We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bustling business”

Bear Moon Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Boerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, bustling business”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love Bear Moon Bakery but it has it`s drawbacks. Weekends are crazy busy & the line sometimes goes out the door of this tiny bakery. There are a few tables inside & more outside. If you don`t mind waiting for someone to help you, you will be able to eat some great muffins, breakfast items & buy some cakes or other pastries to take home for later. One tip..Christmas time they are so busy you need to call ahead to order specific items. They have a special cake that sells out as soon as it hits the shelves. They will save a cake for you if you order in advance. Be ready to stand in line again. They need to figure out a way to streamline the ordering & checkout process. Happy eating!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tattoolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    115
    27
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boerne tx
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“love the deserts”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have eaten breakfast there which the buffet does have more to be desired but the deserts are amazing chocolate sheet cake being my favorite but all deserts are good great place for your sweet tooth when your in boerne

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank duane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but kind of trendy and pricey”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoy going to Bear Moon but only so often. It's definitely one of the trendy spots in town for the "Austin Crowd" that frequents the Hill Country, but the food is pretty good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swilling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“In Need of Change”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We've lived in Boerne over 10 years and occasionally patronize the Bear Moon. Having a "support local business" day we went in for Sunday Brunch. The dining room was like I remember from my first visit years ago....plain, with no atmosphere at all, and a bunch of old tables and chairs crammed into the small dining room so that it seems as if you're dining with the people at the next table. No chance of a private conversation.
Our server was friendly, but semed to have no knowledge of the menu at all. We opted for the buffet, since it was priced about the same as any of the single breakfast offerings.As a vegetarian, I'm used to having limited choices at many restaurants, but filling a plate was a challenge. Even the hash browns had some kind of meat smashed up in them. I asked if would be possible to get some meatless gravy for a biscuit, and received an icy "No" as a one word answer. I didn't try every item at the buffet, but what I had was dry, bland steam table fare. I would have to say the tastiest item I sampled was the corn grits.
Since we were pretty much eating with our neighbors we chatted about the food and they too were less than thrilled.
So, we end up with a clueless server, depressing decor and food that I imagine might be the type served at a correctional facility. And all for the bargain price of $35, including the pity tip for the waitress.
Next time we have breakfast in town, Dennys it is

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quaint, fun,worth a stop.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Bear Moon is our home town and is a great place to get a feel for small town USA. The atmosphere is relaxed, the baked goods are wonderful and the price is right. Friendly staff and a nice location. Recommend buying some pastries and walking around town to have an enjoyable and relaxing few hours in a wonderful town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philosopher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bear Moon Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing