We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fitness Vacation”
Review of Rancho Cortez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I spent 60 days at the ranch in the fitness program. The program, the food, facilities and people were all fantastic. I've never had a fitness vacation so I wasn't sure what to expect. The staff were great at keeping me motivated and pushing me to accomplish more than I thought possible. If you are looking to change your life, to get on the road to a healthier you, I highly recommend the fitness program at Rancho Cortez.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We loved Rancho Cortez so much we are planning to be back several times a year. Larry and Mary Cortez and their staff make everyone feel
right at home. It's a lovely place that brings you back to nature. The chefs
are excellent and we love the family touch that this place house. Gorgeous area! Can't wait to go back, our son ran all day long playing and slept like a rock at night!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saundiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My family just retruned from a wonderful two-day visit to Rancho Cortez. As your definitive "city-slicker," I approached our visit with a bit of cynicism and figured it would be a nice experience for our two boys (ages 8 and 4).

Whatever cynicism I had, has now been replaced with a genuine affection for Rancho Cortez. This was simply a magnificent experience for both children and adults. Cowboy Larry is one of those rare individuals who is part philosopher, part child psychiatrist and 100% Texan. He has a genuine love for his work and it is infectuous from the moment you meet him. Both our boys grew very attached to him and tears were in their eyes upon our departure (mine too). He developed a wonderful sense of confidence in them as they got used to the horses and he has manner in which he instantly commands respect.

The accomodations and food are all very good (the indoor and outdoor pools are nice to have after a dusty trial ride). However, in my opinion, that is all secondary. The strength of Rancho Cortez is the feeling of positive energy that is diffilcut to capture in words. There is a serenity and old school wisdom that the place possesses. Not once duing the visit did our children ask to play a video game or watch TV. Instead, what we witnessed, was an 8 year old spring out of bed, get dressed and run to the barn to help the cowboys feed and saddle up the horses. Children are encouraged to be independent at the ranch, and at least in our case, took to it like a horse to water (sorry, I couldn't resisit the pun).

I could go on and on about the human connection of sitting around a campfire, singing songs and telling stories, or accompanying a child on a trail ride and watching them confidently steer such wonderous and powerful creatures that can only be found in horses, but I hope by now you get the picture.

I have had the great privilege of seeing many parts of the globe, but the trip I suspect I may look back repeatedly with immense fondness is the one off a small dirt road in a town called Bandera.

My many thanks to all the staff at Rancho Cortez for providing a magnificent family memory.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My daughter and I wanted to get away to spend quality time together and be in nature. Well we got everything we wanted and so much more. Larry ,Cheryl and Bill were terrific and so nice and we had a memorable time that i had tears in my eyes when i left.
If you want to relax and enjoy riding and campfires then this is your ranch.
The food is homemade by wonderful chefs and all was yummy. Our cabin was clean and neat and cozy. In one word..........FABULOUS...............Randee and Raelle

Room Tip: we will add photos.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandeeGoldmanKatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Even better than what we imagined.
Everything was great.The food homemade, the accomodation very cute, clean and cosy. The people very nice and friendly. The rides safe and around a beautiful area.
It totaly worth the price.
A great experience that everyone should do at leat once !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Our cub scouts went for a weekend and never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a $99 per night offer. The accommodation was lovely. The food was all home cooked and delicious. The people were so friendly and welcoming. It is a very relaxed place with a laid back place attitude which is perfect for a weekend in the country.

We rode a lot over the weekend. We all progressed with our riding having 3 1 hour arena lessons (including barrel racing) and 3 trail rides. The teachers were very experienced and friendly. We felt safe whilst being pushed to progress our riding skills and having fun at the same time.

Smores around the camp fire in the evening and the hot tub were highlights!

Would recommend this to anyone who wants to relax in a different way and have fun!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandera hotels
6.6 mi away
Twin Elm Guest Ranch
Twin Elm Guest Ranch
#5 of 23 in Bandera
191 reviews
9.1 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
11.2 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#18 of 23 in Bandera
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
8.3 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
8.5 mi away
Pioneer River Resort
Pioneer River Resort
#11 of 23 in Bandera
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Cortez

Address: 872 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4364
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range: £71 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rancho Cortez! Located in the cowboy capital of the world, Rancho Cortez is a Texas Dude Ranch and Cowboy Fitness Farm offering horseback riding, lodging, day trips, hiking, and more! Saddle up and live your dreams at the Texas Dude Ranch! Cowboys, cowgirls, and experienced riders will enjoy horseback riding with expert cowboy, Larry Cortez. We offer plenty of Texas-style fun with hayrides, campfires, cattle roundups, lasso lessons, swimming in our pool, or soaking in our hot tub. With a broad array of wildlife species and ruggedly beautiful landscape as far as the eye can see, the ranch is the perfect escape from urban life. Lost weight and get fit on the Cowboy Fitness Farm! Fitness and weight loss visitors will work with personal trainers under the direction of Mary Cortez. Come for our popular 30 day weight loss camp or spend just a few days or weeks. Guided hikes, water aerobics, yoga, weight training, aerobics, pilates, and horseback riding - along with classes in the air-conditioned gym - will help you meet your weight loss goals. We can get you started on the road to a healthier life and teach you new skills to take home! Come to the beautiful Texas Hill Country for the getaway of a lifetime at Rancho Cortez! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Cortez Hotel Bandera
Rancho Cortez Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing