We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Best Family Vacations!!!”
Review of Rancho Cortez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Jensen Beach,Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Our Best Family Vacations!!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

My 12 year old son who loves riding horses researched and found Rancho Cortez. We (myself, husband, 16 year old son, and my father) thought this would be a vacation only he would enjoy. Boy, were we wrong!! To start I cannot say enough about the hospitality we were shown! Larry is a consummate host and his staff is wonderful from the cooks to the housekeeping!! The ranchers Cody, Rusty, and Josh were great!! Rusty spent alot of time with with my son and he learned more about horses from he and Larry, than in the year he has been taking lessons! We all enjoyed the trail rides, what breathtaking views and great horses to ride on. The campfires were a blast, Larry tells great stories, one night we enjoyed a country singer, and making smores over the fire was fun. It was great not having T.V., and limited phone, this made us all enjoy each others company and get to know the other wonderful people staying at the ranch! I cannot say enough, when it was time to go none of us was ready to leave!! Will defnitely go back , my son is already planning to go to Cowboy Camp.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridagirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    35
    10
    11
    14
See reviews for
115
52
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Rancho Cortez is a great experience for all, non riders, experienced riders, children and adults alike. Larry is a great host and takes time with all ranch guests to ensure they have a great time. Rusty is particularly good with young children, our 7 year old was put on "Biggun" the biggest horse, and Rusty gave her the confidence to trail ride immediately. My husband had never even been near a horse due to a life long allergy, however, Larry kitted him out and gave him the confirdence not only go near the horses but ride on every trail ride over our three days stay. All the staff are very friendly, we ladies enjoyed the "horseback yoga" class, the nightly campfires are great fun for all. Special mention for "Gunner" the ranch dog who welcomes everyone, (we wanted to bring him home with us!) and Otis the mule! Couple of tips, take snacks and drinks, (beer, soft drinks), with you and dont wait for the activities to come to you........go down to the stables after checking in and everyone will let you know what is on offer that day and you will be asked what you would like to do and they will work around you. INot essential, but take a cowboy hat and boots, (gloves and boots essential if you have an allergy to horses). If you want a theme park ranch experience, go somewhere else! Rancho Cortez is the real deal!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffsontour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We took six city grandkids for a weekend in the spring. The staff is customer-service oriented from top to bottom. Courtesy to the guests prevails overwhelmingly, and the wrangler team and owner Larry Cortez go out of their way to make sure every kid has an encouraging, safe, and fun experience on horseback. Only one of our six had ridden before. My wife and I had each ridden once over 50 years ago. Larry plays the Marine DI role well with the kids, but is full of kindness at the same time, and he's a great storyteller around the nightly campfires. We couldn't recommend it more highly. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Helpful?
Thank grandpakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Anyone wanting to experience a Texas Hill Country adventure and a look into the "real cowboy" way- this is the place! Larry Cortez and his team of wranglers provides an unforgettable experience. If you don't know how to ride a horse before you get there, you definately will when you leave. The food is excellent from breakfast to dinner. The most breathtaking view of the Hill country from horseback exceeded our expectation of the trip. We will definately be back to experience the hospitality, fun and overall good times. Thank you Larry, Mary, Josh, Coty and Rusty for making this a memorable experience with my husband and son. Alyce

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starhranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

we thought our 5 and 7yo would be lucky to get on a pony but Larry had them riding first time. what an awesome cowboy Larry is. got lots of trail rides and instruction on the horses. not really set up as a day spa. nice indoor pool and large gym. the accomodation is fine but take snacks as there aren't any around. food was generally ordinary. beautiful scenery, great story telling and camp fire. all round, best holiday my kids ever had and what a great way to remember texas.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ozzieslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I cannot think of anything that I would change if I had to do it again! My children (6, 8, and 9) had smiles on their faces the ENTIRE time, until it was time to leave. We felt very comfortable, welcome, and relaxed. Even I didn't want to leave! The cabins were very clean and roomy. We brought WAY more than what we needed. The next time I go, I will only bring one or two bags of snacks and some clothes. The kids did not need any additional entertainment (games) and the food was so good that not a crumb was left on the plates. Definitely did not have time or desire to eat all the snacks I brought. Maybe just save the snacks for the road trip! I will DEFINITELY be back! Thanks Cowboy Larry, Cowboy Josh, and a special thanks to my "horse" Otis, the mule!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brcardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The stay at Rancho Cortez was excellent. We had such a great time Horsebackriding, Campiring, and enjoying the Texan Landscape. The owners and Management where super friendly and the food was good. WE will certainly come back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zrhtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
21.1 mi away
Utopia on the River
Utopia on the River
#1 of 1 in Utopia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
9.1 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
23.9 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 23 in Bandera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
12.4 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Cortez

Property: Rancho Cortez
Address: 872 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4364
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rancho Cortez! Located in the cowboy capital of the world, Rancho Cortez is a Texas Dude Ranch and Cowboy Fitness Farm offering horseback riding, lodging, day trips, hiking, and more! Saddle up and live your dreams at the Texas Dude Ranch! Cowboys, cowgirls, and experienced riders will enjoy horseback riding with expert cowboy, Larry Cortez. We offer plenty of Texas-style fun with hayrides, campfires, cattle roundups, lasso lessons, swimming in our pool, or soaking in our hot tub. With a broad array of wildlife species and ruggedly beautiful landscape as far as the eye can see, the ranch is the perfect escape from urban life. Lost weight and get fit on the Cowboy Fitness Farm! Fitness and weight loss visitors will work with personal trainers under the direction of Mary Cortez. Come for our popular 30 day weight loss camp or spend just a few days or weeks. Guided hikes, water aerobics, yoga, weight training, aerobics, pilates, and horseback riding - along with classes in the air-conditioned gym - will help you meet your weight loss goals. We can get you started on the road to a healthier life and teach you new skills to take home! Come to the beautiful Texas Hill Country for the getaway of a lifetime at Rancho Cortez! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Cortez Hotel Bandera
Rancho Cortez Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing