We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Needs Some Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Kendall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ye Kendall Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Boerne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Location, Needs Some Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in this quaint inn. It was our second stay here, the first being 7 years ago. The room we got this time was on the upper level overlooking the town square. It was an end unit, so very quiet and private. The room had been recently updated, with a beautiful new bathroom. Rooms are very tiny, and by the time you get your suitcases in, space is limited. We don't usually spend much time in the room, so this was not a huge issue for us. Outside our room were tables and chairs, which we used in the afternoon. The porch is in need of repair, many boards are rotting, and the whole thing could use a coat of paint. Staff told us it was to be repaired this spring. There is no elevator to the second floor, so there were a lot of stairs to climb with luggage, it would be horrible for seniors because there was no hotel staff prepared to help.
Unfortunately their restaurant was closed for renovations. It will be beautiful when finished. This inn is within walking distance to everything on the main street. Parking was not an issue for us, but we were there midweek, so the inn was not as busy as it might be on a weekend. Free Wifi worked well in our room, however, our friends were unable to get it 2 doors down. Overall a pleasant stay, and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycnanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YKIAdministrator, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Kendall Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Ycnanb,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Ye Kendall Inn. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one. As you noted, The Inn is currently being updated and renovated.

The Inn has numerous handicap accessible rooms and as a rule, we do not place seniors on the second floor. However, we apologize that our staff was not prepared to assist you with your luggage. We resolve to do better.

We look forward to serving you again in the future and hope you will be pleased with the results of our renovation. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    54
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
92
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in Boerne for a night, and since we had eaten at the restaurant at Ye Kendall Inn before and liked it, we thought we would try staying there. We ended up booking a garden courtyard room. The room was nice. Not Hilton quality, but not bad. You have to go up two steps to get into the bathroom, so that might be an issue for some. Our room was next to the hot tub. We went to bed at ten o'clock, and at approximately 11:00 p.m. a rowdy group of guests came in from somewhere and invaded the hot tub, whooping and hollering, having a big party. We kept thinking they would go to their rooms, but no such luck. At 11:30 I tried to call the night manager, and he didn't answer. 15 minutes later he called me back and I told him what was going on, and by midnight they finally had someone send these people to their rooms. The people in the room next to us actually forced the door between our rooms open somehow shortly after. They shut the door, and my husband called the night manager again, who sent the maintenance man to check it out. They wouldn't answer the door to him. Finally we got to go to sleep. BUT...at 7:00 a.m. the fun started again. A group of women hit the hot tub then.....members of the same rowdy party. We finally gave up and got up. Perhaps the hotel should have a clear hot tub policy, and post a sign that tells people the hot tub is closed between the hours of ten a.m and ten p.m. It was a nightmare, and we are now driving home with a LOVELY memory of Ye Kendall Inn and Boerne. And when we checked out and told the day manager about it, she was not concerned at all.

Room Tip: Stay far, far away from the Garden Courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spend the night at Ye Kendall Inn the Saturday before Easter Sunday. This historical hotel has a great background and the perfect location on the square. I even loved that we were given actual keys and not key cards. The doors had the origional skeleton key holes in addition to modern locking mechanisms.
Now for the down sides. The room was humid and the window unit didn't seem to work well. Our room didn't have a bathroom door. The carpet was disgusting and old. There were strange dishes on the bathroom fireplace mantel with odd residue. The bedding was frayed, and a material that I know Iis dry clean only. (How often to the dry clean throw pillows and bed spreads?)

Overall I loved the antiques and the history of the hotel. Ultimately I would rather stay in a cleaner hotel with a bathroom door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here the night that a friend of mine got married in Boerne. It appeared to be very cute from the website, and seemed like a great little spot. Upon arrival, I waited at the front desk for about 10 minutes before anyone showed up. There wasn't even a bell or anything to ring, to get someone to check me in. I was about to call the main line, when someone finally showed up.

We got the keys to our room, and went and checked in. When we walk in the first thing we notice is a massive claw tub in the middle of the room. In the corner of the room, there was a toilet that was about 5 feet from the bed. Luckily, there was a shade covering it - however there was no privacy in this room.

We go to the wedding, and get home around 1130 - having had a few drinks and ready to go to bed. We get to the front door, only to find that the doors are locked, the lights inside are off, and our keys don't work to the main door. There's a note on the door saying that they lock the doors at 10, and if we need assistance to call this number. I call the number and reach some kid who works there and informs me that he lives 27 miles away, and that it would take him awhile to get there to let me in. Meanwhile, my boyfriend found a back door to get in through..

About 20 minutes later the front desk girl arrives and comes up to acknowledge the situation. She said that she "told me the doors were going to be locked at night" - which she never did. The attitude was unnecessary - especially at that hour, and given what we went through to get into the hotel room that we were paying $175 to stay in.

Would never recommend, and will NEVER go back. Terrible terrible waste of money.

Room Tip: Just don't book any of the rooms.. that's your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cochranlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Me and My Ladyfriend and day guests stayed in the St. John's chapel. A free standing building, it is huge and very accommodating. King Size Bed that was fabulous! The chapel was a church in a nearby town with alot of history. It was moved to Boerne, where it is now, part of the Ye Kendall Hotel. If you are looking for something different with plush amenities, stay here! The bar & restaurant are superb. Price is reasonable.

Room Tip: There are other free standing buildings, one is the Waco, which is like a log cabin. Very neat .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FINBARtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimberley tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Great old hotel, was disappointed the grill and bar were under construction when we got there. Our claw foot tub leaked from under the tile it was set on. Got pictures of ghost orbs in our room and from the front. Would stay again after the reno work.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudsononthecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We used a popular booking site which landed us at this "three star" cr@p hole. I honestly can't even think of a better way to describe this inn. The hotel entrance is confusing. There is a large CLOSED sign on the door, but it actually only refers to the restaurant. I waited ten minutes at the check in desk for someone to come back to do their job. We were given a house key to our room upstairs. First red flag: this place obviously hasn't been updated in decades. Upon entering our room, we noticed that the toilet is in the same space as the bed. The bed itself was rickety and the mattress had springs poking thru the sheets. We requested to see another room option. The second room took my husband using brutal force to unlock the aged door. The mattress was new, but the bedding filthy. You could see broad daylight in the gap between door and frame. And this time the toiletwas aaround a corner, but no door. No privacy. The tiles around the fireplace were cracked and filthy. The staff could care less that we were displeased and continually rolled her eyes at me. I paid a three star price and am beyond disappointed. Really, you could probably find rent by the hour places better maintained than Ye Krap Inn. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YKIAdministrator, Public Relations Manager at Ye Kendall Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We sincerely regret the disappointment you recently experienced at Ye Kendall Inn.

Ye Kendall Inn is a Registered Texas Historical Landmark, and as such, the original rooms have kept their historic character. It’s our understanding that you reserved one of our historical rooms. Keeping with the character of the time period, the wash and toilet areas are not separated by walls and doors in these rooms (chamber pots were still common during this era). The second room option you were shown was also a historic room. We do offer other more contemporary options that may have been more comfortable for you and we regret that we did not accommodate you in one of our modern rooms.

We aim to provide a quality experience for our customers and your concerns are important to us. The staffing and housekeeping issues you mentioned have been addressed.

Please accept our apologies for your dissatisfaction. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boerne hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Boerne
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Texas Hill Country
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Boerne Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Boerne
Days Inn Boerne
#7 of 7 in Boerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Boerne
Motel 6 Boerne
#6 of 7 in Boerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Boerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Kendall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Kendall Inn

Property: Ye Kendall Inn
Address: 128 W Blanco Rd, Boerne, TX 78006-2001
Region: United States > Texas > Boerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ye Kendall Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Kendall Inn, established in 1859, is a registered state and national historic landmark. In 1859 the then Reed House offered 4 rooms for those traveling through the Texas Hill Country. Ye Kendall Inn now offers 36 rooms, suites and cottages each exquisitely appointed and beautifully restored to their historic grandeur but with modern amenities such as comfortable furnishings, complimentary wireless internet, cable TV. The Inn's 22-inch hand cut limestone walls and breezy front and back porches give you a historic true Texas experience not soon forgotten. The Inn is located on 5 acres overlooking Cibolo Creek and Boerne's historic Town Square in the heart of the Hill Country just 35 minutes north of San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Kendall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Kendall Hotel Boerne
Ye Kendall Inn Boerne, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing