We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluff Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So fun!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The accommodations were really nice. When we got there, it was clean and organized. We stayed in the Laredo cabin, which was also the perfect amount of space! We got a good use out of the hot tub! The whole property itself was really fun as the animals were allowed to roam wherever, so we definitely got some surprises throughout the day as there were longhorns right outside. The animals were friendly too, very used to people. Little kids would love the horses, pigs, goats and a donkey that also lived there. It was also fun to take part in a scavenger hunt around the property and finish the day off with the steakhouse that was on the land. You won't find an experience like it!

Room Tip: Pick a cabin that holds more people than you actually have in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLoveBeaches7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

This review is slightly late, but I wanted to make sure everyone looking knows just how lovely this place is! We stayed here in the middle of a 2 week road trip around Texas last year, and it was a fantastic break.
Lovely cabins - we had the Cimarron cabin, which was perfect for 2. Nice porch out back with hot tub - amazing at night looking up to all the stars! Grill outside for bbqs!
You can walk around the grounds and visit the animals, which is nice to do on a chilled sunny day, and we also had a horse ride while we were there, which was great. We also had a fantastic meal at the Silver Dollar restaurant on the grounds.
The owners are lovely and very friendly, and go out of their way to ensure you have the best trip. I just wish we lived in the US so we could come back here more often for mini breaks!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank saresb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have been making our pilgrimage to the Hideaway each year for the past 5 or 6 years. Whe we go we do the "Number 1" activity available and that is NOTHING! This is a fabulous retreat from the hustle of everyday life. Small intimate cabins, hot tubs, horses and other critters...what else could you ask for to let your stress drift off into space, Our hostess and host...Traci and Jason...are the best. They make you feel like family and welcome family at that. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing and invigorating retreat for a few days or longer, look no further. This is it.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several of the cabins. Our favorite is the Rendezvous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place was the perfect getaway for my spouse and I for our first anniversary! The grounds were well taken care of, the views on top of the Mountain were spectacular. Our cabin was secluded and peaceful, perfect for the couples getaway. We ended up locking our keys in our car and one of the propietors came and helped us get the car unlocked. Amazing staff at the restaurant and the ranch. Definitely would recommend this to any and all who was a little piece of Heaven on Earth..

Room Tip: Make sure you go to the Silver Dollar Restaurant.. the staff is friendly and the food is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral Wells, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been out here 3 times and the hideaway has always been a great place. We enjoyed it so much we had our wedding out there. Tracy and everyone out there have always been the best. The food is wonderful also. wWe will go back again and again. Have been out for just an adult weekend and have taken kids. Always been great

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My family and I stayed at the Cimarron. It was a great cabin, although small. And we had a great time. i wish i would have known a few things prior to going though. The hot tub was nice! Horse riding: wanted to ride horses but no space in the early ride. owner offered a later time but said she wasn't sure due to heat. Kids did a lead along on one of the more experienced horses. It was ok but call way ahead of time if you really want to ride. Cabin: the cabin had dead bugs in the corners, on the towels and sheets. The fold out couch mattress is NOT comfortable so definitely bring a topper for it. The bed was bouncy and noisy as well. They should add hooks and shelves for storage. Fully equipped kitchen. They have satellite tv and a dvd player. We had breakfast Sunday morning at the restaurant on the grounds and it was average. The closest grocery store is 30 minutes away so come prepared.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traci C, Owner at The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for the information, Shannon! We certainly enjoyed your family while you were on the ranch. Yes....horseback riding is a popular ammenity and we absolutely recommend getting on the list early, if it's an important part of your visit. I apologize that our afternoon rides in August would have been too hot. We'd love to have you back in a cooler season. Regarding the dead bugs.....I apologize for that. We exterminate regularly and clean/inspect our cabins with hopes of not ever having this kind of issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will incorporate it into our action plan as we move forward. Again, we thank you for your visit and hope that you will return. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent 5 days in the Yallastone and look forward to going back. We wanted to get away from the world for our anniversary, and the Hideaway Ranch is the place to be. Looking out our back window we were visited by llama's and deer. The staff is so sweet and accommodating, and it's obvious they care about the grounds. The steak at the Silverdollar was good, but their burger is the best I've ever had. I wanted to fish and ride horseback, but each day leaving the cabin just didn't seem to be the best option over enjoying private time with my wife. But...maybe on our next trip :) The bed was very comfortable and the way the cabin trails are laid out we had total privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bcraig423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff Dale
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.3 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Granbury Gardens Bed And Breakfast
11.8 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat
Address: County Road 196, Bluff Dale, TX 76043
Region: United States > Texas > Bluff Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bluff Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, romantic retreat nestled in the beautiful North Central Texas Hill Country near Glen Rose & Granbury. If you are looking for a place to get away for a romantic weekend or for a family vacation, you have found it. Our cabins lie nestled among the oaks on 155 acres. We specialize in seclusion, tranquility and privacy. Each cabin offers a private hot tub, a fully furnished kitchen, and picnic tables. Activities on the property include: hiking, fishing and swimming, stargazing, playground, animal watching,and horseback riding. We have Texas longhorns, paint horses, donkeys, llamas & poultry on site. We gladly welcome pets and children. You won't want to leave this place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Ranch And Retreat
The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat Hotel Bluff Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing