We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blanco State Park

Blanco State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Blanco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park located on the banks of the Blanco River; great for trout fishing.
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Afternoon Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were actually staying the week at Pedernales Falls State Park, which I HIGHLY recommend. We visited Blanco because the fishing at Pedernales Falls wasn't that great. It was a little better here and there were a lot of people fishing. Some floating the river. I'm not sure that we actually saw all of the park or not, but what we did see, I can't imagine choosing it over Pedernales Falls for actual camping. It was a nice afternoon though, an absolutely beautiful park, quiet and peaceful...and clean bathrooms! It was in town, too, which is another reason I wouldn't want to camp there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank txgirlfriday7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit for Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our time at this park. We got in some fishing and swimming. Looks like a great place to camp or pull up an RV as well. We saw lots of people making a vacation out of it. Park and restrooms were very clean as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbaezner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great for RV camping...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Blanco State Park borders the historic town of Blanco and rests along the Blanco River. The town of Blanco is within walking distance of the state park. Blanco State Park has great shaded RV sites with electric and water for $20.00 a night. The Blanco River is great for trout fishing and at the Texas Park store you can rent canoes and tubes. This is a great place to kick back and relax, do some fishing or canoe down the river. One of the photos is of the historic Balnco County Court House located in the town square.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank bonaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
395 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Refreshing on a hot Texas summer day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Came on a Friday afternoon and settled in a picnic area near the dam. This is where it's most crowded, even though it wasn't crowded at all. The trees are beautiful and the park is very clean. Hope to come sometime earlier in the day and spend more time. Wish there were recycling bins!

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small friendly park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The park is the only state park I know of that doesn't have a gate. This is good because if you arrive late you can still find a camp site if there are any. Bad because there is no restricted acess after hours. The park itself is great. Spent a night here to get away and enjoyed the tranquility. My campsite was further from the main road so the traffic sounds did not bother me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blanco State Park also viewed

 

Been to Blanco State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing