We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accolade - unusual praise”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marlow, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Accolade - unusual praise”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have used Trip Adviser for some years but never felt sufficiently enthusiaistic about a hotel to enter a review. Hidden Valley Inn is wonderful - and this from a middle-aged British accountant not given to overstatement! The service beat all the (many) English country house hotels I have stayed in. The grounds of over 7,000 acres contain jungle walks and several great waterfalls. So few guests at any one time that you can have a jungle pool beneath a waterfall all to yourself. The food is substantial, varied and of high quality. Good pool and jacuzzi. Rooms are large, well appointed. I cannot praise the staff highly enough - polite, attentive but friendly and relaxed. Nothing is too much trouble and things are acted upon immediately. Two negatives - road to San Ignacio and Caracol is quite bumpy and uncomfortable to travel (1.5 hours) and the wine a bit overpriced ($40 Jan 2012). I have visited over 50 countries and stayed in hundreds of hotels. This was one of few that I will actively try to go back to. Wonderful!

Room Tip: We and friends had two adjacent rooms with a large outside common area (mosquito netted). These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Dave S

Your review and comments of Hidden Valley Inn is refreshing and humbling. We are grateful and proud that we could be measured against English country establishments.
The unpaved and bumpy roads are beyond our control, but we have hope that it will be rectified in the near future.
We await your return and will ensure that the wine is competitively priced.

Kind Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
228
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Service at Buckingham Palace surely has nothing over on Hidden Valley Inn!!!

Upon my arrival, I was greeted outside the door and welcomed inside to delicious, freshly made Lemon Grass Tea and a hand massage during the Welcome. I knew then and there this was going to be a GREAT visit!

The rooms are AMAZING! Very clean, comfortable, and welcoming.

Then there's the food!!! Once again, AMAZING! Five star dishes served at every meal. Even the picnic lunches are Totally Delish! (If you're not hungry enough for the 4 course meal, they now offer a Light Menu.)

If you're a Bird Watcher, you will love HVI! The HVI Guides can identify the birds and even mimic their sounds!

And I must give special recognition to the beautiful manicured grounds and the Stunning Waterfalls! If you adore nature, this is the resort for you! Even with the bumpy, long drive from the airport, HVI is definitely worth the drive/ride. (If feasible, take a flight to the resort's airstrip.)

I can honestly say that of the many resorts I have stayed throughout the years, HVI's hospitality and accommodations outperforms and outclasses any and all!


  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeberBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

we started our 10 day trip in belize at the hidden valley inn and it was a great way to kick off our vacation! everyone was so helpful and wonderful. they helped us plan all of our day trips from the hotel, providing excellent service the entire time we were there, we felt so well taken care of [i honestly felt as if sometimes they were reading my mind, and i didn't even have to ask]! the private waterfalls are amazing and you can spend an entire day hiking to all of them. the rooms were luxurious and private, and the food was DELICIOUS! the only downside to getting to all of the hotels in this area is the road. one of the locals told us that they call it the "free massage road" because it's so bumpy, you definitely need a 4x4 if it's been raining.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are great! they all have fireplaces. i guess some of them have outdoor showers, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anticipatingadventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

When we found this place online, we only had a vague idea of what to expect. The road from San Ignacio to the inn is bad, but once you get there you don't want to leave. There is a main house which looks like a little chalet, with some common areas and a restaurant. You can see the garden through the huge windows. We stayed in one of several small houses. It was very elegant and had a fireplace which was cleaned and set for use every day. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant offered a great menu (you must try the French toast with bananas!). In addition to all this, we realized that the property was huge and had many hiking trails. The Tiger Creek trail was our favorite. We spent at the Hidden Valley Inn only 4 days, but we could easily stay longer and make it our only Belizian vacation destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
"Gem in the Jungle"

When you mining for gem stones, you never know what you may find, diamonds....., ruby's..... .....quartz....., thank you for taking the "bad" road to Hidden Valley Inn and discovering a " Gem in the Jungle", we hope, when you will return to Belize in the near future the roads will be in a better condition.

Warm Regards

Amon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hidden Valley is a true gem on many levels: beautiful scenery, all the creature comforts one could want, a lovingly maintained network of trails, food we're still raving about, and most of all a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. After a long exhausting day and an adventurous drive along bumpy roads in the dark, my husband and I were grateful for the warm hospitality of Hidden Valley. The staff greeted us like long-lost friends, took us to our super-cozy cottage, and served us a delightful dinner. We are ultramarathoners, and we were looking forward to explore the grounds. Misael at the front desk was extremely helpful, recommending trails, handing out maps, and making sure we had a two-way radio. We spent a day and a half running on the well-marked, spectacular trail network, through pine forest and rain forest, crossing streams on wooden bridges. We took several breaks to enjoy beautiful views and cool off under waterfalls. We only saw one other pair of hikers the entire time, and when we came back to the Inn, there was just enough time to jump into the hot tub to soothe our aching muscles before a delicious dinner. There are still many trails waiting to be explored, and we're already planning to return. I only wish we could make this a destination trail race -- if there was an inaugural Hidden Valley 50-miler we'd start training for it immediately!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
" Trailrunners Heaven"

One of our Marketing points is "....Hidden Valley Inn's ...90 miles of trails and roads....", we are thrilled that you utilized (ran) the trail system.

We will certainly be taking your consideration and challenge to setting up an inaugural 50 mile trail race, start training......we will be in touch.

Warm Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

After a 1.5 hour drive over unimproved roads, travelers are not quite ready for the prize that awaits them. A luxury resort in the jungle! Fine dining, luxuriously appointed rooms, a fireplace set and ready every day and attentive staff make this a fantastic find. Add a swimming pool and hot tub, and you'll wonder why you would ever leave.
I led two separate bird watching groups who stayed at Hidden Valley Inn and the groups were accommodated with no difficulty.
The guides were friendly and knowledgeable and we enjoyed several field trips away from the lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauriefoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We would be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary in Belize, and after much research decided on HVI. First we liked the fact that they had their own airstrip, just 15 min from the property! We were greeted that day and every day after that by Elmer, who makes sure your entire trip is planned. Our 1 bedroom cabin was cozy with a fireplace if we chose to have one. They had decorated our bed with flower petals wishing us a Happy Anniversay...nice touch!! We did reserve Secret Falls for the private luncheon...a must!!! So beautiful, as were many of the hiking trails on the property. Meals are fantastic..many thanks to Anthony, Bruce, Iris, Walter and of course, Elmer. The staff is top notch. Also, their guides for the excursions are so knowledgeable and take pride in their country.
In all, we were so impressed with the resort (we were the only guests for the first 2 days....low season--the best time to travel)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
427 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
615 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
243 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
624 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing