We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Double U Barr Ranch
Ranked #1 of 10 Bandera B&B and Inns
Devon, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned to the UK following the most wonderful trip to Texas and a truly fabulous stay with Brett and Jil. The Texans, especially in the small towns, were so gracious and welcoming, but none more so than Brett and Jil and their extended family. The accommodation was just wonderful, the breakfasts delicious and plentiful, the grounds beautiful and brimming with deer, cats, dogs, longhorn, goats, ducks and more, and the hosts were unbeatable. It was just perfect to arrive to deer prancing across the grass in front of us, like a scene from Snow White, and we loved sitting on the swing under the great live oak, staring at the creek and enjoying the lovely November weather. Climbing Fossil Hill and hunting for specimens was a must, and simply hanging out was just so restorative. Brett and Jil couldn't have been warmer - so welcoming and generous with their time, resources and company. Really, this is the best B&B we have ever visited. And though everything I've mentioned was just wonderful - it was the people that made the trip. Thank you so much for giving us such a special experience that we'll never forget. We'll think of you every Thanksgiving, and be thankful for having experienced your grace and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Brett and Jil, you are simply the best, allmost to good to be true! Mike and I n-joyed the awsome breakfast, the great stories, your hospitality, the horses, the longhorns, the dogs, the cats, the deer, the cowboy cabin even more. Its clean, its comfy, its yours!! If you want to wake up in a dream than go there, Bandera is a great little town, try the silver dollar honkytonk ( Karen your so sweet ), the 11th street bar, etc etc. The double U Barr Ranch is the best place to be in Texas.... This is Texas! And we know we have travelled the whole Lone Star State! See y' all!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CeReSuisse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just loved everything about the Double U Barr Ranch---the Cowboy Cabin, the creek, the deer, the other animals, and especially the delicious breakfast!! We loved the TENDER venison Brett fixed for us---so good! And getting to visit with Jil and Brett was such fun--a pecial part of our 50th wedding anniversary celebration! We hope to go again and try the Texas Cabin. We highly recommend the Double U Barr Ranch!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have been to many bed breakfast but this one is the best. It is the only one I have stayed at more than once. Brett and Jill make you feel like you are family. They go above and beyond to make your trip great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceccrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our family from Australia did a road trip from New Orleans to San Francisco and we had the pleasure of stopping here for a night. My wife and I both agree it was our favourite night of our trip which is saying something. Brett was really the difference. he was so hospitable, gave us 'The Duke' recommendation and took us for a trip around the property feeding the animals. Our 3 year old took a liking to him and she had so much fun helping him feed the animals. We loved our cabin, even with everything Texasfied:) Thanks so much for a wonderful stay and we would love to think we will pass thru again one day, and stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My friend and I spent a night in the Texas cabin on the Double U Barr Ranch and can only highly recommend it. The cabin is beautifully furnished and decorated (as the name suggests with a Texan theme) and it has a wonderful front porch with rocking chairs overlooking the scenic property. More importantly, the stay was so wonderful because of our hosts, who own and operate this working ranch and made us feel welcome and took great care of us. Brett told us a lot about ranching life and fixed a delicious breakfast in the main house, where we also had a chance to chitchat with other guests. Afterwards he took us out to see his Longhorns. Make sure to ask about the story of Marlene! A truly Texan experience. Thank you, Brett & Jill and keep up the wonderful spirit of this place.

Room Tip: We loved the Texas cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
20.1 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Boerne
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Texas Hill Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Best Western Boerne Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
5.2 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Double U Barr Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Double U Barr Ranch

Property: The Double U Barr Ranch
Address: 1016 Live Oak Rdg, Bandera, TX 78003-5867
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bandera
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Double U Barr Ranch Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing