We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Cooking”
Review of Mama's Cafe

Mama's Cafe
Ranked #64 of 106 Restaurants in Boerne
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boerne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food is just good home cooking. The burgers are very tasty and come with all the trimmings. They have changed to table service which was to their advantage, no one likes to wait in line! The waitresses are very attentive and check on you just the right amount. The manager is in plain site and is walking around checking on tables and making sure all is good. With the home cooking and friendly service reminds of the way Boerne used to be. The only drawback is the parking lot! When it gets crowded, it can be a problem as it's not paved, and full of potholes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZoeyK5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mama Should have Done Better”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Maybe it was a bad night. After ordering we were ignored by the waitress until we started trying to find where our food was after 40 minutes. Finally showed up and I was equally disappointed with the 20 french fries or so that barely covered the bottom of the basket. Asked the waitress if I had accidentally received the child's portion and she replied no, but didn't seem to care.

I have eaten at other Mama's cafes before but the one in Boerne is no where near as good.

Lastly, the menu selection is much smaller at this cafe than at the other Mama's cafes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEd-Boerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Husband and I ate there on Wednesday. It wasn't that busy. The food was good. We had onion rings to start. Chicken fried steak. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Good place to take the family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
610 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Mama's Is (back) In The House”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Forget about any negative press you may have seen. Mama has not left the building. Or maybe it is that she has returned. Whatever the case, our crispy, plump chicken-fried chicken breast, mashed potatoes and cream gravy complete with some of the red potato skins in evidence, green beans (the smoke spice was a little funky), excellent fried okra (frozen or not it was pretty darn good) and heart attack on a shingle (that's cookin' lingo for Texas Toast with too much butter) were as good as the other Mamas locations prepares. And that's pretty good! The real test was the fried mushrooms. I am almost sure that I ate my very first fried mushroom at the now defunct Mama's on San Pedro. These were not quite the same, but still very good overall. The service was also good and the prices were not expensive, but they were a couple of dollars more for some of the same food items you might find at a rival business like Willie's (which I also really like).
So whomever it was that ran Mama off the first time, please keep your distance. We would like her to stay now and keep pumping out the mighty fine comfort food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing