We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Cortez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We were a party of four who stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of a Texas adventure. It exceeded all our expectations. The staff couldn't do enough. The trail rides were great, the food good and we especially enjoyed the two camp fire experiences. A big thank you to our host Larry who couldn't do enough for his guests and to Chris for teaching us to ride and for being a really nice guy. We wished we could have stayed longer but had a busy itinerary. We are now back in the UK and we all agree our best memory was of the Rancho Cortez!! Thank you all so much for making our Texas experience special.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    35
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
113
51
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent a weekend on Rancho Cortez and had a good time riding slow walking horses in a narrow tree landscape.If you are above beginners level of riding, don´t expect much. They had two overloaded horsemen on the whole ranch and big groups of families and a few from the younger generation. If your looking for value for money, don´t go there

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karihelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a great time at Rancho Cortez. My husband & I and my brother stayed there for 4 days & 3 nights. Everyone there was helpful and friendly. Larry Cortez is easily recognizable from the video on You-Tube. He is so friendly & easy going. He makes you feel relaxed and welcomed.
Trail rides were great. Trail leaders Chris & Cody made sure that you were comfortable atop the horse; made sure saddle & stirrups were adjusted correctly and were able to help if you had any problems during the ride. Trail horses were well behaved and easy to handle. The trails were varied so you didn't ride the same trail twice. The landscape and scenery was beautiful.

We had two rooms. Both rooms were a good size and nicely decorated. Hubby & I shared a queen sized bed that was very comfortable. We had a covered porch with chairs to sit out on.

We had 3 meals a day. All the food was very tasty. Coffee and tea was available all day long which was nice.

Campfires after dinner were fun & the s'mores were yummy.

If the "fitness camp" has available space, you might be able to join in some of their exercise classes. I skipped one of my trail rides and went to a Zumba class & Aquacise class which were great. The instructor for both of these classes was top-notch.

We had a great time. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Call the ranch and ask about the different rooms. Tell them how many are in your group and the kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 815alyceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent the day at Rancho Cortez as part of a group trip. Unusually, it rained a great deal during the day, but we still got in some horseback riding, some good eating, and experienced some great entertainment during the day and in the evening. We noticed other people having a good time during their overnight and longer stays here, too.

Owner Larry Cortez is a charismatic and fascinating rancher - expert at everything about horses and full of great stories about his life. Ask him about the time he helped a Japanese film company make a movie on his property.

Cortez was happy about the rain but concerned to make sure we didn't feel shortchanged by our experience on his ranch. He needn't have worried. We loved it there and several of us spoke afterwards about how we'd love to go back and stay longer.

Be sure to get a good map and directions before heading to this ranch. You'll enjoy the scenic drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had a great half day at the ranch. Everyone very friendly, relaxed atmosphere and really enjoyed the whole experience. Felt very looked after by Mr Larry and Chris. Food great and the campfire story was a great end to the day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bigmouth43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just returned from Rancho Cortez been there for two nights and days had two children with us. This place was absolutely wonderfull we had a great experience verry verry clean. Horses are well keep, safety was a big prioriety verry friendly and helpfull staff!! meals where outstanding, athmosphere was amazing it brought me closer even to my own children, my boys did not want to get off the horses and did not want to leave the ranch! the owner Larry was super nice, knowledgable, helpfull and will do whatever it takes to make your dreams at the ranch come true. a very peacefull quite place for relaxing, however lots to do if you want to learn about daily routine of a ranch. Trail rides where wonderfull but hot ( Tx sun). Will definately come back lots of times to make more great memories!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I came here for a one night stay, but what a great deal for the money. First of all, you couldn't ask for a more beautiful ranch and surrounding countryside. The staff is sooo helpful and friendly. Bill and Chris took us on our trail rides and they were just great. The guys were very knowledgeable and humorous. When I go back, I hope they are the ones leading our ride. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They were decorated just as you would imagine. The food was very good. The BBQ brisket was excellent as well as the other meals. Overall, the campfire in the evening, the rides, animal feeding, and other things to do on the ranch make for a stay where you can keep super busy or just plain relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
9.1 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
24.0 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
11.2 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 23 in Bandera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
12.5 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
8.4 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Cortez

Property: Rancho Cortez
Address: 872 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4364
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rancho Cortez! Located in the cowboy capital of the world, Rancho Cortez is a Texas Dude Ranch and Cowboy Fitness Farm offering horseback riding, lodging, day trips, hiking, and more! Saddle up and live your dreams at the Texas Dude Ranch! Cowboys, cowgirls, and experienced riders will enjoy horseback riding with expert cowboy, Larry Cortez. We offer plenty of Texas-style fun with hayrides, campfires, cattle roundups, lasso lessons, swimming in our pool, or soaking in our hot tub. With a broad array of wildlife species and ruggedly beautiful landscape as far as the eye can see, the ranch is the perfect escape from urban life. Lost weight and get fit on the Cowboy Fitness Farm! Fitness and weight loss visitors will work with personal trainers under the direction of Mary Cortez. Come for our popular 30 day weight loss camp or spend just a few days or weeks. Guided hikes, water aerobics, yoga, weight training, aerobics, pilates, and horseback riding - along with classes in the air-conditioned gym - will help you meet your weight loss goals. We can get you started on the road to a healthier life and teach you new skills to take home! Come to the beautiful Texas Hill Country for the getaway of a lifetime at Rancho Cortez! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Cortez Hotel Bandera
Rancho Cortez Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing