We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our company retreat at Rancho Cortez”
Review of Rancho Cortez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our company retreat at Rancho Cortez”
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We had the entire company go to this resort/dude ranch for a team building. The owners and staff were wonderful, the activities for team building were great, and the entire company wants to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    35
    10
    11
    15
See reviews for
116
52
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

When I first got there, I thought "Oh My" What have I gotten myself into?" Not in Million years would I think I would go to a ranch for a vacation.
""""IT WAS THE BEST PLACE TO GO""""
To all of you who live in the real world, where everything is going a hundred miles an hour every second of the day. This is the perfect place to escape. You have time to think, to re-vamp things in your life, to revise your eating habits, to learn better ways to get fit , feel healthy, and rejuvenated,
I did the fitness camp and also got the additional benefit of riding horses daily for free. Silly me had alot of fun riding the horses. Then there was the fitness workouts all day. You can go to one class or all the classes. Each day was different so you won't get bored. There is water aerobics, weight training, hiking, horse yoga, and more.....
The meals were great, the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean.
A very calming peaceful place to be .
The staff: "They were phenomenal, wonderful, kind, caring people... all of them. One particular staff member " Liz" unbelievable how knowlegeable she is about nutrition, working out, she pretty much was my main coach there. Everyone that got to work with her was a winner.
I hated to leave but had to get back to the real world. I ended up riding out of there thinking I was still on a horse just as happy as could be with all the things I will remember for a lifetime.
My personal rating: 5 STARS and very reasonably priced. Just outside of San Antonio, Texas
It was the best thing I could have possibly done for myself this year.
Kathleen

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shapedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Our group of 5 ladies stayed for a half day trip on the ranch. Our day included lunch, a trail ride, barrel racing in the arena, roping, dinner, and a hayride. Brian and Larry paid great attention to us and we were even able to ride around the barrels twice. Two of the girls even got a full body massage--they both said it was excellent. The ranch is located about 2 hours away from downtown San Antonio. Watch out for the deer on the way back into town if you are driving at night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isherfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We did the Day at the Ranch twelve hour experience where you spend the entire day there, but do not have a cabin. Larry and Chris and the rest of the staff were amazingly friendly, knowledgable, courteous, and patient with everyone. There was not a minute there that my children and I did not enjoy. By the end of the day we did not want to leave. They were all wonderful with children and let the kids help feed and groom the horses.

The value for what you got was wonderful. We paid $95 a piece for two one hour rides, three meals, use of the recreational facilities, and lessons on such topics as saddles, lassoing, riding in the arena. I had paid $85 per person for a two hour horseback ride in Sedona, AZ and Rancho Cortez was a much better value for the money.

When I go back to the Texas Hill Country, I will definitely visit Rancho Cortez again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky0755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio TX
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Rancho Cortez was a great outdoors experience. The staff made it really simple arrange from the reservations to the check out. They came acrossed as extremely knowledgable and friendly.
The bunkhouse was very clean, well stocked with all the needs, and gave a really neat environment to our stay. The pools and fittness center were beautifully kept.
The food was wonderful. Well prepared and always plenty. The breakfast menu recieved the best review by our group but all meals were delicious.
The horses were very well manored and nicely kept. The wranglers were interactive and helpful to all the people in our group.

Larry Cortez was very kind and entertaining to both the adults and children. He tells a great ghost story to boot. This place is excellent for any occation from romantic getaway to family vacation spot. This Girl Scout troop enjoyed it and many look forward to attending the Rancho Cortez Summer Horse Camp for girls.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroopLeader637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I visited Rancho Cortez for the first time with my two best friends for a girls' getaway. We had a fantastic time. Hay rides, arena riding and trail riding filled our days, along with roping lessons, lounging in the sun and enjoying our BYOB adult beverages.

The guests were a mix of groups of friends and families with children but we never felt crowded or out of place. Larry and Chris will treat you like family and couldn't be more hospitable. Our stay was only over a weekend but we felt like we had been on holiday for weeks. It was everything we had hoped and look forward to a return visit. The cabins, pool, hot tub - everything was just the way it should have been. We even enjoyed a Friday night rodeo in a neighboring town.

Leave your daily cares behind because you won't have internet, TV, cell service, phones in room anyway (you won't miss any of it!). You will be "forced" to enjoy the outdoors, relax, laugh and enjoy the ranch. You will get a big taste of "cowboy life" even if you have never ridden a horse before. Just book your reservation and hang on for a great adventure!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leggo_Mego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adriantevan
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I went to Rancho Cortez with 9 of my friends for my bachelor party. The goal was to do something different and still have a great time, this place easily accomplished both! From the moment we got there it was nothing but non-stop fun. Larry and Chris were terrific hosts and the ranch was exactly what we expected-a place to relax, have fun and experience the cowboy life style. The rooms were great, the food was perfect and Larry and Chris made sure we had a great time. We went out on trail rides, chased some cattle around, drank by the campfire and even went into town to check out the night life. All in all, this was a trip of a lifetime and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriantevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
13.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pleasanton
9.1 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
11.2 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
12.4 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
264 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Cortez

Property: Rancho Cortez
Address: 872 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4364
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rancho Cortez! Located in the cowboy capital of the world, Rancho Cortez is a Texas Dude Ranch and Cowboy Fitness Farm offering horseback riding, lodging, day trips, hiking, and more! Saddle up and live your dreams at the Texas Dude Ranch! Cowboys, cowgirls, and experienced riders will enjoy horseback riding with expert cowboy, Larry Cortez. We offer plenty of Texas-style fun with hayrides, campfires, cattle roundups, lasso lessons, swimming in our pool, or soaking in our hot tub. With a broad array of wildlife species and ruggedly beautiful landscape as far as the eye can see, the ranch is the perfect escape from urban life. Lost weight and get fit on the Cowboy Fitness Farm! Fitness and weight loss visitors will work with personal trainers under the direction of Mary Cortez. Come for our popular 30 day weight loss camp or spend just a few days or weeks. Guided hikes, water aerobics, yoga, weight training, aerobics, pilates, and horseback riding - along with classes in the air-conditioned gym - will help you meet your weight loss goals. We can get you started on the road to a healthier life and teach you new skills to take home! Come to the beautiful Texas Hill Country for the getaway of a lifetime at Rancho Cortez! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Cortez Hotel Bandera
Rancho Cortez Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing