We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was ok..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Forest Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belton
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“it was ok..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed there one night. The Clerk was cheery and all. We asked for the aarp price but she did better...we got one night for $55! They have a lot of rooms but not many folks staying there. I would guess maybe 10 or so folks and 45+ rooms. Our room was ok. It was clean. We had to plug in the fridge to get it going and it did work fine. There was a guy in the next room talking on the phone. We could hear the whole conversation. Yes, very thin walls. The room had single pane windows which could be a real problem in extreme temps and Texas does get HOT! The room had tile floors too, no carpet...none. Other wise we had no issues at all. The breakfast was passable, average, acceptable continental type. There is a gas station and a Mickey D very nearby and it is pretty easy on and off the I-35.

What frosted me was we rented a really nice room at a Holiday Inn express in Port Aransas for $88 and it is in easy walking distance to the beach and downtown. But we needed the room on Belton as we had done over 700 miles that day and were beat.

Room Tip: I like a room on the north or west side far from the elevator and ice machine. Those are darker in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 308tom_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Wife & I had a great time at this hotel. Can't beat the value for money. They are professional and courteous. I liked their awesome salt water pool the best. They keep it sparkling clean and it was very refreshing to take a dip. They don't make pools like this one anymore. The "expanded continental" breakfast is worth it as well. They serve it in their restaurant building, which looks like it used to be a full service restaurant, and has a welcoming feel to it on the inside. Looks like the bar used to be a Kon Tiki theme, which is cool. Our hotel room was a little worn, so don't expect a chain hotel room here, but this place more than makes up for that with their prices, courtesy, customer service, and vaue for money. Highly recommend this place if you are staying in the Belton area.

Room Tip: first floor room further away from the interstate is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuxTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merkel, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We went to Belton for a funeral. I had previously looked at all the reviews of all the hotels in Belton and decided to give this one a shot. When we arrived and pulled up by the pool, to check out the layout of the place, a man in a silver prius pulled up to see what we were doing. Whenever we told him we were getting ready to check in he said okay and left. Not a very talkative fellow. When we went inside the man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Throughout our stay we would see the little silver prius driving around. Felt good about the security. The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable!! Didn't hear a thing from the interstate. Will definitely stay here next time we go to Belton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have mixed emotions about this motel next to I35 in Belton. The man at the front desk was extremely nice. They accepted my special needs dog although he was larger than their under 35 lb requirement. It costs $10 more for the dog and there is a refundable $50 deposit.

The room was quite adequate but had a noticeable odor...mainly of cleaners and age. This is not a new place. Our room 121 had a nice view of the Leon River. The beds were OK but the sheets on one did not fit the bed. The dressing room with separate vanity was nice. The bathroom had a second vanity sink and full tub. The soaps were taken away and not replaced the second day. There was a coffeemaker, fridge and microwave in the room and coffee/condiments were supplied both days. AC was a bit noisy.

The main dissatisfaction came from the noise of the busy I35 truck traffic and the clientele. There was a man sitting on the curb drinking beer at 10PM and this did not make two women feel safe. There was also a lot of light in the room even though there were blackout curtains.

The breakfast was typical for this kind of motel but what do you expect for the price which was very good. This is a place to go if you are traveling on a budget and have a pet.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the highway as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
338 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were pleasantly suprized that this older motel was so clean and well tended. Rooms were spacious w/fridge/micro and great wifi signal. Room was already cooled when we checked in which was nice, and the A/C kept it comfortable all night. Bathroom had been remodeled; older tiled walk-in shower was spotless. BREAKFAST WAS AMAZING!!! Freshly cut fruit was nice, but most of all was the view! They have a gorgeous dining room with deck overlooking park like river setting. Absolutely stunning & a beautiful way to start your day :-) It's so nice to spend your motel money with owners who obviously care about their guests and their property ~ Sue was very helpful at the front desk and my husband had a nice visit w/her husband at breakfast. Being so close to I-35 there was some highway noise, but we'd DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed at the River Forest Inn for many years while showing dogs in Belton. Even though it is an older hotel, my room has always been very clean. Sue and the rest of the staff are the best in the business. AND it has good dog grass! 2 exits from the Expo Center. Can't beat it!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff up front if you have any particular room requests. They are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlaB397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I recently stayed for 7 days for the Belton Dog Shows. I was given a great deal, $250 for the entire stay. The room was clean, large, with fridge and microwave. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was also plenty of space to exercise dogs. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belton
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Belton - Temple South
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Temple
Residence Inn Temple
#9 of 24 in Temple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Temple- Belton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belton Inn - Budget Host
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Temple Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Forest Inn

Property: River Forest Inn
Address: 1414 E 6th Ave, Belton, TX 76513-2868
Region: United States > Texas > Belton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Forest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Forest Inn, located in Belton Texas, is just off highway I-35, backing the Leon River. The property has plenty of space for bus or boat parking, and a separate lawn area for BBQ or other outdoor activities. The hotel is located centrally between Killeen and Temple, and is 5 minutes away from the Temple Mall, and dozens of other restaurants. Our spacious rooms feature both wired and wireless internet access, and 76 TV channels inlcuding: HBO, CNN, Comedy Central, ESPN, ESPN2, and more. Free continental breakfast is served every morning from 6:00 to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Forest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing