We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Suriname has to offer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kabalebo Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Suriname has to offer!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Located in the middle of the unpenetrable jungle, 100 miles away from any closest human settlement, lies this truly unique resort. My family and I traveled to various locations in Suriname and this one stood out head and shoulders above the rest. Obviously, due to its remote location the accommodations are not super luxurious (as any material is flown in on tiny planes), so don't go in expecting a 5-star luxury resort with marble tile floors.

The rooms are obviously slightly basic, but are nice, fresh and clean. The newer built suites in particular seemed very nice. (Rooms on the far side of the main lodge were warm at night and did not have air-conditioning, which I did think could be improved)

With regards to service, my general impression was that Suriname culturally did not stand out when it came to providing good service (usually very slow and not particularly friendly), this place however was a refreshing outlier as opposed to the national trend. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly and actively trying to make your stay a pleasant one. The coordinators know everybody by name including their food restrictions and allergies - all by heart. They tailor make the day trips to every ones expectations and particular requirements, which was awesome when traveling with small children.

The food here was also by far the best I encountered, compared to other resorts or hotels, offering delicious local cuisine.

You should not visit Suriname without staying at Kabalebo Nature Resorts!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
70
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Kabalebo.

It seems to me a 3 star rating lodge.
The rooms at the main lodge are outdated. Don't expect anything more than a simple bed, toilet and shower. But it is clean enough.
It seems that especially the river cabins are much better, with a stunning location.
The pool side area is at a nice location but has also had its best time.
Meals are not bad, in buffet style. Non alcoholic drinks are only local brands.
In general concerning the lodge: good enough but definately not 'luxurious' as it is mentioned on their website.

Tours are very good, with a good combination of jungle hikes and boat/kayak trips. Guides are experienced.
Don't expect to see as much wildlife as in -for example- Costa Rica but on every hike/trip you see al least some animals. In 5 days we saw: lots of ara's (from a distance), tuckans (from a distance), lots of other birds, some snakes, a deer, kaymans, tarantula, ocelot, some frogs.

All in all a good place to stay, it's particularly special because you are at a very remote location. No road or village in an area of 150 km. It's a real jungle location. The trip to the lodge by small plane is an adventure itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoKa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

You can't fail to be impressed by the fantastic locaction. In the heart of the rain forest, this lodge is situated alongside the Kabalebo river. Of course, the nature, wildlife and scenery are brilliant but what makes it even better is the quality and friendliness of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. We were well looked after from the moment our plane landed on the grass airstrip. During our seven nights at Kabalebo, the lodge and daily tours were superbly managed by Viviane. Each day was different. We are active and therefore particularly enjoyed the rain forest walks, river swimming and kayaking. For the less active, the natural surroundings can be enjoyed from a guided motorboat. When the boatman turns off the engines, all you can hear are the various bird sounds. The river is perfect for bird spotting but we also saw monkeys (including howler monkeys), giant river otters and caymen. In the resort grounds, we were lucky to see agoutis, tapir and ocelot. Starting the day trips at 8:30 made sense, and after a delicious picnic, we were usually back by mid afternoon, so could relax by the pool and enjoy coffee in the late afternoon sunshine. The guides were informative about the animals, birds and plants and made interesting travelling companions. As the majority of visitors are Dutch speaking, it is a good idea to advise staff on arrival if you are not Dutch speaking. Tours tend to be conducted in Dutch, but we were fortunate as Kabalebo had two great guides at the time who were from neighbouring English speaking Guyana. We were very happy with the food and accommodation. We would like to thank all the staff for their excellent care and an extra big thank you to Viviane who was the perfect hostess.

Room Tip: Choose main lodge if you are good sleepers, as the rooms are right by the restaurant. We stayed in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

i stayed at the resort for 4 nights and 5 days - the good thing. you come here for the fantastic nature and the tours. the tours i took, 3 out of 4, were great. but if you are in a group where dutch only is spoken, you must rely on your own capacity of understanding dutch or translation from some members, as the guide tends to 'forget' to speak english. the lodge itself is ok, but the pool area is never attended, its a 'do it yourself' thing, my towels were changed after 3 days (when i mentioned it), the food is average or mediocre, the drinks are sweet local brands of soda water and once they run out of bottled water, the price for internet wifi is ludicrous 200 euro per day, and the staff was sitting on their computer on facebook! the generator supposed to be off between 9 30 and 14 30, was NEVER on before 4 pm, and even then , i took ONE hot water shower in 5 days. i give the lodge 3 stars and not 2 cause some of the staff really tried hard, but some other members of the staff were totally 'absent'.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Suriname is different. There are not really used to tourists, the service is not always what you might expect. But Kabalebo is a very pleasant surprise! This lodge is professional run. Simple but excellent food. We slept at one of the three houses at the river.
Kabalebo is like a first class lodge for example in Kenia, everything is taking care off. But much much cheaper.
We had a great time, walks and river tours, although I think that three days I think is enough.

Room Tip: at the river!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was a time never to forget. In the Amazon area a beautiful resort. You fly into this resort 45min. from Paramaribo. A beautiful place, very good rooms good meals and very very nice and good guides. They know everything of animals, trees, life in general, medicinal plants. You can walk, take a boat trip, canoe down the river,fish, make trips in the night make a photo trip etc. There is a beautiful pool also so when the temperature too high... So we recommend this place very very much.

Room Tip: There are three different places with beautiful rooms and airco. See their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint Maartenszee, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hello everyone, finally made ​​time to write ... about your resort, a paradise where every wish is fullfilled even before you knew you had one. We were there in July 2013. The flight was an experience never to be forgotten and seeing your resort looming in the distance, it's just like the pictures ... Hostess Vivian is a most charming person, just like Armida the ' bird freak ' with all her books and fanaticism, we often sat together looking to find the name of a species.
Our menu (vegetarian) was unsolicited adjusted and our muddy trousers washed and dried. The guide cut a walking stick when he thought the jungle and the rain was too much for me even without me asking. I will never forget the solitary walks in the morning, mist and dusk along the airstrip: the howler monkeys and birds who greeted me. For someone who keeps macaws in an aviary, seeing them flying free is quite emotional. The trips on the river in the dugout canoe with nice chairs were very exciting, your eyes fall short, only real rainforest right and left.
The exciting evening (Will they come today or not?) when we saw the three ocelots in the back of the resort was a fantastic experience. We also had the pleasure of travelling in a small group of four during the tour.
There is a lovely swimming pool, and even there you see wildlife and many bird species. The main building with a huge porch is very cozy, tastefully and comfortable decorated (always coffee and tea set) and a beautiful place to see the night fall over the Misty Mountain in the evening.
The owners Joyce and Karel flew with us; they are motivated and deserve great admiration for creating something so beautiful. Imagine what a project setting up a resort in the middle of the rainforest, chopping a runway, clearing the forest to build lodges and transport all the materials by air.

Yes, and then after three days came an end (WAY too short) to the highlight of our trip in Suriname. I really wiped away a tear!
Thank you all very much for the best travel experience of my life!

Room Tip: Rooms in main-building are close to start-point of excursions, cabins along the river are like a dre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kabalebo Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabalebo Nature Resort

Property: Kabalebo Nature Resort
Address: Bakhuis mountain, Kabalebo, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Sipaliwini District > Kabalebo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kabalebo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kabalebo Nature Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kabalebo Nature Resort is a nature resort located in pristine, uninhabited Amazon Rainforest in the west of Suriname. The resort has 6 types of lodges, varying from basic to very comfortable cabins at the riverbank. The resort only offers all-inclusive packages. All packages include: domestic round trip ticket, accommodation, standard activities, breakfast, lunch, dinner, and non-alcoholic beverages. Alcoholic drinks can be purchased at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kabalebo Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Resort Kabalebo Hotel Paramaribo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing