We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welfare Cafe and Goat Barn”
Review of Welfare Cafe

Welfare Cafe
Ranked #13 of 116 Restaurants in Boerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Housed in the original 1900 Welfare General Store & Post office.The Cafe & beer garden is surrounded by beautiful gardens and historic buildings, offering a unique dining experience since 1998. We support local wine rowers and Texas farmers and ranchers.Local producers Local producers and sustainable practices are paramount to our menu choices. Texas Hill Country inspired seasonal menus available along with gluten free, vegetarian and vegan options.
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Ok, do NOT let the name take your mind to a goat barn. This place is 5 star peace and 5 star food. They could use a few more servers but let me say that my wife and I love this place. Off the beaten path but well worth it!

If you are near Boerne or Welfare you Must Go! You can thank me later.

Thank Roger744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Wow! You could just drive pass this quaint building and miss an extraordinary dining experience! Don't do it - stop and check out their outstanding menu options. I had their popular Fredericksburg Chicken and was delightfully surprised with the flavor of a jalopeno peach sauce over beautiful baked chicken. This Cafe is definitely worth a stop.

Thank LIsham747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Loved this place out in the boonies rustic lots of animals great food it was an amazing wedding and great staff

Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Husband and I spent the weekend in the hill country and after meals of burgers and sandwiches, we were looking for something a little bit more refined. We set out to Welfare Cafe and honestly almost turned around when we saw the small establishment. I'm so glad we decided to stop in. The food was delish, the service attentive and the atmosphere chill. I ordered a chicken dish with pecans, peaches and jalapeño cream sauce, and it was addicting. Goat cheese bites were surprisingly light although fried. It was really good and we plan on going back when we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larmorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welfare1, Owner at Welfare Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. The "chicken fredericksburg", a signature dish of the cafe, that you mentioned, has been popular since I first put it together 18 years ago! Hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Old post office converted into small, quaint restaurant with a large landscaped outside seating area. Beautiful antiques scattered around for decor; one large conference/wedding/party building further back.
Now to the food: we were there 3 nights ago (Saturday), made reservations, menu changes every 3 months, beef medallion with a mushroom glaze was as good as a 5* Houston eatery! Love, Love, Love this cafe, the setting and the service and the wine selection will keep us coming. Welfare is a tiny village - don't blink as you drive the curvy road 'cause you'll miss it! Just down the the road from the famous Don Strange Ranch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Texan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welfare1, Owner at Welfare Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi - Next time you are in - please introduce yourselves since we are neighbors now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Welfare Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing