We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We booked the room with the outside shower and it was super amazing. We had a hammock in a screened in room and it was super comfortable. The property is huge with tons of trails and the staff is lovely. We did a couple adventures -- to ATM and Caracol and then hiked around the property. To those that dissed the radio receivers -- we got caught in a huge rainstorm monsoon and had to call for them to pick us up since we were miles from the lodge. Maybe the best $10 i've ever spent.

Food is quite expensive here (esp lunch - avg $20 USD) so you might want to plan for that extra expense since there really isn't anything else around.

From timing -- be careful of booking in May/ June around "the first drenching" when all the termites get their wings. They don't live long, but it definitely isn't a pleasant experience. It will happen throughout belize in the mountains so just do your visit timing right!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
226
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a place where you can adventure, rest, learn, or just be. The service is pleasant, fun, thorough. Little left to be desired. The room we stayed in reminded me of a movie set from 50s films of tropics- shuttered windows with gauzy curtains fluttering in the breeze, overhead fan, warm wood tones, flowers scattered and birds singing. Felt as though we'd slipped into a gentler time. Freddy our driver/guide was a delight. Each activity we chose was in it's individual way, a pleasure. Meals a treat. It really was a vacation for the entire family, ages 7-70.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was our fourth trip to Belize but our first visit to the interior. This is a very relaxing place with no television in the rooms but with WiFi internet access should you need or want it. Our room was not air conditioned but none was needed. (There are ceiling fans and plenty of screened windows) Nothing ultra modern here. But, a clean, nice, relaxing room with a comfortable bed. Our bathroom was not big, but hey, you're here for the outdoors and the great food! All of the staff we had contact with were excellent and immediately memorized everyone's name. The food was excellent and the chef visited our table each night to make sure we were happy with the evening's creations. If you are into hiking you will have miles and miles of trails to enjoy. We were not there long enough to do many trails but Cascade is a must do and can be easily completed in a few hours without much difficulty (for this 53 year old anyway, 24 year old daughter with Mountain Goat like ability only had to slow up a little) and Butterfly Falls is well worth the 20 minute hike from the road. The friendly staff will drop you off at the trail head of your choice (with a hand held radio) and pick you up when you have completed it or you can start your hikes from the lodge. Guided trips to other locations are also available such as the trip we took to the Mayan ruins at Caracol with our guide, Rick. Rick is very knowledgeable and courteous. He explained not only the ruins and Mayan beliefs but also other interesting items like what specific plants that we came across were used for by the Mayans. All in all, a very relaxing place with excellent service and food. Not the cheapest but easily worth it. (Side note: Vern with Javier's Flying Service (Actually, he's the owner) flew us to Hidden Valley Inn from Belize City and, if you want easy and fast access to Hidden Valley, Vern is definitely the way to go. He whisked us through the airport at Belize City and we were on our way in no time. He also flew us on to Placencia from Hidden Valley with the same great service.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at Hidden Valley Inn for 5 nights in June 2013. A family of 4, (kids aged 10 and 13), this place was perfect for us.
We stayed in the two Estate Suites which had a screened connecting porch with hammocks. Everyone loved the outdoor rock showers in the bathrooms!
The location of Hidden Valley Inn is beautiful. Yes it is a long bumpy ride to get there but that just added to the vacation experience!
We could not find fault with anything... the food was amazing, the personal service and attention to detail from the staff was wonderful. We did the tours to Caracol, zip-lining and cave tubing as well as personal tour of the property all arranged by the Inn. Rick, our guide was the BEST EVER and he was great with the kids. Walter, a driver and Adma our waitress also get an A+ too!
The waterfalls and the birds are the show stoppers for this place.
We spent the afternoon at Secret Pools with lunch under the cabana, saw Tiger Falls, King Vulture Falls, 1000ft Falls, and the amazing Butterfly Falls. The King Vultures are so majestic riding the thermals. The birds will be your alarm clock!
And lastly the trails - 90 miles that you can ride bikes on, run or walk on. All well marked and fun for the whole family. You will never know what you might see!
Thank you Hidden Valley Inn for a great family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

What an amazing place. I had the luxury of a outside waterfall shower and a hammock in my room. They even grow their own coffee on the premises! The food is superb and prepared by a South African chef who used to cook for celebs and the whole place has a really cosy feel. I stayed here as a solo and felt so welcome by all the staff. My room was amazing and my only regret is staying for just one night as I missed the opportunity to explore the grounds and secluded waterfalls. I could have stayed a week! Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an outside waterfall shower and a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlabouttheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We loved our stay at Hidden Valley Inn and were able to achieve our goal while traveling in Belize: experience the adventure of the jungle and spend plenty of time relaxing. The inn's location is far from the Belize airport, and we chose to take a cab from the airport. The ride was about 2 hours, and we wished we would have booked transportation through the hotel instead (The hotel has vans that are better equipped to handle the unpaved roads vs. the smaller cabs which have to drive very slowly. They're the same price, either one you choose). We were greeted by the staff and given a tour of the main lodge of the inn where the dining room, bar, and pool were located. Our room was clean and spacious. Though the inn doesn't have air conditioning, the ceiling fan and breeze were more than adequate for us. Because we had chosen not to rent a car, we spent all of our evenings at the inn and had our dinners and drinks there. The inn is in a secluded area, so we bonded with the other travelers and staff and shared our experiences of the day/ tour recommendations. The food was prepared on site, often with ingredients grown on the property. We were very satisfied with the meal selections. During the day, we booked tours through Hidden Valley which were affordable and came equipped with your own tour guide. We chose to do ziplining at Calico Jack's. Our driver, William, joined us for the experience, which made it even better. He took photos for us and provided us with information about Belize during the drive and at Calico Jack's. We also did the tour of Rio Frio Cave/Caracol/Rio on Pools with Freddie, which was excellent. Freddie is a very experienced tour guide and was knowledgeable about the history and wildlife of Belize. He spotted a toucan high in a random tree while driving down the road and stopped to give us binoculars so we could also see it. He was able to answer all of our questions. Both of the tours were comprehensive and affordable. I felt like we accomplished a lot in the days without getting to the point of exhaustion. Lastly, the grounds themselves deserve some time for touring. The inn has a countless amount of trails leading to waterfalls, natural pools, and other scenic sites. They give you a 2 way radio to take with you in case you get lost or need help, but the trails are well-labeled. You need to be in pretty good physical shape to take on many of these trails, but the staff lets you know how difficult they are. Our favorite part about this hotel was the opportunity to talk with the other travelers in the lodge and interact with the staff. Everyone who works there is so friendly and accomodating.They will create the perfect experience for you, as they did for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny and Jorge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

First I'll say that the location of this hotel is beautiful. The butterfly falls alone are worth it to stay here! It's an amazing, secluded waterfall on the grounds that can be hiked to for a nice cool swim. The hiking trails and stunning mountain views were great and the staff was overly friendly (almost a little awkward for us since we're not used to being waiting on hand and foot) I'd say this place would be deserving of an excellent rating if it weren't for one thing... all of the "extras." First, if you don't have a car you'll need to arrange a shuttle with the hotel for around $70 as it is about an hours drive from San Ignacio. Also if you don't have a car you'll have to eat at the hotel since there is nothing else around. Prices for the meals range from $10 (cheapest breakfast option) to $45 (4 course dinner) per person. They serve High Tea from 3-6pm where there are a few snacks if you don't want to spend money for lunch. So this place is great to stay... for a night or two as the cost of meals, drinks, and transportation can really add up!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napoleonjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
423 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
602 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
276 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing