We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family reunion destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying L Hill Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We first visited the Flying L on Valentines weekend to have a quick getaway from Austin and to check it out. We had a big event planned in our home in early August and then wanted 30 plus family members to to join us at a guest ranch in cowboy country.
The flying L guest ranch popped on our radar, but we had to see it for ourselves before committing 30+ family members to an August weekend!
We were impressed even in the off season... We invited the family and it went far better than we imagined!
18 of us enjoyed the brand new lantham lodge , the 10 bed 10 bath Airplane styled party house! We had a bunch of aviation buffs in the crowd and some RC planes so we flew around this legandary fly- in guest ranch. Everyone enjoyed the water park and those who rode horses decide once wasn't enough. They have some nice trails. The approach to the ranch is almost a suburban feel, but as you explore you can find some pretty rustic and beautiful Bandera scenery.
The food is exactly like the food I have had at other ranches. It's good ranch food but a bit hard for my vegetarian daughter,but all the accommodations seem to have kitchens so we packed in as well. Lantham Lodge was fresh and new, yet very comfy. Everyone in our party enjoyed themselves!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Leif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My daughters and two grandchildren and I enjoyed this beautiful place outside of Bandera this past weekend. We ALL had fun in the water park, except when a large group arrived the next day. That particular group's teens were obnoxious in the river ride...got in everyone else's path; also played rough in the shallow children's area. Groups should be more carefully monitored! Other than this inconvenience, the food was good and the entertainment at the chuck wagon supper was excellent! Accommodations were less than par...a bit dated, but were quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the main building so you don't have to drive over there for the water par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a 3 night stay in August and really enjoyed ourselves...if you are looking for a fun kid friendly Texan experience this is your place...it hit all the wants...Horseback riding, golf, water park and fun overall kid friendly resort. The room we stayed in was rustic, not fancy but very comfortable and the kids could roam around safely...they enjoyed smores by the campfire every evening and wagon rides with plenty of deer sightings, loved the water park, enjoyed the Saturday night "Ho down" at the "Ghost Town" with fun kid activities like a petting corral and playground. Food is Texas style, old fashioned BBQ and homestyle cooking...fine for us but if you have a diet restrictions you may want to bring a cooler with your own options. The kids spent all the time outside running around playing and made friends there too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa section which had a separate living area but they have various other options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pippa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend family vacation at Flying L. Our initial impression was less than impressed. REMINDER- initial impressions are not always accurate! We thought we had been given the wrong directions because it seemed like we had driven into a neighborhood. This guest (NOT dude) ranch is in the middle of a subdivision. That being said as we started our vacation we were met by an overly helpful and kind staff. They attended to our every need and were eager to make our stay as special as possible. Thank you to all the barn staff, desk staff and entertainment staff. Jo Bob and Joe were the best!!! They went above and beyond the call of duty several times during our stay.
We truly enjoyed the trail ride, facilities, children's programs, pools and entertainment. S'mores by the campfire were a great treat for the kids and adults.
Our only suggestions were to give guests the option of renting golf carts during their stay and improve the food quality. The food that was offered was not worth the price that was paid.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Jennash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When it is almost 100 deg. if you do not want to make frozen drinks, maybe you should not be a bartender. Water park needs friendlier people. Was there for the week, this guy was rude every time. I have been a property owner here for many years, and this was our least enjoyable time. Miniature golf was nice in the past, now run down and no night use or glow in the dark golf balls.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Flying L the week of July 4th. We were so disappointed. It was so expensive for starters. We expected this very nice facility for the money we spent. It was nothing more than a summer camp environment. The basketball goal was broken, the mini golf was awful and all the putters were void of grip and rubber. The property itself was just not nice. We were expecting a ranch not some buildings made to look like a western themed town. The food was really sub par. Reminded us of church camp or hospital food. The rooms were musty and made of concrete blocks. Not comfy at all. I would not spend this kind of money on this place.
So sad we spent our hard earned money there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank muylocococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Went for 3 days over July 4th with kids 8 and 9. I don't play golf, so that wasn't a consideration. We were there to experience a guest ranch.

Good:
The breakfasts were great.
The water park was fun.
The horse riding was better than average for this sort of place.
Enjoyed the July 4th activities

OK:
The "chuckwagon dinner" with western entertainment was all right, but corny and not hugely entertaining, frankly.
The Kid's Club activities occupied the young ones for a few hours, but where kind of meh.
The dinners are hit and miss.

Not so great:
Definitely try to bring some food for lunches. Don't bother ordering food at the water park, they will never get to you. I ordered a hamburger and went back to cancel it after waiting an hour and a half. They weren't even close to my order.
The villa we stayed was OK, though the walls are thin and you are going to hear your neighbor. Ours play their TV 24 hours a day.
S'mores? I'm just not a s'mores person.

Bad:
Really quite pricey. And they have a bunch of taxes and fees they tack on at check out. Turned out to be considerably more expensive that we had budgeted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank hkthomATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
24.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
2.3 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
18.3 mi away
Escondida Resort
Escondida Resort
#1 of 1 in Medina
190 reviews
7.0 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying L Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying L Hill Country Resort

Address: 566 Flying L Dr, Hwy 173 S & Wharton Dock Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4280 (Formerly Flying L Guest Ranch)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bandera
Price Range: £104 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying L Hill Country Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Texas Hill Country. Grab your jeans, boots and hat! The Flying L is a great place to reconnect with friends and family. Founded in 1947, Flying L is rich in aviation history. Tread through mile after mile of natural Hill Country woodlands while Horseback Riding. Splash the day away at the Lone Star Lagoon, our full size water park. Tee up a round of golf on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Flying L Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying l Guest Ranch Hotel Bandera
Flying l Ranch Hotel Bandera
Flying L Hill Country Resort Texas/Bandera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing