse ride. Two days was long enough for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinersTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    36
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
174
85
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Second visit to the Mayan. Stayed last summer; if possible, we enjoyed it even more this time. This dude ranch consistently gets number 1 ratings and also has the most reviews, with good reason. There are quite a few ranches in the area and when prospective customers are trying to pick which ranch to stay on, it's not always easy to make a decision based on other people's opinions.

There are several reasons why the Mayan trumps the local competition. The first is it's hands-down unbeatable location. Many feel that they want to 'get away from it all' on a ranch holiday and the Mayan's size and deceptive sense of being a million miles away from the rat-race and the daily grind certainly gives you that marvelous feeling. The Medina river runs right through the grounds, and the acres of green woodlands, fields and pastures abound with wild deer, turkeys, peacocks, armadillos -and of course, the horses. It is unbelievably beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. And yet...come out of the grounds of the ranch and you are actually in Bandera town itself. Not 10 or 20 miles drive away, but walking distance from Main Street! It's remarkable because you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. And at no point does the bustling town impinge upon the tranquility of the ranch. So you can go into town whenever you please (which I highly reccomend! Some guests don't venture into town but if, like us, you love nothing better than frequenting honky-tonks to listen to live country music, two-steppin' and meeting the local townsfolk, you couldn't be better placed to do so!) and then leave the bright lights and noise behind once you return.

Another feather in the Mayan's cap is that it is ALL-INCLUSIVE. This is a big deciding factor for a lot of people. There's grub on the go pretty much all day, and as has been said countless times before, the food is so delicious, well-cooked and varied, you cannot fail to find something that you enjoy. In fact the main 'problem' is that you want to eat all of it. Steaks, roasted corn, enchiladas, catfish, pasta dishes, fried chicken, carved turkey, salads, pizzas, barbeque.....you name it, they serve it. By the end of our stay we had definitely packed on several pounds. Plus, beer, wines and soft drinks are included in the price. So you need very little actual spending money whilst you are here.

The organised activities are a big draw, for everyone, not just those with wee ones. They are carried out in a way that does not interfere with those who want to simply chill out and do nothing. Of course most people go to a dude ranch to go on the lovely horses. (It should be understood that the horse rides are purely for fun and NOT for serious riders. Walking pace only.) But there's also loads of other stuff that the staff organise and most people take advantage of what's going on. You will not be bored here!

Now the Hicks family who own this establishment are quite famous for their friendly and hospitable natures, and the immense effort they put into making everyone's stay extra special! This is an extremely hard-working family who seem to really take pleasure in what they do. A very warm welcome was extended to us. One night we were out in a local karaoke bar and some of the younger members of the Hicks family were also there; when they spotted us they immediately invited us over to their table and there we stayed all night, and had a ball. The family always have time to stop and chat and are interested in their guests feedback on the ranch. Thankyou Hicks family.

Our cabin was AMAZING. It had 2 bedrooms, a large living room, bathroom, porch swing, fireplace, even a flat screened TV. They are deliberately 'rustic' and old fashioned in style.

The Mayan Ranch is not cheap. It's undeniable that staying here for a few days is, for us anyway, a pretty expensive vacation, one which we have to save our pennies up for all year long. However, it is worth every single one of these pennies and more besides! Everyone leaves here with wonderful precious memories of swinging off ropes into the river, fishing, horseriding, the live music at dinner, dancing lessons, seeing the wild deer at amazingly close range, sitting on porch swings and watching the stars, and of course, the people they have met and the friends they have made. They really do have the magic formula here. And you can't put a price on that.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elise252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

we had a brilliant time . the food was excellent and plentiful. the staff could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable and eventful as possible. we really enjoyed riding to breakfast each day, and ruebens refrains of country songs made this meal of the day most memorable. the shows put on by the hicks family whilst not being the most professional we have ever seen were certainly both enjoyable and fun. the outdoor meals in the evening also were amongst the best i have eaten anywhere in the world.
all in all this was amongst the best vacations we have taken anywhere. thank-you too all of you that made it so nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1836London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

This place was fantastic. We traveled for a weekend say arriving on Friday leaving on Sunday. The welcome is what we were hoping for. True Texas and this was to be the theme for the whole weekend. There is as much or as little to do as you wish and there is no pressure on you to do anything other than relax.

Some may say that at $150 it is expensive, they should try staying in a hotel in London, they will than see what $150 gets them.

There were for us a cuple of standout moments. The food and the old time photos.

If I were to have one criticism it was that we wern't there longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This was our 4th trip to the Mayan Ranch, twice we have brought our grandaughter to the ranch and all 4 times we had a wonderful time. The Hicks family welcomes you into their extended family with every visit, The food is GREAT, we especially love the cowby breakfast out on the ranch property. THe horses are a lot of fun, we never miss our rides. We have spoken to so many people from other countries at the ranch who also keep returning year after year, it truely is a hidden treasure. I tip my hat to the entire Hicks family for a job well done.
We will see you again soon
Diane & Dave

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballroomdancer3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We had a great time!! My husband and I took our children ages 9 and 13 and we had a wonderful time. We stayed 3 nights and I do feel like the accomodations could have been a little more updated and they were not as clean as I expected but we had an awesome experience. I read a lot of reviews and did a lot of research before choosing this ranch. I was surprised at how spread out it was and I think the cabins must vary quite a bit from reading the reviews and talking to other guests I think some of them may be a little nicer than others, I think some of them may pick up more television channels or be a little bigger or more "cowboy" themed. There were so many families that had returned for a second or third time. The snakes/bugs that are mentioned in other reviews are really an expected part of an experience such as this. It is very dry in the summer and these types of critters are hard to control! Welcome to Texas!!! The river that is on the property was very refreshing and cool very shaded and relaxing. We spent the whole day there. The Hick's family was awesome. The hospitality is the best part. They make a point to talk to you and are always smiling interacting with guests. They are truly concerned about your happiness while at the ranch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trdojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Where do I start? We loved everything about this place!
My husband had visited the ranch with his family for many summers as a child and decided that it was time to share that experience with our kids(Ages 8 & 5).We stayed Sunday- Sunday July 5th-12th. I would highly recommend staying a whole week if you can. They have different themes and activities each day and I would not want to miss any of it!

Rooms
We checked into our cabin(65 & 66) upon arrival. They were very nice and roomy- comfortable beds, cold a/c, mini refrigerator, front and back porch, and tv with digital cable.The cleaning staff did a wonderful job each day- clean towels, refreshed beds, emptying trash and cleaning the bathroom.

Breakfast-
We were awakened with fresh coffee and orange juice delivered to our door by Deputy Doug -7:15ish. This is optional and if you wish to sleep in you may do so as well. My husband, kids and grandma chose to take the hayride to cowboy breakfast(you can also take a horse ride there), while my mom and I opted to eat breakfast in the dining room. They had a wide array of breakfast choices- fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal bar, eggs, omelets made to order by Tracy, toast, hash browns, sausage, pancakes, waffles, many kinds of fruit juice, coffee and most importantly-bacon. A little note about the bacon- I have been on a strict diet for the past few months and was bound and determined not to go crazy with the eating. I did fairly well with that but COULD NOT resist the bacon- it was delicious! The cowboy breakfast was not to be missed- the atmosphere is perfect, the food delicious and music by Reuben completes the experience.

Daily Activities-
My husband, daughter and I went on a morning horse back ride almost everyday- you can also take an afternoon ride. My son, who is not quite 6 ,was unable to participate in the trail rides but did not feel left out by any means. Each day Wrangler Ryan or the Pony Lady brought a horse up to the pavilion for the younger kids to safely ride. Other activities-fishing in the Medina River,bb gun shooting, bull-whip lessons, roping lessons, dance lessons, archery lessons, basketball, tennis, ping pong, shuffle board, horseshoes, washers, pool table, arcade games, swimming races, dart game, egg toss and hiking- there is a organized hike for the children to see the dinosaur tracks by Judy-the kids loved this! Most afternoons you could find us in the pool-Nice!

Lunchs- Served daily in the pavilion with LOTS of choices! Some of our favorites- bbq chicken, chicken fried chicken, chicken strips, pizza, hamburgers and salads.They also have free wine and beer served from 11-10.

Dinners
Sunday
Luau at the Pavilion- complimentary Mai Tais( delicious- great job Tracy) and Kowgirl Kel led us in some pre dinner games- great for breaking the ice and meeting other guests. Next the Hawaiian feast was served- Salmon, 7-Spice Ribs,Shish Kabobs, Ham and an array of salads and sides followed by desert and more entertainment.
Monday-
That evening we were treated to a performance by a trick roper-excellent and dinner at Hicksville- mouth-watering steaks, sauteed mushrooms,fried fish,potatoes, vegetables, salad, homemade bread and desert with live music. They also had a kid's talent show before dinner and an adults talent show after dinner.
Tuesday-
Adults dinner was served in the dining room- Ribs(fav.), huge boiled shrimp,potatoes, corn, sausage, salad, rolls, chocolate pie. After dinner we were treated to a wonderful show"Phantom of the Opry" put on by the Hicks family- watch for Lore- he steals the show and had our whole table doubled over in laughter!
Kid's dinner- My kids thought that it was the greatest thing ever to go to their own "adult free" dinner(they were well supervised by the staff). They took a hayride to Hicksville and were treated to their own kid cuisine, hayride around the ranch to see wildlife and a magician show @ the pavilion.
Wednesday
Hicksville/Cowboy & Indian Theme- Baby buffalo/history show before dinner. Smoked turkey, beef fajitas, Indian tacos, grilled corn, salad and pumpkin pie with live music after dinner we headed back to the pavilion for a family d-jay dance.
Thursday
Fiesta at the pavilion- complimentary margaritas, enchiladas, fajitas, tamales(fav),beans, rice, salad and a banana split buffet with a mariachi band. The kids also enjoyed a hayride to see wildlife and pinata.
Friday
Riverside BBQ- Sliced beef, ribs, sausage, beans, potato salad, salad ,homemade bread and blondies w/ live music. After dinner we were treated to an impressive fireworks show.
Saturday
Adults dinner in the dining room-Steak,fried shrimp,sweet potato stuffed potato(fabulous), green beans,gazpacho soup and a blueberry and cream desert.
Kid's dinner- Kid cuisine at the Pavilion w/ staff supervision. After dinner the kids joined us in the dining room for an excellent musical variety show by the Hicks Family plus Doug and Lulu- watch for Tommy- Hilarious!!!!

We absolutely loved this vacation! My kids even said that it was better than Disneyworld! We cannot wait to come back next summer.

The Hicks Family make this place special, making up the majority of the staff- with the exception of Doug, Lulu, David and Reuben- who seem just as much a part of the family as anyone else. You can tell that they love what they do and do what they love! They work very hard from sun up to sun down to make sure that the guests are happy- no request goes unanswered.

What a wonderful place to make memories with your family!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelAnn376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
64.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pleasanton
23.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
8.8 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Dude Ranch

Property: Mayan Dude Ranch
Address: 350 Mayan Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Horsepitality" is the foundation of the Mayan Ranch which is located in Bandera, Texas, 48 miles NW of San Antonio in the Texas Hill Country. Come experience our superb food, great accommodations, enthusiastic staff, horseback riding over picturesque trails, and swimming in our Texas-sized pool. Learn how to spin a rope, crack a whip and pitch shoes. Or, just sit back and enjoy a wagon ride around the ranch property to see the wildlife.Bring your family or your business (we are a great facility for conferences.)The Mayan Ranch is full American Plan. Rates include all meals, lodging, ranch activities as well as complimentary beer, wine, sodas and coffee.There is a little 'cowboy' in all of us - Find yours at the Mayan Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Dude Ranch Hotel Bandera
Mayan Dude Ranch Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing