We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great food, people, trails. Rick our guide got me hooked on birding. He was awesome. Butterfly falls and private waterfall day is a must. Caracol, Barton creek and secret pools all great. Non touristy and remote. We paired with a few days diving in placencia and it was a great combo. Don't go in peak summer, very hot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear 91528

We love your review: "short and sweet" We hope you will return someday.

Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
226
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hidden Valley Inn so much. My favorite things about the Inn are the setting and the staff. All the staff we interacted with were very friendly and went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our regular estate room was not anything overly fancy but spacious and comfortable with a fireplace, which we did not use. The Inn property is amazing. The extensive hiking trails are a big plus for anyone who enjoys serious hiking. We did a package that included all our meals and several activities and were glad we did. Every meal we ate at the Inn was excellent with plenty of options for my husband who is a picky eater. Freddy was our guide for every guided activity we did while at Hidden Valley and we really enjoyed getting to know him and appreciated his expansive knowledge of birds, wildlife, the area and local history. The activities went on were Barton Creek Cave Tour, a guided tour of the property, a waterfall lunch at Secret Pools, and the Caracol Mayan Ruins tour. All were fantastic, especially Caracol, and would recommend all of them. Freddy as our guide really made each tour/activity very enjoyable from beginning to end. We also spent time just hiking on our own on the property. We saw so many waterfalls while hiking we lost count. We hope to return sometime as this is a really special place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbie_avl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear viajero_heyer

Thank you for the lovely comments and encouraging review of Hidden Valley Inn. Without people like Freddy to showcase our product we will not succeed.
We will be waiting to welcome you back to this "special place"

Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Hidden Valley was our first stop on our Belize holiday. Oscar was waiting patiently for us to arrive after our original flight from Miami had been cancelled and we had to arrive via El Salvador. Unfortunately only 1 of our 3 suitcases made it but Oscar stopped off on the drive to the lodge at San Ignacio and my husband was able to buy a few essential items of clothing. When we arrived Misael gave us a very friendly welcome and the wonderful hand massage helped my daughter to forget that she had no clothes to wear! Our room was one of the larger bungalows with it's own screened terrace with a very comfortable hammock. We also had a great outdoor shower which was very refreshing. By some miracle our 2 missing cases turned up at reception the next afternoon.

We spent our time at Hidden Valley exploring many of the wonderful marked trails and one day took the mountain bikes that are available to do the trail to Butterfly Falls which was a magical place for a swim. On our last day Oscar took us on a half day tour to visit some of the lookouts we had not managed to get to and also took us on a lovely trail. He is a great guide and we highly recommend him.

The day we left Rick was our driver and he took us to the Mayan ruins at Xunantunich on our way to the next lodge we were visiting. This was a really great trip and Rick was just full of good information and great fun to be with.

The accommodation, food and service were all excellent. The grounds are lovely and I would highly recommend a visit to Hidden Valley

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSwissFamilyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear TheSwissFamilyF

We are humbled by your review of Hidden Valley Inn. We are proud of Oscar, Rick and all the staff behind the scenes that made your stay with us one to remember. We hope you will visit Belize and Hidden Valley Inn again.

Kind Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilibird
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hard to believe a place like this exists. Every room is a private bungalow with fireplace. Food and service were excellent. The best part is exploring the 7000 acres of magical forest with waterfalls, wildlife and amazing scenery. We saw the local Mayan attractions but pent most of our time exploring the beautiful surroundings. Very friendly people. Nice and quiet.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHVI, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Lilibird

Thank you for the beautiful review of Hidden Valley Inn, we hope you will return in the near future.

Warm Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My family and I loved this place. Excellent service beginning with the personal greeting every time we came back to the hotel, to the initial cool drink and hand massage upon arrival. The rooms were lovely and clean as were the restaurant and bar - actually all the public rooms. There's no phone or TV so its very quiet at night. A variety of birds and insect noises awakens you just in time for a very good breakfast filled with varieties of fruit, fruit juices, home made treats and delicious Belizian coffee grown on site. The hiking in the area was well marked and well supervised. All hikers receive a walkie talkie and are quizzed about their water supplies and sunscreen usage. This is after all a pretty remote location where jaguar roam at night, and we did see a snake sunning itself in the middle of the trail. The guides, Freddy in particular, were incredibly knowledgeable about every subject we asked them about and were genuinely enthusiastic about their jobs. Freddy treated us to a sighting of a rare Stygian Owl. Each night guests gather at the well appointed bar to share their experiences of the day over a cold Belikan or good glass of wine and tasty hors d' oeuvres. The Inn could use a better spa set up as having the massage table in the common computer room is not relaxing. Well worth the long drive in but a short plane hop would be much more luxurious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ochw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear ochw

Thank you for the review and lovely comments of the team at Hidden Valley Inn.
We are building a Spa separate from the Main Building, this way our guests will have the tranquility they deserve.
Hidden Valley Inn has a registered private airstrip and helicopter pad, for chartered flights from Belize City International Airport or any other destination in Belize.
We hope you next visit to Belize; you will take the opportunity to charter a flight to Hidden Valley Inn.
Kind Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

From the moment we were picked up at the Belmopan Airport by Freddy and Walter we were treated like royalty. The 90 minute drive to Hidden Valley did include a stretch of bumpy dirt road, although it wasn't nearly as bad as we were prepared for and these guys are the best dirt road drivers we have ever had. Eight of our party were in a van with two wheel drive and Freddy knew the road so well he missed all but the most minor bumps.

When we arrived at the front door of Hidden Valley, we were greeted with cool, refreshing wash cloths and a complimentary glass of delicious lemmongrass ice tea. We were welcomed by the general manager, Amon and his wife Natasha along with Raul, the front desk manager. We were definitely treated like VIP's, not only at arrival, but throughout our stay. After a tasty lunch, we were shown to our tropically furnished cabañas with gorgeous flowers adorning the beds. Two couples of our group chose the estate suites leaving the rest of us totally jealous of their unique outdoor waterfall showers, but each of us had no complaints about our wonderfully decorated rooms. If you enjoy sleeping to no other sounds than what nature supplies on a very comfortable bed, you will love these cabañas.

The next day we chose the Caracol ruins excursion with a stop at the Rio Frio Caves on the way down and a stop at Rio On Pools on the return. We were happy to see that Freddy was our guide. He is nothing short of amazing both from his gregarious personality and his extensive knowledge of everything in the area, especially the Maya culture and the Caracol ruins. One of the nice things about Hidden Valley is that it breaks up the dirt road drive to Caracol. Instead of being 3+ hours from other resorts, it was only an hour and a half on a newly grated road with a break at the caves.

We returned to Hidden Valley by 4 pm with plenty of time to get some pool time, have a cocktail, and watch the beautiful sunset. Another incredible day in paradise. Trust me, you will love Hidden Valley Inn. In closing let me just say that if you never leave the property, you'll have a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfool77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear travelingfool77

We are humbled by your review and beautiful comments of our “home” Hidden Valley Inn.
We hope you will return in the near future.
Thank you
Warm Regards
Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have read the many glowing reviews of this place, and to an extent I can see what they are talking about. It's a very nice lodge in a remote place with good food and drink and some nice touches. Wildlife is good and the local guides know where to find such local specialities as Orange-breasted Falcon, Tody Motmot and so on. So far, so good.

But this place claims a great deal more, and charges for it - so it should be excellent. It isn't. I have a number of issues that let down the place, and some could be easily fixed. Firstly, if you are after pristine forest, then don't go here. The once-extensive pine forest around the lodge has been almost totally destroyed by a combination of beetle infestation and fires. There are good pieces of habitat on the estate, but not around the lodge, which has a bit of a blasted-heath feel to it. This isn't helped by the very poor state of the lodge grounds. The access road is a disaster - if you don't have a 4WD, expect a long and slow journey.

Then we come to the lodge itself. Nice central area with comfy chairs etc. But the individual rooms are bungalows that lack much charm - they are rather dark and pokey. Watch out for the scorpions - I had one under my towel in the en suite.

My principle problem, however, was with the service. Meals were unbelievably slow, even when ordered in advance. One lunch took two hours. Then the general front of house service was so bad in bordered on incompetent - whenever our group arrived back from a trip we constantly had problems with there being no one around - so you couldn't get room keys, ask for the coffee to be filled up (always empty) and so on. Several times we had to rummage around in the kitchen for milk. When challenged the twit on the front desk tried to laugh it off. Not what I expect from a high-end resort. On our last morning, staff training took precedence over serving us lunch.

I agree with much of what others have said - a beautiful place if approached correctly. But this is supposed to be top of the range. If they want that billing, and the prices to match, they need to sort out what good service actually means.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Steve V
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.
All reviews, whether negative or positive are welcome, to ensure we continuously improve our product and service.
We appreciate the comments and critique and will be implementing reforms to mend the damage that has being done.
We are not a high-end resort yet, but are striving to reach that threshold, and hope to welcome you back when we are.
Kind Regards

Amon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
423 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
602 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
276 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing