We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all of our worldly travels has hit a new high at Blancaneaux lodge”
Review of Blancaneaux Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blancaneaux Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbine, Maryland
2 reviews
“all of our worldly travels has hit a new high at Blancaneaux lodge”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My boyfriend and I finally decided to go all out on a vacation, can not believe the experience of Blancaneaux! Even in the rain we loved the beauty Blancaneaux and their staff had to offer. Seeing the chef's garden would inspire any gardener! The peacefullness of the river would put any man to sleep. What wonderful food and beverages! You are forced to enjoy the wonders of the pine forest. We can not wait to retunr again and again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8isalpenglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    71
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
101
236
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

After a long journey, you should be so lucky that this is your destination. Although the accomidations are expensive, it is worth it. The food is reasonably prices and the staff is impecible.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobaccocay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed at Blancaneaux for one night and it was definitely one of our best experiences in Belize. The property is a destination itself. In the evening, we drank wine on their gazebo that overlooks the river, sat in the hotub with the steam rising around us and looked out over the jungle, and in the morning, enjoyed the fresh coffee (delivered to your room) while watching the exotic birds.

Whlie it is an exquisite hotel, I loved the fact that the staff were not at all snobby. They understood that our stay was a splurge and helped us to arrange trips that were within our budget. They really do go out of their way to help you out.

Blancaneaux is not cheap but worth every penny you spend.

FYI-- the hotell is kind of out of the way, about an hour from San Ignacio. It is on the road to caracoal, so I recommend staying there before/after a trip to caracoal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutella1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Blancanaeux Lodge for our honeymoon from August 1-6, 2010. We cannot wait to go back! We arrived in Belize City and our transportation was waiting for us. During the 2 hour drive to the lodge, we learned so much about Belize from our driver, Theo. The last 45 minutes are on a rocky dirt road, which is somewhat rough, but a little fun at the same time. During the entire drive, there were no traffic lights and only 1 stop sign! We are from Chicago so this was a very nice change.

We had Cabana #4 which is the honeymoon cabana, but not the Deluxe Honeymoon Cabana with private dive pool. We felt this cabana was ideally placed because we had a great view of the waterfall only a hundred or so feet from our deck. The constant sound of the falls was so soothing, and drowned out any animal noises during the night, mainly bullfrogs. The Cabana was smaller than I anticipated, but we soon grew to love it. It was the perfect size and had everything we needed. We fell in love with the natural soap and bought several bars from the gift shop. The shampoo is stored in little wooden barrels which was pretty neat. The Cabana is dimly lit, but that is because the power is all hydro-electric and they do everything they can to conserve power. During the turn down service they lit 4 candles which was so nice to come back to after our dinners. They always knew when we were eating because we never saw them cleaning our room or doing the turn down, it was just always done when we came back. They do have free Wifi which you can access from some of the cabanas closer to the main lobby. It seems they shut it off late at night, probably to conserve power, and turn it back on again in the morning.

The service was incredible. They always greeted us by our first names and would go out of their way to accommodate us, without being overbearing. My wife had a slight fever on our last day and they made some tea with fresh mint leaves for her and brought it to the room. Everyone was very friendly, always had a smile and always said hello. As part of our honeymoon package, we got to choose a location for a romantic dinner. We chose the small cabana right on the edge of the creek, the one pictured on the website. This dinner was amazing! They picked fresh flowers of vibrant oranges, pinks and reds, and set them up on the table and deck. They lit over a dozen votive candles on the ground and laid out flower petals in the shape of a heart. There is a small beach area around the deck in which they lit three tiki torches to keep the mosquitoes away. It was really amazing and the bugs didn't bother us at all.

Our first meal was lunch after we arrived. I was a bit surprised as the portions were smaller than I expected and the flavor was a little bland compared to Chicago food. That evening for dinner we found the same thing to be true. These meals were very good but lacked that extra "zing" that we were used to. Over the next day or so we realized how much we loved the food. It just took a little time to realize what it was all about. Almost everything except the meat is grown onsite and is picked hours or minutes before being prepared. They don't take beef and throw on some A1, or pour some overpowering sauce on the pork like we do back home. It's about tasting the freshness and natural ingredients that really make these meals special. We truly looked forward to each and every meal. We also found that we could eat a salad, our entre, and split a dessert and not feel full or tired afterward, a welcome treat from the greasy food back home. When we arrived back home, we didn't want to eat anything we had in the house, it just wasn't up to par with the food we had at the lodge.

The grounds are kept up very well. You are surrounded by lush vegetation everywhere and the bright colored flowers were magnificent. The pool is small but plenty adequate for the small amount of guests at the lodge. We never saw more than two people in the pool at any one time. The pool was a little cool, but I'm not sure if it's heated or not. The spa pool was warmer. It is heated with the extra electricity from the hydro-electric station down the creek. As I read in another review here, I would recommend walking the grounds to see the other cabanas, the horse stables and the vegetable, herb and flower gardens. There is a fence around the garden, but we were welcomed in for a closer look. It's such a peaceful place. You never heard car doors slam, phones ringing, airplanes, etc., just the sounds of nature.

We got the honeymoon package which included the full day Rio Fio Cave/Caracol/Rio on Pools excursion, the half day Barton Creek Cave excursion, and a horseback ride to Big Rock Falls. Our first day we did the hike to Big Rock Falls. The falls were beautiful and we swam under the waterfall. The water was so clear. The "bag lunch" was actually a fully loaded backpack complete with tablecloth, silverware, ice, water bottles, garbage bag, towels and individual containers of our lunch choice and chips and fresh salsa. It made for an incredible lunch by the falls. The hike itself offered great views of the creek and mountains. We were more than half way and starting to feel the workout, when it started raining. It poured for less than a minute and the sun was back out. It was so refreshing. The following day we went to the Rio Frio Cave which was pretty cool. It's in the rain forest and it was drizzling a bit which helped round out the experience. After that was a 30-45 minute drive to Caracol. Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. We got to climb to the top of the highest ruin which was really amazing. At the top we had a 360 degree view of the surrounding mountains and rain forest. It even drizzled a bit after we reached the top which was refreshing after the climb. The guide brought the lunch we chose prior to leaving and set everything up for us on a picnic table which was very nice. On the way back we stopped at Rio on Pools, which is a series of waterfalls and rapids to swim in. The next day we went to Barton Creek Cave. This was our favorite! You go about a mile into a dead end cave. It's pitch black but the guide has spot lights in the canoe. It's absolutely silent and you can hear every drop of water from the stalactites. I took video of the entire cave which turned out rather well. Our guide, Theo, has been going through the cave for over forty years and had an incredible amount of knowledge about the cave and how the Mayan's used it. Since we already hiked to Big Rock Falls, we decided to pay an extra $20 to upgrade our horseback excursion to the sunrise horseback ride to the rain forest. This was a lot of fun and allowed us to see more of the Pine Forest and Rain Forest.

As far as bugs go, it wasn't as bad as I anticipated. I was ok with 30% deet, but my wife liked the 95% better. Be sure to carry some with you on excursions and reapply every few hours. I used the 30% lotion and spray which worked well. Mosquitoes were the worst at Caracol, but you're in the heart of the rain forest so it's to be expected. We had about three little lizards in our cabana, maybe around 4-5 inches long. They never bothered us and would eat some of the smaller insects such as moths. There is a mosquito net over the bed and we never had any issues getting bit at night.

Rain was a concern for us because August is the start of the rainy season. It rained starting around midnight the second night and stopped around 10am the next morning. We had a two hour drive for our excursion so it didn't impact us at all. It drizzled maybe 2 more times during the week. The weather was perfect, around 80 during the day and 70 at night. There were always some clouds in the sky so it never felt too hot or uncomfortable. The summer is the slower season so the cabanas were only about half occupied. This means probably a total of around 20 guests. We felt like we had the place to ourselves because everyone is always doing their excursions and activities so we generally only saw people during meals. At most we had two other couples dining at the same time. It was like our own private getaway. We would not change anything about our stay. If we ever go back we will set aside a day to see the city where many of the locals live, San Ignacio.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We loved our stay at Blancaneaux, we were very well looked after and very comfortable in our beautiful cabin overlooking the river and little waterfall. It was all wood with a thatched roof, a gorgeous primitive carved jaguar I wanted to take home with me, and other decorative bits, a large veranda looking down to the river and also an insect screened sitting area inside which has the same view. The bedroom was behind that with no dividing wall and no curtain, which made me feel a little exposed at night with the light on as we could clearly see the next door cabin. No glass anywhere, just insect screens, and in February it did get quite chilly at night but we were cosy and snug in the comfortable bed with with 2 duvets and soft pillows. Candles were lit in the room at night when we went back after dinner. A good laundry service which came back the same day, reasonable prices, ironing extra. All power is provided by thier own hydro electricity plant further down the river, which is very admirable. Hence no a/c, tvs etc. Free internet. A well tended and well stocked vegetable garden, but sadly the produce is not put to best use by the chefs. We found the food in the Italian restaurant very dull and erratic in quality - sometimes good, sometimes awful. Starters were basically variations on salad, a few boring pizzas, a few boring pastas, a few boring meat and fish dishes. They really need to make the menu more imaginative and the food better if they want to go for perfection. Because it was perfect in all other ways. The wine from Francis Ford Coppola's vineyard was outstanding and that helped cheer up meals. The Guatemalan restaurant was only open one evening of our stay. It is a set meal with dishes selected from the menu at La Lanca where we had already stayed. The trip to Caracol was wonderful - stunning ruins, an excellent guide and a much better picnic lunch than that provided by La Lancha when we went to Tikal. Vehicles still have to go in a convoy with a military escort which leaves at a particular spot at 9.30 and departs Caracol at 2.00. The road is awful as others have said, and if seeing Caracol is a priority (which it was for us) then I wouldn't want to be staying any further away than Blancaneaux.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My husband and I traveled to Belize for our honeymoon in October 2009. We split up our stay - 1/2 the time in the rainforest/mountains, and half in Ambergris Caye. Everything about Blancaneaux was completely amazing - very private, very secluded, and very relaxing.
The driver that picked us up at the airport was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The staff at the resort, including Margie, the woman who keeps the stables, were polite, thoughtful and always smiling. We chose a two-bedroom villa - and were put in a villa located directly in front of the Privassion River. The villas are very spacious, and the open-air living room with kitchenette was the best part of the villas. You could sleep on the hammock, outside, but in your living room, while listening to the river and watching the wildlife.
All of the tours we went on were adventures - and we loved every single one. Caracol - MUST GO - ancient Mayan ruins. We went horseback riding through the rainforest, and on our own, we hiked to Big Rock Falls. A trip to Barton Creek Cave will never be forgotten. The couples Thai massage we received was the best massage we've ever had. The food at the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast every morning was delicious. Their coffee is amazing. I loved that they grow all of their fruits and vegetables on-site. We hope to return to Blancaneaux one day!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed at Blancaneaux the second leg of our trip and wished we had spent the whole time there. The setting is like Shangri-la with a river and waterfall running right below our villa. The service was fantastic and everyone from Ryan the concierge to Jorge the tour guide to the restaurant and front desk staff were so friendly, kowlegeable and eager to help. We found there was plenty to do in the surrounding area, but also enjoyed just hanging out at the lodge and swimming in the river. No TV meant lots of together time as a family and not only did our teenagers not complain, they later said they really enjoyed it. The food is also fantastic as we are fussy about our Italian and found La Montagna Restaurant to be first-rate with an excellent wine list. I highly recommend Blancaneaux and we definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
19.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
375 reviews
9.2 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blancaneaux Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blancaneaux Lodge

Property: Blancaneaux Lodge
Address: Central Farm | Cayo District, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blancaneaux Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the early 1980s, Francis Ford Coppola visited Belize, immediately fell in love with the location, and purchased the abandoned Blancaneaux Lodge. For more than a decade the resort was used as a family retreat before Francis opened his tropical paradise to the public in 1993. Tucked away in a pocket of the Maya Mountains, Blancaneaux Lodge is a 20-room luxury resort where waterfalls tumble into turquoise pools above the jungle canopy. Its remote mountain setting makes it a perfect place to relax, rejuvenate and enjoy life’s simple pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blancaneaux Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blancaneaux Hotel San Ignacio
Blancaneaux San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing