We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"For the love of Horses"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Country Equestrian Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"For the love of Horses"”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I started learning to ride horses about a year ago and wanted to learn more. I spent my week with morning riding clinics and my afternoons on trail rides through the hill country. The staff was excellent but the horses stole the show! The cabins are in excellent conditions, the property is very clean and properly maintained. I saw an abundance of wildlife from Turkey's to Deer! I met other guests from Germany, New York, and California. Since I am a Texas native it was amazing to sit and visit and make lasting friendships with people from such different places! This is the perfect place to visit for any reason or occasion! I will definitely be returning to see Diane and the amazing horses!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    17
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
96
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

my 7year old daughter & I met another mom & daughter here for Mothers Day weekend. The accomidations were perfect! We had 2 fun, safe trail rides through the beautiful TX Hill Country. We used the swimming pool and made a campfire at night for s'mores. Bandera is a short drive with shops, restaurants and nightlife. It was our 2nd year here & we will try to make it an annual girls trip. I cannot say enough positive things about the facility and the staff!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sscoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second year to stay at the Hill Country Equestrian Lodge. We always have a wonderful time. The cabins are very nice, the property is clean and well taken care of, and Diane is a lovely host. We take advantage of the horse barn facilities, swimming pools, and access to trails in the park. Thank you so much for a great getaway!

Room Tip: The Lindig cabin is nice and spacious. Also very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I, along with my my wife and son (age 6) spent 6 nights here mid April, as part of a wider, 3 week trip in Texas that included Austin, San Antonio, Port Aransas, Houston as well as a few other stops on the way, but this was the absolute highlight. We made the trip from England as our son wants to be a cowboy when he grows up (although he almost changed his mind when he met the captain on the flight home), and so his and our expectations were very high. But it didn't disapppoint.

We chose this ranch, over local dude ranches, as we wanted to learn about horses and to learn how to ride them too. We did both. We spent about an hour each day before the lessons or the trail ride, helping to groom the horses and generally soaked up the preparation of the horses and stable life. Our son was invited to get there an hour earlier than we did so that he could do more, which he totally adored. Watching him, from our cabin, help the staff,trailing around with buckets, feed and brushes, and watching the staff help him, was just fabulous.

The lessons and rides were excellent. Constant advice on posture and technique etc, which was certainly needed in my case, underlines that they are true to their word when they say that they are an equestrian centre. On the rides, we were given lots of information, on the landscape, the history of the ranch and the surrounds, which also made it a wonderful experience.

Lets name some names. We spent most of our time with Shannon and Amber, either on rides, or hanging around the barn helping out. They were simply fantastic. They made us, but especially our son, feel very welcome, and impressed us with their warm and charming professionalism, never once, letting the focus move from the horses, and our appreciation and respect for them. Shannon in particaluar was simply awesome with our son, happy to answer his million and one questions on every trail ride (and then learning enough about him to be concerned when he was quiet, to figure out he was tired and hot, and then reminding him to drink more water and bring him back - all of this when Mum and Dad weren't present, as they were with Dianne), teaching him along the way, and just being a nice gal, and his friend for the week. He loved it, and thank you both for making it really special.

We saw more of Dianne, the owner, from the middle of our stay, and she came out with us on a couple of rides. She is clearly very dedicated to the equestrian world, but also to hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble. More charcoal and fuel, sure…, more advice about the landscape, sure…, your son wants to help me lay some jumps out for tomorrow (even though Dad is sure that it would have been quicker on her own!), sure,… But on the ride, Dianne is particularly keen to ensure that each rider improves and is very attentive to each rider's ability and level so that they individually improve.

Bandera itself was less interesting than we thought it would be, and you certainly couldn't recommend it for the food, but who cares - go to the supermarket and buy food to BBQ back at your lodge, and watch the horses roam freely on the property both far and right upto your lodge porch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have been four times to Hill Country Equestrian Lodge and we enjoyed it every time. Very nice people in a beautiful place.
All of us enjoyed the riding, the fire at the fireplace, the athmospheric condos.
Kids played wonderful in the nature without asking for tv or any other electronical device.
We would go there again and again and again ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yasmin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Over spring break my family traveled to Hill Country Equestrian Lodge. All of us are experienced riders and find it difficult when traveling to find a place to will cater to our needs. I was trilled to find out the could accommodate our riding needs an had access to amazing trails in the Hill Country State Natural Area. The cabins were wonderful and peaceful and not the usual crowd that goes with spring break. Really loved everything about this property and the horses were well trained and cared for...we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We are frequent visitors at the Hill Country Equestrian Lodge for many reasons. The cabins are delightful and peaceful. You can access the Hill Country Natural Area's extensive bike trails through their private park gate without ever putting your bikes back on the car rack. Just park your bikes right on the porch in between rides. We like to stock up on good wine and groceries on our way over and enjoy wine on the porch while grilling after a day of great biking on the trails.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
14.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pleasanton
9.6 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
24.5 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
13.2 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
266 reviews
8.7 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Equestrian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Equestrian Lodge

Property: Hill Country Equestrian Lodge
Address: 1580 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4270
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hill Country Equestrian Hotel Bandera
Hill Country Equestrian Lodge Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing