We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flying L Hill Country Resort
Newcastle, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fall Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My Aunt & Uncle live here and it is beautiful! I traveled with two boys (15 & 12). We went horse back riding and had a great trail guide. The boys loved riding around the grounds in a golf cart. We played a round of miniature gold and enjoyed s'mores & stories by the campfire after a horse-drawn wagon ride. There is so much wild life to see from the from porch, it is very quiet and peaceful. We walked Main Street in Bandera and shopping a little.
A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    25
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
73
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place is amazing!! Best vaca ever. Perfect family vacation, had everything! Clean, affordable, friendly, good food, fun activities daily for all ages! Safe enviornment. Will be going back yearly!

Room Tip: Fort Apache Cabins, good for family of 2-4. Quiet area in back. Looked brand new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I visited the Flying L Guest Ranch through Interval International. We rented a one bedroom unit and stayed for a week. We had a great time visiting Bandera and San Antonio is an hour a way. We also visited the Natural Caverns. We participated in a few events on the Ranch and would highly recommend their pizza and wings served in the Bar. Best pizza and wings we had had in a long time. The Ranch is beautiful and very quiet. They have a water park but we did not use it which would be great if you had children. Overall we had a relaxing vacation and would recommend this place for a family. The suites are beautiful and have all you need to do your own cooking and laundry as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went yo Flying L for my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary. There was so much to do for every member of the family. The ranch offers: children's activities, horseback riding, buffet breakfast and dinner, ghost town, trails, dry creek bed exploring, golf, fantastic watermark, putt putt golf, saloon, s'mores by a campfire (with cowboy songs), and beautiful accommodations. We loved it so much we will make it a yearly trip.

Room Tip: The villas do not have a complete kitchen but they have other rooms with a full kitchen. Make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My family, my sisters family, and my dad and spouse all stayed at the Water Park suites for a week. I was impressed with the accommodations, they were extremely nice and spacious. The entertainment each evening for the kids was great. We enjoyed all the staff especially Buck and Matt Dillon. We had a lot of little kids and it was a great place to vacation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Room was fantastic. Clean with a great shower and small kitchen. Very comfy bed. Much more than I expected. Golf course was ok per the hubby. I'm not a golfer. The food was ok. We have some dietary restrictions and the food was not the healthiest but decent. It was neat seeing all the deer. The deer are not hunted and used to being fed. Beautiful country, rugged but extremely dry. Not much else to do. They have a neat water park, just not interested in it. Kids seemed to love it. Surprisingly I got a 4G signal there so I didnt miss my shows.

Room Tip: I think the rooms by the pro shop had the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I can't say enough good things about this vacation spot. The staff was professional and always extended friendly attention to our needs. The children's activities were perfectly matched to my grand children's ages. The horseback riding was great and the guides led us through beautiful Texas hill country scenery. The meals were fantastic. Our villa was comfortable. So many times I go on vacation and am disappointed, but this guest ranch not only met, but far exceeded all my expectations. And all at a very reasonable price! If you are looking for a real vacation, check into staying here for a week. Tell Buck, Matt and Joe Bob that 'Calamity Jane' sent you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank painter731 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
24.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
18.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Boerne Inn & Suites
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Boerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
1.6 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
18.8 mi away
Top of the Hill RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying L Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying L Hill Country Resort

Property: Flying L Hill Country Resort
Address: 566 Flying L Dr, Hwy 173 S & Wharton Dock Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4280 (Formerly Flying L Guest Ranch)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying L Hill Country Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Texas Hill Country. Grab your jeans, boots and hat! The Flying L is a great place to reconnect with friends and family. Founded in 1947, Flying L is rich in aviation history. Tread through mile after mile of natural Hill Country woodlands while Horseback Riding. Splash the day away at the Lone Star Lagoon, our full size water park. Tee up a round of golf on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flying L Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying l Guest Ranch Hotel Bandera
Flying l Ranch Hotel Bandera
Flying L Hill Country Resort Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing