We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds-and views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Boerne
Certificate of Excellence
Glennville, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds-and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in March on a chilly, wet night after team roping. Had some trouble finding room, but another helpful guest put us in right locaion.After shopping in Tx for a week, was dismayed that there was no elevator to second floor and had quite heavy bags to bring up two flights of stairs. Our room was large. bed linens and pillows were very comfy, but could find no extra lightweight blanket or even extra pillows. Know this was unusual weather for Tx, but hate to sleep with heat on. Bottled water and snacks in room was a nice touch. A gas firplace woud have been a nice addition. Bathroom as well as bedroom was very clean, although bathroom seemed a littled dated. Toiletries were nice, but set out on counter, no trays or cover for face tissue-justa plain box. A resort should have extra special touches. Next day we enjoyed a great breakfast in restuarant and outstanding view of golf course. All employees and staff were friendly and helpful Jonathan in pro shop was great. Girls in office was also impressive as they were so kind to print our boarding passes. Although we did not play golf, the grounds were very pretty. Enjoyed seeing all the deer. Would definitely return as I would have liked to have stayed longer. Weather was much better on day we wee leaving and would have enjoyed seeing more of the courses.

Room Tip: Would prefer lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gstrc501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    183
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
161
255
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I recently stayed overnight at the renovated Tapatio Springs Resort and was overwhelmed with the friendly service and excellent hospitality! The rooms are well appointed and luxurious, with exquisite bedding and a wonderful Hill Country view on the small patio! We saw deer and enjoyed a wonderful brunch on Sunday morning. The thing I will remember most is forgetting to pack my cell phone charger and having Barb Tomlin actually drive it to my home in San Antonio to hand deliver it! Only in Texas would you find such a gracious act of kindness and thoughtfulness! I am so pleased to hear that George Strait restored this Hill Country treasure for all of us to enjoy. We will be back and will recommend it to all our friends and colleagues! Karen Gallagher

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 103, which was away from the beaten path and offered tranquility and privacy. Over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiankaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have nothing negative to say about this place! Everything was perfect. The golf course and scenery, the pool, the room, the restaurant... I have to say that what left a significant impression on my friends and I was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone is happy to help you and answer questions. On Monday night Juanita was our server and she was very nice, even helped us by bringing matches and some newspaper to light up the outdoor fireplace after dinner, and they were cleaning up to go home already! Jonathan at the proshop was very helpful too. Thank you for everything! The renewed Tapatio Springs is our new favorite destination here in Texas!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiCis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

A group of 12 of us recently took a golf vacation to the Tapatio Resort. Overall we had a great time and would like to commend a majority of the staff and the resort. The hotel staff was great and let us check in at 7am the morning we arrived which was very convenient. The golf staff was very friendly and accommodating to our group as well.

However, I must express my displeasure with the on-site restaurant and bar. Although I thought the food was very good, the service was slow to almost non-existent. At one breakfast the waitress ignored our table completely and then was rude to us when we finally flagged her down. We played 36 holes most days and even when we called ahead to order our lunch for pickup between rounds, it was normally not ready when we got there. One of our lunch orders didn't get brought out to us on the course until over an hour after we ordered it. That's completely unacceptable. I'm not sure if this is a problem with a lack of kitchen staff or a just a lack of urgency with the restaurant. However, it became a running joke that you should order your breakfast over the phone as soon as you wake up if you hope to get it before you tee off 90 minutes later.

Other than that we had a great time. The Valley course is still undergoing improvements and was our least favorite of the three. The Lakes course was in good shape and the most popular (ie crowded) course at the resort. The Ridge course was by far our favorite with a great deal of elevation change between tee and greens. The greens on the Ridge course were in the best shape of the three courses as well. We were disappointed to see that all of the courses were cart path only which made for quite a bit of walking. However, it’s my understanding that the drought conditions are about over and they will resume letting carts on the course in about a week.

I'd definitely return to this resort and recommend it to any groups looking to have a nice golf vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

It has been a number of years since our last visit to Tapatio and it is hard to recognize the place it has changed so much. The new facility with large and comfy rooms, restaurant and pro shop: everything new, clean and upscale. The golf course has always been a great and challenging layout and we were impressed with the condition considering the extreme draught the area has experienced. Naturally the staff can make a visit exceptional and the people working at Tapatio went out of their way to make our visit special. I cannot recall ever staying at a place where I was made to feel so much special. I say kudos to the new owners who have spared no expense in the remodel. We will definitely return.
Fred & Patti

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wanting to escape SXSW in Austin, we went to Boerne and decided on the Resort at Tapatio Springs for the weekend. We were planning to play golf there but they were having a tournament so we played at Fair Oaks Ranch which as it turned out was not in good shape. However, the the golf course at Tapatio looked to be in excellent condition and the recent re-model of the club house and restaurant are impressive. The dining room is very open with large windows that look out over the golf course and the canyon rims beyond. The food was hearty, there was something on the menu to please everyone and the service was excellent. Our favorite part of the evening was spent out on the beautiful stone patio with a large out-door fireplace that was the gathering spot for the evening. Everyone here was so nice and we didn't leave as strangers. The only hiccup is the hotel itself. The bones are good but by not going full-out on renovations to the hotel side, well, it looks a bit sad. Hanging plants and new Spanish style wood front doors would go a long way to making the place look more inviting. The beds and bedding were just okay and the furniture does not fit the scale of the rooms which are pretty good in size. The bathrooms are set up in a very user-friendly way but still feels dated. The pool looks like an old pool you'd see at a Super 8, really, they should just start over again with that one. They've done a fabulous job with the clubhouse and golf course, let's hope they carry on and bring a fresher aesthetic to the hotel side. I'd really like to bring some friends back here for a golf weekend but not sure I could handle staying there again the way it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We enjoyed everything Tapatio Springs had to offer. The dinning, the great rooms and great decor. I brought my two girls and it was a nice enviorment in the hill country. We will stay there again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 2 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pughugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort

Property: Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Address: 1 Resort Way, Boerne, TX 78006 (Formerly The Resort at Tapatio Springs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Boerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Boerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purchased in April 2011 by Country Music Legend George Strait and long time friend Tom Cusick, The Resort at Tapatio Springs has been completely renovated into the “Jewel of the Hill Country.” Located 30 minutes outside of San Antonio, Texas, the resort sits on 250 acres: 111 guest rooms (each over 400 sq. ft) including 6 suites and 2 luxury suites, 18-hole golf course, full service spa, 3 restaurants and over 15,000 sq. ft of banquet event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Tapatio Springs Hotel Boerne
Tapatio Springs Hotel
Tapatio Springs Resort
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort Boerne, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing