We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beyond!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blancaneaux Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blancaneaux Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We just spent a week at Blancaneaux and it was one of the best trips I've ever had. We stayed in the FFC villa and took advantage of all of the excursions we could fit in. We didn't get to do ATM cave but will next time. The resort itself is immaculately maintained and gorgeously landscaped. The staff is fantastic. We were there long enough get to know the staff a bit and we really enjoyed them all. In fact, Blancaneaux wouldn't be what it is without the folks they have working there. It's a really relaxed atmosphere (most people wearing shorts and tank tops to meals) with an exceptional staff. We weren't there in high season and only shared the pool once and the hot pool once even though we were in them every day. It was the most exciting, relaxing, romantic vacation I've had (certainly up there with Fiji). We are particularly interested in Mayan sights, so it was especially perfect for us. The ONLY less than perfect mark would be the food. The price of the food is a bit off. I purchased a package, so we got appetizer, main, and dessert with lunch and dinner (A LOT of food). I was taking note of the menu prices during our stay, though, and I really think after all of the reviews they should reconsider their offerings/prices. We had a night of Belize fare and a Guatamalan night. The food those nights was the best we had and I'm glad they've considered ditching the Italian on some nights. I think they realize they are your only choice for food and take advantage of it a bit.
That being said, the food wouldn't deter my returning a bit. I would/WILL be going back. Everything else was so wonderful you couldn't keep me away. However, how nice would it be to go there and have the food live up to the rest of the resort?
We did Barton Creek Cave (spectacular, ask for Theodore), horseback ride to Big Rock Falls (had a BLAST with Melvin), Caracol, Rio on Pools, rode bikes to Five Sisters (which seemed really run down and the river is WAY below the property) and the falls, had a romantic dinner by the river, swam, napped, ate, drank.
We went in one of the luxury cabanas and it was very nice. All of the rooms seemed great. When people stress bring the DEET there's a reason. I don't ever get bothered by mosquitoes, but the no-see-ums left whelps that are still itching me now.
Blncnx. is fantastic for many reasons: staff, property, vibe.....and I can't review without mentioning the beauty of not hearing other travelers "OmG"ding the bugs, complaining about this or that. We didn't realize how perfectly isolated we'd been until we were surrounded by people in the Belize airport, all recounting their trips. The other travelers we met at Blancaneaux seemed ready for the adventure, happy about the pampering, and not scared of some sweat, dirt, and insects.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed nice, especially the riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyplav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    70
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
228
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Although Blancaneaux is hard to get to, it is well worth it. The setting for this hotel is a nice as any hotel we have stayed at in the world. The food was top notch and some of the best in Belize. We went horse back riding with Francisco. My wife is very experienced with horse and I am not so experienced. Francisco allowed her to ride ahead and by the end of the ride all 3 of us were cantering our horses through the pine forest and the rain forest!

The only complaint we had was that the pool and hot tub were closed for repairs when we were there. This place is not cheap, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Small eco chic lodge in the Mountain Pine Ridge area of Belize. Beautiful location on the Privasson River. The food fresh from the organic garden was delicious. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Tours and guides were also excellent. Day trips to Caracol and Barton Creek are well worht it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

This place was out of this world. We've never experienced better customer service, food was outstanding, and rooms were really special and unique. We spent 3 nights here in a week-long Belize vacation where we booked the mountain-beach package with the Francis Ford Coppola hotels. While Blancaneaux was extremely tough to get to (over an hour riding in a kia van with blown out shocks on dirt roads that had massive, nonstop ruts and bumps that were at times up to 3 ft deep, we arrived very sick and exhausted from the ride) we wished we had spent more time at the actual resort. It was just lovely. A true slice of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdog1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Like everyone else, I spent a lot of time researching hotels and where to stay when booking our trip to Belize. Based on the reviews, we decided to splurge on a stay at Blancaneaux Lodge. And, boy was it worth it. We traveled with our 11 yr old daughter and 8 yr old son. Unfortunately, the booking company had double booked our room and only had more expensive villas available. While they were initially reluctant to upgrade us for free, they did. We ended up staying in the Enchanted Cottage. (talk about an upgrade!) It's very separated from the rest of the resort and you get your own golf cart to travel to and fro, and it has its own pool. The kids loved it!! It's a very nice little villa, complete with its own small kitchen and covered porch. Of course, there's no place to shop for food nearby, so we really didn't use the kitchen. However, there is no A/C at the resort, and the days we were there were very hot. The Cottage did not cool down much at night, so it was a little hard to sleep on these hot nights. (but, the beds were incredibly comfortable!)

The grounds throughout the entire property were amazing. There's a nice-sized pool that seemed to be empty nearly every time we were there. They serve food/drinks there but sometimes the bar at the restaurant doesn't always check the pool, so you have to go up and tell them you are there. But, the front desk tries really hard to remember everyone's name and are super friendly and helpful.

We did nearly every excursion through the hotel and were happy with them all. All of the guides are very knowledgable and seem to genuinely want to share their knowledge and pride with you. I highly recommend the Barton Cave tour, horseback ride to the Big Rock Falls, and the Caracol Mayan ruins. You definitely need to bring some hiking boots and we did experience bug bites, so bring your bug spray!! As mentioned by a previous poster, all of the roads around the resort are incredibly rough. They are just dirt, rocky roads and are quite bumpy and rough! It's a little exhausting after a while, but makes you appreciate your destination even more.

Lastly, the food at the restaurant was very good. The kids love Italian food, so it was easy for them to pick something out. However, the food is way overpriced. It's more expensive than some of the best Tom Douglas restaurants in Seattle (where we are from). You do feel a bit taken advantage of, since there really aren't any other options! Or, maybe they assume if you can afford to stay there, you can afford to spend more money on food.

Overall, I would highly recommend Blancaneaux Lodge and would not hesitate to go there again. In fact, we went to Placencia afterwards to get our beach experience, but decided not to stay at Turtle Inn (primarily to save some money). We felt so spoiled by Blancaneaux, that we really wished we spent the extra money on Turtle Inn. (we drove by it numerous times and it looks amazing!)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We loved Blancaneaux Lodge.
A few tips:
- Ask for your wake up call with coffee or tea service =) it free.
- Continental breakfast is free. And you can ask the night before for it to be packed for your tour =). And its much better than American style continental.
-Its cold at night and in the morning- you're on a mountain. For turn-down service they switch the blanket to a down comforter.
-If you do the hike on the property to Big Rock Falls you should be an experienced hiker or very athletic! You can go the short way if you're not up for the adventure by walking, bicycle, or horse. And when your return look for the hotel signs don't just turn at road. Do NOT dive in directly under the water fall. Request a radio (but if you have a radio and you go the long way, be prepared for the challenge of walking across the river on boulders or create a floating device you can swim across with).
-The massage is amazing -get one its worth it.
- If you want to eat somewhere else talk to your tour guide or the tour owner and eat out after a tour. It cost at least $100 to get off the mountain otherwise.
-Bring your MP3 player if you want any other background noise besides the river (they have a docking station).
- Plan your excursions before you come. I recommend Cayo Adventure Tours - they cost less than the hotel including airport transportation.
- Bring hiking boots and extra socks.
- When it rains you are stuck on the property. Bring a board game or a book. (the hotel has a few games)
- Make reservations at least one night at the Guatemalan restaurant on the property.
- The pool is cold. But there is a small warm pool to float around in.
- Be prepared to hike around the hotel- up and down several elevations (good warm up before Tikal)
- On a slow day - take a tour of the garden. One of the workers at the garden will give you a brief tour.
- When its cool at night sit by the fire place (if its not lit feel free to ask).
- Spend some time at the bar there will be other travelers there.

Its a great relaxing place with access to tons of adventure. A tropical oasis.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Getting2KnowTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Well worth the long and bumpy road (we would recommend, if feasible, considering chartered air travel from Belize City to avoid this leg of the trip!), Blancaneaux is an absolute escape from reality. The Pine Ridge Reserve is pristine and relatively undeveloped and on-site hiking and the lodge's subtle landscaping preserve the effect of a forest hideaway. As with most locations of this type - the staff, in particular the knowledgeable and friendly guides, make the experience. The guides were (for the most part) extremely well versed in local history as well as the natural surroundings. Food at the lodge was good but not great - we had expected a bit more from a Coppola property. The cabana was just beautiful (we chose the honeymoon cabana, but there were several in the vicinity that appeared as nice, with similar views) and in mid-April we really had zero mosquito problems. Every morning coffee was brought to our door, to be enjoyed with a sprawling view of the reserve.

We participated in the Jaguar Trek (a guided, headlamp-lit night walk through the jungle in search of wildlife), the trip to Caracol (sprawling, unbelievable Mayan site), as well as some activities not offered by (but arranged and booked by) the lodge: ziplining and the unforgettable trek to actun tunichil muknal. If you are in decent shape and have any interest in Mayan (or geological, for that matter) history, GO TO ATM. DO NOT MISS OUT. It is a long and strenuous day but you will be rewarded for your efforts with skeletal remains and intact artifacts just inches from your step. Wear waterproof shoes and bring a camera - the guide can hold it for you in a waterproof pack.

Some tips for those heading to Blancaneaux: 1) when booking experiences not affiliated with the hotel, ask for a taxi instead of a guide to escort you to the location. The cost difference is staggering (we got the 'default' of a guide escort to the zipline facility, which cost more than the zipline tickets!). 2) prepare for rough roads to and from the lodge - and I mean rough! If you get carsick or don't like your ears rattling, consider chartering a flight from Belize City.

All in all, a once in a lifetime escape!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika_Mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
2.1 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.2 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blancaneaux Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blancaneaux Lodge

Property: Blancaneaux Lodge
Address: Central Farm | Cayo District, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blancaneaux Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the early 1980s, Francis Ford Coppola visited Belize, immediately fell in love with the location, and purchased the abandoned Blancaneaux Lodge. For more than a decade the resort was used as a family retreat before Francis opened his tropical paradise to the public in 1993. Tucked away in a pocket of the Maya Mountains, Blancaneaux Lodge is a 20-room luxury resort where waterfalls tumble into turquoise pools above the jungle canopy. Its remote mountain setting makes it a perfect place to relax, rejuvenate and enjoy life’s simple pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your Blancaneaux Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blancaneaux Hotel San Ignacio
Blancaneaux San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing