We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps getting better”
Review of Dog and Pony Grill

Dog and Pony Grill
Ranked #16 of 106 Restaurants in Boerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Description: Great Burgers, Wings, Steaks, and Salad Bar. Family Friendly Establishment Complete with a Rainbow Systems Playground, Basketball Court, with 3 Patio Decks and plenty of other Outdoor Seating. Where Community Happens.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burgers, Wings, Steaks, and Salad Bar. Family Friendly Establishment Complete with a Rainbow Systems Playground, Basketball Court, with 3 Patio Decks and plenty of other Outdoor Seating. Where Community Happens.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keeps getting better”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

The Dog and Pony keeps getting better. Have tried all their specials on the chalk board as you walk in, I wish it was more visible but you can't have everything. We really enjoy the live music on weekends and the fact our kids can play while we watch the show. Does get busy at times but worth the wait. Eagle is still my favorite burger and love the wings. We enjoy getting a group together and spending the day with family. Has become our home away from home. Keep up the good work guys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You pick up your drink, order & pay at the front desk”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Seriously, this is the most confusing set up ever. Because from the parking lot this looks like a restaurant. Which it is but you don't get seated and have someone take your order. Instead you stand there with everyone else and read the wall. Then you grab a beer from the ice chest, tell the kid behind the counter what you want to eat, give him your cash and then you get a buzzer. Like you are at Panera or something. Totally weird. You are seated in what feels like a honest-to-goodness restaurant and wait for your buzzer to go off. Then off to get your meal. There were a ton of people working there and I really think having someone just take your order would add a little something to the dining experience. I did appreciate that there was a veggie burger. But it was the last burger to come out - my companions all got their meals ages before I did. When you want another drink you have to get it yourself which really? I could do that at home. There are a ton of televisions. And you could eat outdoors if you want. The fries were underwhelming. And they close at 9. Which seems really early for a burger and beer joint.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vee_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
“great burgers”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

the burgers were great must try the habanero sauce for hot heads

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
303 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good burger and sandwich fare and good prices”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

If you are passing through Boerne and want to skip the chain restaurants, try the Dog and Pony. We had a good experience there. We just stumbled on to the place and glad we did. It has a simple plain western decor, large open spaces, wood floors, large wood beams and stone work, tin covered ceilings. Very well lighted with floor to ceiling windows. Very clean. Nicely done. Wooden tables and chairs. You order at the entrance and they give you a buzzer to come pick up your food at the counter when its ready. Open seating. No table service. They do offer bottled beer in the style of old ice houses in Texas. We had burgers and fish sandwich. Hot crispy fries. Buttered kaiser rolls for buns. Presented well in red plastic baskets. The menu has something for everyone. The salad bar looked great - with real mixed greens and romaine and other high quality items. Our food was fresh, hot and tasty. I thought the prices were good for what we had. The supper menu may be a bit high if that was what the other reviewer was talking about, but we were there for lunch on a Sunday and there were after-church locals so you know it must be good ! They offer a large kids menu that offers healthy choices too such as salmon with steamed broccoli. We found the place bright and clean and the people were friendly. It is not the absolute best burger I have ever had, but it was quite good. I would highly recommend this place to my friend and we will go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best salad bar in Boerne - menu a little expensive, good not grrreat.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I keep wanting D&P to be great - it has the potential. An enjoyable atmosphere, a fine salad bar, and pretty good food. But it has yet to be great. It is rather expensive, even today when most food is expensive. Portion for price has been small on our visits. Baked potatoes are offered as an individual item. Do NOT expect a large potato if ordering for an entree. The baked potatoes are small, side dish potatoes. Truly not worth $5.00. The "build your own" was offered as standard butter, sour cream, bacon. The potato was well-baked and had good flavor - it was just really small. Catfish is one filet with fries and salad.- very expensive at $13, but taste was ok. Creative burgers with fries that sound good, but they need to be really good for $9. Service has improved greatly, and no health violations were visible on our last trip. Ordering, drink station, and pickup system is still awkward and a bit confusing, especially for first time visitors. I'll keep going for the salad bar and my companions will try other menu items, surely it will be great pretty soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveprongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dog and Pony Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing