We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Love Dewberry Farm, but Parents May Not”
Review of Dewberry Farm

Dewberry Farm
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Kids Love Dewberry Farm, but Parents May Not”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Located in the country just a short drive from Katy, Texas, Dewberry Farm is a kid- friendly creation that brings together the natural setting of a working farm with a few simple rides and other entertainment. Children and families can enjoy some simple, non- motorized fun, ride on one of the small trains or wagon, pet the goats, race rubber ducks, or partake in other activities.

Dewberry Farm will be enjoyed by most children and this is often reason enough to pack up the minivan and head west of Houston to this country destination. Kids like the slides, the zip lines, and other things and most will not mind a ride on the train, particularly during the Halloween or Christmas season when Dewberry Farm has special activities planned like navigating a corn maze or selecting and cutting down your own Christmas tree. There is enough kiddie- type fun to make kids happy and most who visit will quickly proclaim their desire to visit again.

So, with what seems like much to offer, are there any drawbacks to Dewberry Farm? I’m afraid the answer is yes. One is that the base admission doesn’t include all of the rides- some require paying an extra fee and that means purchasing tokens. You can purchase a more expensive pass that covers everything, but it is quite costly for a day on the farm. Then, there is the mud. Pockets of mud can appear when you least expect them and the place is really dirty after a good rain. If you visit, make sure to have the kids wear their least- liked, most worn out shoes because there is a chance they will need to be discarded after visiting. Other issues I have with Dewberry Farm are the rudeness of some of the staff, the price of food and drink, and the lack of employee supervision on some of the rides. The rides are simple enough, but some of them can cause troubles for youngsters and without any employees present to help out, you need to stay close and run to the rescue, if necessary.

Still, in spite of its obvious flaws, kids love Dewberry Farm and most any child will highly recommend the “awesome” experience. So, considering all factors pro and con, I’m going to rate this attraction average overall. It could stand to be improved, but it is a reasonably acceptable place to go for an afternoon outing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan_Carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    12
    10
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great get away place for the day!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We have been here 3 to 4 times within the last 2 years and have enjoyed our visit. First time we went we had a groupon deal. We have a toddler and she absolutely loves it there we go around the time they open to get pumpkins for carving. There is quite a bit to do included with your admission and also seperate rides you pay for. We have even had a birthday party and it went quite well. Definitely an outing we try to do each year.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unorganized, chaotic, horrible customer service, and very rude!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Had my child's party here. It was a disaster from beginning to end! Worker at the gate was on the phone while all of our guests arrived, and he directed them all the wrong way. No one to help with party, show you where things are, but made sure they got their money. (Birthday coordinator stayed in her little building the whole time, and even called us while we were still there to tell us to come pay.) Also, we told the coordinator that we were paying for everyone that showed up to the party, but she still told our guests that they weren't on our list when they arrived. Rude! They get you in, and then you're on your own. After $20 for watered down lemonade, and over $120 for gross frozen pizzas, we made our way to the sub par activities. That's where we realized that admission for our huge whole group didn't include all of the activities there. They wanted an extra $3 per child per activity (on to of the $258 we had already spent.) All about the money at this place. When I called to speak to the owner, Mary, she was extremely rude. When I told her I didn't appreciate her rudeness, and that we wouldn't be back, she laughed and hung up on me! I couldn't believe it. Horrible experience, and terrible way to treat customers who spend their hard earned money here! Never again!

Helpful?
15 Thank twawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Save your money and go elsewhere. Dewberry Farm is an utter ripoff. After paying an admission price, you then have to purchase a $19 bracelet per person so they can actually participate in the "attractions". Sadly, nothing here was worth that $19. An example: A plastic drain pipe hanging from the ceiling that your children can sit on and swing.

My 2 year old was admitted to the farm for free but was charged $3 to jump on an inflatable trampoline for 5 minutes. And you can't pay with real money -- you have to buy tokens. Do you think you can buy as many tokens as you need? Nope. You have to buy tokens in $5 increments. So my 2 year old's 5 minutes on the trampoline cost $5. They did not charge for my admission because I had to supervise him (obviously). Here's where they completely lost me -- 20 feet away was another attraction where the 2 year old was FREE but they wanted to charge ME $3 worth of tokens. WHAT?! Make up your minds!

The staff is rude. There is no public water fountain that we could find and a bottle of water costs $2 -- in, yes you guessed it, TOKENS.

The attractions have some serious safety issues. Do NOT leave your child unattended, especially if you have young children.

In summary, avoid this ripoff. Avoid at all costs. Your money and time (and safety!) are too precious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank stacero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dewberry Farms-with toddlers-for pumpkins”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

It's quite a drive from downtown houston...but its well worth it for the farm & fun experience :) GET THERE EARLY!!!! Took my 2 boys (under 4) on a Sunday and upon arriving about an hour after they opened, there was already a HUGE line at both entrances. Took about 45mins to get in. Even if we had pre-purchased tickets, was still a huge line for that too. Oh well. It's kinda expensive, but it was worth it for me to get my kids outside and they really do offer a TON of fun things for them to do out there. They have different options for $$ for kids to do...tractor races (tricycle tractors) and the jumping pillows are super cool :) They have a big corn maze to wander around in and a bunch of pumpkins to choose from out in a field near the corn maze. Was a beautifully chilly fall afternoon which doesn't come often in Houston so we had a blast. Would NOT have been as great if it was hot like normal down here though!
Take a wagon!!! Bring cash to $ for food/drinks. Wear comfortable shoes to walk around. And definitely a camera & give yourself lots of time to explore all around the farm. Its really fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whoop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dewberry Farm also viewed

Brookshire, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Brookshire, Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dewberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing