We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murski Homestead B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brenham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Murski Homestead B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Brenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Loved every minute of my stay at the Murski Homestead! I took a cooking class with Pamela while my husband walked the grounds. The lunch we made from the class was amazing!! The bed was very comfortable and I appreciated having breakfast in our room. We sat out on the porch swing and watched the sunset. The perfect place to relax and do nothing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danstara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
158
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend and found the Murski Homestead B&B after doing a quick search online. We stayed in the Rosemary Room and loved everything about it. The bed was comfortable and the linens, including a big down comforter, were divine. Both mornings we dined on delicious breakfasts while sipping coffee on the front porch. We didn't know that our weekend was at the same time as the Lavender and Wine Fest, but we enjoyed visiting the lavender farm as well as the local wineries. Next time, we would like to bring some friends and book the whole place!!! Thank you, Pam, for a lovely weekend. We will be back!

Room Tip: The Rosemary Room has a porch with a table and chairs as well as a porch swing. We spent as much ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasInnkeeper, Owner at Murski Homestead B&B, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for posting a review regarding your weekend stay with us! We are delighted you enjoyed dining out on the front porch each morning during your stay. It is a perfect spot for beginning and ending you day! As you discovered, the Lavender and Wine Festival is always a fun event to enjoy during the month of August. We are so glad you choose that particular weekend to come for a stay and that you were able to experience one of the many great events we have throughout the year in Washington County. We look forward to hosting you again in addition to meeting and hosting your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Such a relaxing weekend. We stayed in the Sage Room and it was perfect. The sheet were extremely soft, bed comfortable, tons of pillows. I love the reading nook in the corner, the electric fireplace, the bath and homemade complimentary liquor. I'm already bragging about this B&B, it was the first my husband had ever stayed at and we might not ever go back to hotels if he thinks they will all be like this one. They had puzzles, board games, cards, a Jacuzzi, horses, donkeys, cows and a beautiful property tons of places to just sit and enjoy the view. The owners are what sold this to us, they are so sweet, gave us recommendations and constantly asking if we needed anything and gave us some extra desserts. Such a sweet couple and Pamela is an AMAZING cook. She would make breakfast the day before and have put it in the refrigerator for us to have whenever we woke up the next day in the comfort of our rooms with fresh fruit and juice. Relaxing escape. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great location, and very helpful owners. It was a max of 15 minutes away for any of the wineries in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasInnkeeper, Owner at Murski Homestead B&B, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience about your recent stay with us......the homemade breakfast, great bed, fireplace, complimentary liqueur, etc. One of the things our guests love most is the fact that their breakfast is homemade and left for them to have in their rooms whenever their schedule suits them. This plus a really great bed can make you feel like you are really on a mini- vacation! We are happy to hear that the Sage Room provided you that relaxing, restoring getaway experience that we strive to provide! Come see us again soon!

P.S. So glad to hear that your husband enjoyed the cup of Roasted Fresh Cinnamon Sugar Peaches with Cream Cheese Sorbet that I snuck him from the cooking class we had that weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Murski Homestead B&B was a genuine highlight of our road trip across America. The room (Sage) we stayed in was exquisitely furnished, the bed super comfortable and the bathroom perfect. Pamela was and is a bubbly host with an infectious personality, possessing a true desire to make your stay as memorable as possible. If passing through this past of Texas, you must make sure you spend a night at the Murski.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FreddieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasInnkeeper, Owner at Murski Homestead B&B, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hosting international travelers is always a delight for us and providing the best Texan hospitality and experience has been our motto since opening our B&B doors 14 years ago! To be considered the Highlight of ones' trip is great praise and we deeply appreciate the compliment. The Sage Room is just one of the four unique guest rooms that offer that magical stay at Murski Homestead and we are delighted to hear that it was perfect for you. Thank you for the recommendation to other travelers and, of course, the next time you come to the states we sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I needed a weekend away, but we didn't want to drive hours to get to our destination. With that in mind, we decided to stay in Brenham because it's only about 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours away from where we live in Houston. I made our reservation at this B&B based on the reviews, and I am so happy that I did! Murski Homestead is off the beaten path, but no so far that it takes you forever to get anywhere. It is an adorable house on a hill that has a great view! Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the resident dog Gyp whom we fell in love with immediately! She is definitely a sweetie! We then met Speck the cat, who made us feel very welcome. We are animal lovers, so being greeted by such cuties made our stay even better. We walked into our room ( The Lavender Room) and immediately noticed that the bed was large and looked comfy. Since that is where we planned on spending most of our time, large and comfy looking was a welcome sight. Keep your minds out of the gutter people, we just wanted to veg without kids jumping all over us! Right after we walked into our room, Pamela came by and introduced herself! She is definitely in the right profession, because she is what I want in a B&B owner. She is personable and made us feel right at home. She is simply wonderful! Everything about this B&B was perfect to us. The breakfast was soooo yummy, as was the cheese and fruit plate we had waiting for us (I pre-ordered it ). I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet weekend away! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sucaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasInnkeeper, Owner at Murski Homestead B&B, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the high praise on what we offer here at Murski Homestead. Being in the center between Austin and Houston, as you discovered Murski Homestead is the perfect destination for a quick getaway from the city. Plus the fact that we are just 5 minutes from downtown attractions and dining, being a little off the beaten path does give you the best of both worlds.....country and city! We focus on providing a REAL GETAWAY experience and not just a room for the night. Offering great beds for luxurious nights sleep and place to just "veg out", as you so eloquently put it, is a must and of course, the experience of a delicious breakfast and other food options is also part of that experience. We are delighted to hear that it worked for you and that you took time out of your schedule to share your experience here with other travelers! We hope you will come again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Mirski Homestead B&B. We were in the Rosemary room. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast enjoyable. We would certainly like to return. The hottub was a nice relaxing experience too. We love the peaceful grounds and porches. One night was too short. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunAggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I need a down time as we work daily with phones and computers. This weekend was a time to "UNPLUG". Pam greeted us immediately on our arrival and made us feel welcome. She gave us the best places to see fireworks for the evening and suggestions for us to have dinner. As we were not interested in being a crowd, we decide to stay. We saw a wonder show from the front porch ... great show without the noise and crowd. We kicked back in our room (Sage) and it was wonderful room to unwind and mellow out. It had all the current conveniences of TV and Wifi (but we skip that). Tried out the two person shower and it was great! The outdoor sitting areas were just what we need unwind. We plan to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenham
2.7 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 11 in Brenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
23.5 mi away
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murski Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murski Homestead B&B

Property: Murski Homestead B&B
Address: 1662 Old Independence Road, Brenham, TX 77833
Region: United States > Texas > Brenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Texas Hospitality at its' best! Romance Packages, Elopement & Wedding Packages, Cooking Classes...Murski Homestead B&B offers the perfect blend of the quiet simplicity of country life with the finer amenities of luxury living....king/queen beds with upscale linens, private baths, in room climate control, in suite breakfast/cocktail pantries with mini fridge/microwave/coffee maker/cocktail setups, DISH TV (some HD) electric fireplaces, outdoor spa & living areas, gourmet meals, wildlife, beautiful views, vintage historic lodging, working ranch and more.....only 5 minutes from historic downtown Brenham! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murski Homestead B&B Brenham, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing