We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho Cortez is THE place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho Cortez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rancho Cortez is THE place to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!!! Absolutely beautiful, peaceful, friendly and FUN!! We got in on a Saturday evening, and as we drove up first thing we saw was all the "dude's" and "health fitness" people sitting around a beautiful campfire. There was this tall handsome cowboy walking around and roasting his guest marshmallows and telling great stories! Next A.M. got up to a wonderful breakfast, then off on a beautiful and peaceful horseback ride around the ranch. The sights were breathtaking that made one think of the old cowboy days and their glory! Our guide was excellent as well as the rest of the staff at Ranch Cortez. I will definitely be going back for a longer visit soon! 5 Star Rating in this gal's bank of memories!
THANKS FOR EVERYTHING Larry and Mary!!
Peggy Kelley
peggyann10@aol.com
Lake Charles, LA 70601

Room Tip: Let the staff know your needs and they take it from there to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggyann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    35
    10
    11
    14
See reviews for
115
51
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is my 5th time coming to this wonderful get away from it all ranch. I took part in fitness and horses. The staff here is very willing to go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. So whether you are fitness, (Mary) or want to take part in an authentic dude ranch,( Cowboy Larry) will do what it takes to make sure you have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very comfortable, I, however prefer the bunk house. It is there that I form man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Staying at the Ranch brought me back to the days of old west and the chisom trail. Cowboy Larry, Ms. Mary, Ms. Cheryl, and the entire team were warm and welcoming during my stay. I road horses with the wranglers and Cowboy Larry a number of times, stayed in a beautiful bunk house room, and enjoyed the songs and stories told by Cowboy Larry and Wrangler Bill. Thank you Rancho Cortez for a wonderful stay and for inviting me back again. Anyone looking to enjoy the old west and back hill rides on some awsome horses need to make a trip to this exciting ranch in Bandera Texas!

Room Tip: For a solo visit ask for the bunk house room... They are roomy for a bunk house and exceptionally we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our extended family spent a week with Larry and the Cortez family at Rancho Cortez. The combination of being outdoors, the horses, and Cowboy Larry was pure magic. The kids didn't want to leave, the adults got to relive childhood cowboy daydreams, and stress was a distant memory. Just save the arena lessons for the last day! This is a great place for kids - the Cortez family encourages kids to participate in ranch activities in a meaningful way. A stay at Rancho Cortez is more than a vacation - it is a memory, a connection, and (best of all) a rest.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnfamilyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed for four nights with my two daughters ages 6 and 8. We all had a good time. Everyone is super nice and friendly. Beautiful scenery. My girls rode horses for the first time. The guides are all nice and nurturing. We got to do a ride I. The morning and afternoon. They climbed trees, ran. Went to the pool. We got to really spend time together. The meals were quite tasty. The rooms aren't fancy but they are clean and spacious. I thought it was a pretty good value because on e you get there you have no extra costs except for the tip at the end. My girls fell In love with Cowboy Larry. He is just a good guy and great with the kids. Both my girls were crying when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reesie0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We spent 3 nights here and loved the ranch and outdoor life. We thought however the horses looked underfed, and were very hard worked. One day a white horse was roped to the corral fence on a short rein, unable to graze and left there all day. We visited other dude ranches on the way home and their horses appeared in much better shape. We were also puzzled as to why the rides went up and down the hills making it very difficult for the horses to keep their footings and a little scary for us inexperienced riders. Why not use the flat lands around the ranch.?
The accommodation is acceptable NOT luxurious, and the food is basic chow but also acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tdan736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just spent 5 nights at Rancho Cortez this Spring Break (we were 2 families - 4 kids in total ages 9,8,7,5). Rancho Cortez is rated #1 because of the great people who work there - Larry (the owner) is awesome! He is fair, great with kids and adults - but beware, he will correct you and your children if you don't use your manners! (a plus for me and my kids). Big Billy, Billy, Katy, Tyler, Cheryl, Julio, Rhori - and even the staff that do the cooking and serving- are all warm and so nice!

Now, don't expect 5 star accommodations - it is a ranch. It is clean and has a/c! Since we were two families, we had a large cabin and a small kitchen. We had a fridge which was great so we could stack all our drinks in! There is no tv, but kids had their ipads so it wasn't a big deal. The meals are simple but good. It was great for the kids - it was eat this or don't eat anything at all. I need to use that MO at my house and just cook one meal for the whole family and not cater to the whims of my children!

The trail rides are great - went to different trails each time and you get to ride several different horses! you get to know the horses and their personalities, too! We got to ride 2 times each day and have arena time as well - we learned how to "steer" the horses and trot and gallop! I even got to stand on the horse! Kids are included in the arena time, too - the kids seem to do much better than the adults! Also, there is the hay wagon. Just ask for a ride and a wrangler will give you a ride! You can wait for Larry to lead the wagon ride - that is special because he lets the kids take turns really driving the hay wagon and steering the two huge Belgian horses.

It's a fun property - the kids had a blast playing in the treehouse, climbing trees, and just simply running around with other kids. My kids had a great time just petting and grooming the horses when not riding. Also - ask how to lasso - it is fun! My husband even purchased his own lasso in Bandera - but they do sell them on the ranch as well. The ranch's General Store has some hats, lassos, whips and souvenirs as well - all reasonably priced.

The outdoor pool was too cold when we were there, but the indoor pool was nice for the kids. It was warmed up and the kids had fun! There was also a trick roper that came to the ranch for a show - it was great and lots of fun since many of us were used as volunteers! Also, there were guest singers at the campfire, too. It is such a nice, cozy family vacation - no stress of where to eat, where to go.....You just chill and ride and hang out with horses and family and new friends.

Of course, it was very sad having to say good bye and my daughter was bawling all the way home. She wanted to go back so badly! She even cried the next day! She can't wait until the next trip out here! We miss the friendly faces of Rancho Cortez - hopefully we will be back soon!



Tips:
1. Bring lots of drinks (and you can bring beer, wine, etc...)and snacks - meals are at 8am, 12pm and 6pm. If you are too late, the food will already be gone!
2. Warn your friends and families that there is no cell phone reception and not to worry if they do not hear from you!
3. Be nice to the wranglers - share your beer- they appreciate it! They have alot of good stories to tell and are fun to share meals with!
4. Check out the town on Bandera - fun souvenirs and antiques! You can get some boots and gear in town if you don't have any.
5. Kids get super dirty - bring lots of clothes - but you can do laundry there after the cleaning staff are done with the washing/drying machines. I bought boots for the kids and my husband ended up going into banders and getting some as well. I think it was worth it - gets them in the cowboy atmosphere, but more importantly - it gets dusty and muddy out there and the boots were much easier to wear and deal with than tennis shoes that get soggy and way too dirty!
6. ASK,ASK, ASK - this is a place that if you want to try something- ask them! they don't have too many things scheduled but there is still alot to do! We asked to go feed the longhorns - so Big Billy and Billy took us out on the truck to the longhorns! Ask Larry for arena time - learn to trop and gallop on a horse! He will teach the kids the proper way to handle horses. Kids want to wake up early and help feed and groom the horses? - ask and they can do it!
7.if you have young kids to little to trail ride, you can ask one of the wranglers to pick out a horse that you can walk around the property while your child rides the horse. We did that for the 5yr old that was with us.

Room Tip: We had the Navajo and the Ansazai since we had 2 families. In total, we had 3 bedrooms with queens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgriebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
21.1 mi away
Utopia on the River
Utopia on the River
#1 of 1 in Utopia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
9.1 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
23.9 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 23 in Bandera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
12.4 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Cortez

Property: Rancho Cortez
Address: 872 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4364
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rancho Cortez! Located in the cowboy capital of the world, Rancho Cortez is a Texas Dude Ranch and Cowboy Fitness Farm offering horseback riding, lodging, day trips, hiking, and more! Saddle up and live your dreams at the Texas Dude Ranch! Cowboys, cowgirls, and experienced riders will enjoy horseback riding with expert cowboy, Larry Cortez. We offer plenty of Texas-style fun with hayrides, campfires, cattle roundups, lasso lessons, swimming in our pool, or soaking in our hot tub. With a broad array of wildlife species and ruggedly beautiful landscape as far as the eye can see, the ranch is the perfect escape from urban life. Lost weight and get fit on the Cowboy Fitness Farm! Fitness and weight loss visitors will work with personal trainers under the direction of Mary Cortez. Come for our popular 30 day weight loss camp or spend just a few days or weeks. Guided hikes, water aerobics, yoga, weight training, aerobics, pilates, and horseback riding - along with classes in the air-conditioned gym - will help you meet your weight loss goals. We can get you started on the road to a healthier life and teach you new skills to take home! Come to the beautiful Texas Hill Country for the getaway of a lifetime at Rancho Cortez! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Cortez Hotel Bandera
Rancho Cortez Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing