We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Town Pride”

Frontier Times Museum
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Bandera
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Includes many early pioneer items, some very unusual.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Country Town Pride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I found the Museum artifacts to be interesting, but there was no rhyme or reason to the exhibits, other than the Hall of Fame. If you are going there thinking you are going to a regular museum, you may leave disappointed. If you go with the attitude that you are going to see a mix of objects collected over the years by people that love their community, then you won't be disappointed. The volunteers are really sweet and helpful and the small fee helps local people to save some of their heritage and I like that!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bandera, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My hubby and I felt this was worth the price of admission. It was interesting and we learned more about the Bandera area by coming in here. We had been told by the Visitor's Bureau in Boerne that it was a good place to go. I would agree with them. The bathroom was clean, also. The two volunteers working there the day we went were nice & helpful, but one of them talked way too loud about regular every day things. We didn't go in there to hear about so & so and what they were going to do for entertainment that night, etc. It made it hard to concentrate on what I was reading on the displays. They were nice, just too loud.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank retiredAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool Little Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a cool little museum in the town of Cowboy Capital Bandera, TX. If you happen to be in this part of Texas the Frontier Times Museum is a nice divergence to your trip. It's a big facility with several rooms of late 1800's/early 1900's artifacts. Everything from the evolution of barbed wire, to early coffee makers, early hair curling devices and oddities like two head sheep under one roof. It's fun to walk through and check out every little item!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This museum was unbelievable. Everything was donated. They had items from all over the world. There's a small entry fee but well worth it. One could probably spend hours here. We spent about 2 hours. That was kind of skimming over it. Highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Place in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Frontier Times Museum in Bandera is a 'must see' for visitors & residents alike. So many wonderful artifacts from Bandera's early day's as a cypress shingle manufacturer, cattle ranching, and trueCowboy Heritage. If you're interested in Texas Hill Country history, the place is a literal treasure trove of information & items from the past.
5 stars for the Frontier Times Museum!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1954bratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frontier Times Museum also viewed

 
Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 

Been to Frontier Times Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing