We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Forest Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Temple)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
19
9
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
9
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfamily reunionmoteltexaspillowscarpetaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was ugly, dirty, outdated, and the "owner" (he claimed he owned the place, at least) was condescending, which was odd for such a dump of a place. It looks bad from the outside and only gets worse once you've seen it up close. The location is convenient, but that is the best one can say.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverForestInn, Owner at River Forest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Eric,
Our parking lot is for guest vehicles only.
Since you did not stay with us, nor were you related to a guest, I asked you to remove your vehicles.

Unfortunately, this is a motel policy. I'm sorry if this was inconvenient for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed there one night. The Clerk was cheery and all. We asked for the aarp price but she did better...we got one night for $55! They have a lot of rooms but not many folks staying there. I would guess maybe 10 or so folks and 45+ rooms. Our room was ok. It was clean. We had to plug in the fridge to get it going and it did work fine. There was a guy in the next room talking on the phone. We could hear the whole conversation. Yes, very thin walls. The room had single pane windows which could be a real problem in extreme temps and Texas does get HOT! The room had tile floors too, no carpet...none. Other wise we had no issues at all. The breakfast was passable, average, acceptable continental type. There is a gas station and a Mickey D very nearby and it is pretty easy on and off the I-35.

What frosted me was we rented a really nice room at a Holiday Inn express in Port Aransas for $88 and it is in easy walking distance to the beach and downtown. But we needed the room on Belton as we had done over 700 miles that day and were beat.

Room Tip: I like a room on the north or west side far from the elevator and ice machine. Those are darker in the morning and quieter. And in case of a fire nothing above the 8th floor. The 8th floor is about the extent of a fire departments ladder. I would suggest nothing above the 4th. And I always barricade the door at night...always, always, always. Never put your naked fanny on the bed spread or chairs...don't do it! never, ever.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 308tom_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Wife & I had a great time at this hotel. Can't beat the value for money. They are professional and courteous. I liked their awesome salt water pool the best. They keep it sparkling clean and it was very refreshing to take a dip. They don't make pools like this one anymore. The "expanded continental" breakfast is worth it as well. They serve it in their restaurant building, which looks like it used to be a full service restaurant, and has a welcoming feel to it on the inside. Looks like the bar used to be a Kon Tiki theme, which is cool. Our hotel room was a little worn, so don't expect a chain hotel room here, but this place more than makes up for that with their prices, courtesy, customer service, and vaue for money. Highly recommend this place if you are staying in the Belton area.

Room Tip: first floor room further away from the interstate is better
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuxTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We went to Belton for a funeral. I had previously looked at all the reviews of all the hotels in Belton and decided to give this one a shot. When we arrived and pulled up by the pool, to check out the layout of the place, a man in a silver prius pulled up to see what we were doing. Whenever we told him we were getting ready to check in he said okay and left. Not a very talkative fellow. When we went inside the man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Throughout our stay we would see the little silver prius driving around. Felt good about the security. The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable!! Didn't hear a thing from the interstate. Will definitely stay here next time we go to Belton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have mixed emotions about this motel next to I35 in Belton. The man at the front desk was extremely nice. They accepted my special needs dog although he was larger than their under 35 lb requirement. It costs $10 more for the dog and there is a refundable $50 deposit.

The room was quite adequate but had a noticeable odor...mainly of cleaners and age. This is not a new place. Our room 121 had a nice view of the Leon River. The beds were OK but the sheets on one did not fit the bed. The dressing room with separate vanity was nice. The bathroom had a second vanity sink and full tub. The soaps were taken away and not replaced the second day. There was a coffeemaker, fridge and microwave in the room and coffee/condiments were supplied both days. AC was a bit noisy.

The main dissatisfaction came from the noise of the busy I35 truck traffic and the clientele. There was a man sitting on the curb drinking beer at 10PM and this did not make two women feel safe. There was also a lot of light in the room even though there were blackout curtains.

The breakfast was typical for this kind of motel but what do you expect for the price which was very good. This is a place to go if you are traveling on a budget and have a pet.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the highway as you can
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews