We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed at Hidden Valley and loved it. We were on our honeymoon and were looking for a balance between luxury and adventure. Hidden Valley was perfect. We flew into Belize City and rented a vehicle, which we highly recommend. The drive to Hidden Valley took about 2.5 hours and about an hour of it is on a bumpy dirt road. It's located on a private reserve and you have tons of property to explore. There are miles of hikes and bike rides available. The best is a hike that follows a creek feed by a natural spring. The creek is filled with beautiful waterfalls that you can swim in. They offer a private waterfall rental for a day, but we found there were so few people we had every waterfall to ourselves. There are multiple overlooks viewing the jungle and multiple waterfalls that you can drive to (if don't have own vehicle may need a tour) or you can bike with the complementary bikes. Biking's not for the faint of heart though, we had a blast, but the roads are so bumpy and the bikes have no suspension that if you don't have a sense of humor you may not enjoy it.
The Inn had great food, but their dinners resemble a four course meal. We rarely eat at fancy restaurants and by the end of our 4 night stay we were slightly impatient with the formality of dinner. If you're similar to us i'd recommend maybe stopping at a store before you get to the dirt road and purchasing some snacks to mix it up a little. The bartender Tito was wonderful. He made delicious drinks and was so helpful in answering our questions about Belize.
We were also able to easily drive to Caracol to visit the ruins. We did this in our own vehicle and didn't go on a guided trip. This was the one trip we wished we would have done a guided tour because we could visit the ruins, but didn't know very much about the history. Hidden Valley has wonderful guides that give great tours.
We loved our trip and hope all of you will too!!

p.s. remember the bug spray

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
221
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have visited Belize 22 times and know the country fairly well. And off the top I have to confess my interest is wildlife. Hidden Valley Inn has exquisite accommodations - only 12 cabins, beautifully furnished, all with a fireplace - you might think that unnecessary in tropical Belize, but in the Mountain Pine Ridge habitat, the nights can be cool and a fireplace just the right touch to make a perfect evening evening better. I can't say enough about the quality of the food and its presentation and the staff could not be better - friendly, caring and efficient. But i have to return to my primary interest - wildlife. The large Hidden Valley Inn property, to which guests have complete access, is great wildlife habitat. And combined with the help and assistance from staff, it is very accessible. I can honestly say I had what was one of my best days of biriding ever, of all my days in Belize, on my most recent visit to Hidden Valley (March, 2013). With the help of master guide Fredy Pineda my day was packed from sunrise to sunset with birds, pausing only to return to the Inn for terrific meals. Highlights of that day included close views of a pair of Orange-breasted Falcons, Plumbeous Kite, displaying Red-capped Manakin and a male Lovely Cotinga - any birder will agree you can't beat that. Thanks Fredy and thanks Hidden Valley Inn! There are a lot of great places to stay in Belize and I have had the good fortune to stay at a number of them. Hidden Valley Inn is in the very select group of the best Belize has to offer in both accommodations and wildlife.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILTON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I travelled here with a friend last August and absolutely loved it. After the long trip from the airport we arrived to staff that treated us with warmth and humility. They would go out of their way to take care of our every need. We took an amazing trip to the pyramids and Freddy was such a delightful guide. Lenny always had a smile and impeccable service. The landscape is so breathtaking and the food delicious. The hotel is a bit older and maybe less refined but still quite comfortable rooms. They do not have air conditioning yet even in August we were comfortable. Definitely want to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Hidden Valley Inn is paradise on earth! The moment you are picked up by the staff you are transported into a new world: that of comfort, friendliness and relaxation!!! The majestic mountain views, amazing waterfalls (butterfly is my favorite) everything seems taken out of a dream! The food is just awesome and after the meals relaxing at the old English style bar and enjoy a drink prepared by professional mixers is a must. The pool and Jacuzzi surrounded by green vegetation makes you feel you are the owner of huge estate and the place is only for you! certainly that is the way the staff makes you feel. The strategic location of Hidden Valley Inn is its major asset but on top of that you are treated with the most friendly staff i have ever met in any hotel ever! If you go with your loved one, family, just yourself to relax or for work you will surely enjoy Hidden Valley Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Castellanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We made a last minute change of plans for our honeymoon in Belize, and switched from a different hotel to Hidden Valley Inn. Aside from getting married ;-) it was the best decision we ever made. We organised a road transfer the Hidden Valley from Belize City Airport to Hidden Valley. Google maps told us it would be about 2 hours... it was about double that, however that said at no stage did we feel the length of the trip.
We were greeted by Rick at the airport who kept us entertained throughout the journey. As first time visitors to Belize he told us all about the history, the politics, the culture and the tourist sites. Rick pointed out Hattieville Ramada as somewhere we dont want to go, thankfully we stayed well clear of the prison :-) We cannot speak highly enough of Rick, he really did set the standard for Hidden Valley Inn.
When we arrived at Hidden Valley Inn, we were greated by Arleni, who took us through all we needed to know about Hidden Valley and the grounds. As Arleni was talking, Pamela treated us to a wonderful hand massage and I think it was a glass of lemongrass tea. It was wonderful. Arleni showed us to our cottage, I belive it was number 3 hummingbird. Stunning. Beautifully decorated and the bed was amazing... We want a mahogony bed!!!
Every evening we strolled from the cottage under the clear star light skies to the house for dinner. The food was of a very high standard, so much so we brought home a recipe book from Hidden Valley. We've tried to recreate the banana bread and although we are close, its just not the same.
My wife and I had lunch at secret falls, this is a must for a romantic couple. I will say no more as to not spoil the surprise. The trek to Butterfly falls is great but dont do what we did and that is trek up high point trail after getting to Butterfly falls! Thankfully Walter wasnt far and gave us a lift back to the lodge.
We arranged to have transfer from Hidden Valley Inn to Placencia. Walter was our driver and was equally as fantastic as Rick, however as we came out of the mountain regions and back in to phone communications, Arleni rang Walter and told him that we had left our phone behind. This is where Hidden Valley went from being 5 star to being 6,7,8,9,10 star in our estimation. Arleni told us the she could have it couriered to Placencia airport in a couple of days or that if we didnt mind waiting an extra day or two they had another transfer from Hidden Valley to Placencia and they could drop it in to us. 3 days later Arleni and Walter met us at our hotel in Placencia and handed over the phone. We will be forever thankfull to them for that, but given the way our entire trip at Hidden Valley Inn was, this should not have surprised us.

Without a shadow of a doubt, the best hotel we have ever set foot in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and I spent the third week of Jan 2013 at Hidden Valley Inn and loved every minute. Rick picked us up at airport, and we stopped to go cave tubing on the way to HVI! We were so surprised but loved it. One of the best surprises was learning that the HVI guides, Rick or Freddy, would be our guides for almost all the tours on and off property, the main exception being the ATM cave. Rick and Freddy are so knowledgeable about birds, animals, plants, and Mayan/Belizean history that the drives to and from each tour were just as much fun as the tour itself. For example, one day on the way to Barton Creek cave, Rick stopped the van, and we watched 15 or so toucans in the trees. Another day it was parrots. Freddy stopped the van on the way to Caracol to show us a crocodile in the river, then gave us a private tour of Caracol. Do not miss the newer Cascade trail on the property. Truly spectacular with one waterfall after another throughout nearly the entire length of the trail. The accommodations and food were great. We purchased an all-inclusive option which made meals and drinks very easy. Alex had a staff member buy chocolate ice cream one day for my wife's birthday. We used the fireplace in our room every night. The outdoor shower was a real treat. Arleni at the front desk organized all our tours flawlessly. Each and every staff member went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with the enclosed porch and outdoor shower are wonderful, although the porch is divided from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We booked the Mountain to Mangrove package which made everything very easy. They provided good transports to and from our destinations, excellent guides for our adventures, and adequate flexibility to make the trip our own. The staff was excellent and very friendly. We enjoyed our meals and the coffee grown and roasted on site was excellent. Our room was comfortable and had a great outdoor shower and in room coffee maker. There were a variety of places around the inn to sit and relax. As raptor enthusiasts, we especially enjoyed seeing the rare orange-breasted falcon, and a variety of other raptors. The staff took very good care of us, and made sure we were safe, well fed, and happy. This inn is in a very quiet and remote location, perfect to get away from it all. The no seeums were especially bad and did effect the quality of our outdoor experiences so carry your deet. We highly recommend this inn for birders and nature lovers of all kinds.

Room Tip: We were upgraded and it was nice to have our own coffee maker, and really great outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manakin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing