We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and Relaxing”

Lake Brownwood State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Brownwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great stargazing and nice cabins to stay in.
Salado, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Relaxing”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Cabins for two were very well kept, good hot water, clean stove & refrigerator, and the hiking trails were GREAT! We saw two foxes, an armadillo, and many different birds. We enjoyed the amazing sunrise over the lake and plan on camping out again in the near future. They had a water break and the park ranger worked late getting it fixed so we were without water for a very limited time. We also enjoyed the new trail up to the ranger's station and overall had a great experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hewitt, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect get-away ”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Cabin 1 is comfortable and cozy. It's situated overlooking the lake and you can enjoy watching the birds fly home to roost as the sun sets. Windows allow for watching the sunrise from bed. The fireplace is large and at the foot of the bed.
The hiking trail is nearby but the cabin is shielded from direct view.
We had a small plumbing problem that was speedily addressed by courteous staff.

Helpful?
7 Thank UNTMoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a long weekend (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) at Lake Brownwood State Park. Stayed in the Council Bluff campground - site 88. The staff at check in was excellent. The park is nice and clean including the rest rooms/showers. The park was pretty busy on Saturday and Sunday which was no surprise sine the weather was clear and sunny with highs in the 70's. As with the rest of Texas the lake level was very low but there were still boats out on the water.
There are many cabins in this park, more than I have seen in any other state park in Texas. They are in great shape and they almost made me want to rent one of them and just park my trailer. They have AC and heat and the ones I looked in had beautiful stone fireplaces.
Since we were here in November shade was not a factor and the campgrounds did not have much In late spring and summer I probably will choose another park to camp in. The hundred degree days without shade on a trailer can be brutal. Bottom line - a good campground for early spring and fall.



Helpful?
3 Thank Marshall212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunsets”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We brought our camper to the lake to stay in, but found some lovely cabins around the lake. We plan to go back on our anniversary to stay in the secluded cabins to enjoy the sunsets at the lake. If you enjoy fishing there is a pier that is open 24 hours. A great place for family events or week- end getaways.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights
Level Contributor
323 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great stone buildings”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Outstanding examples of cabins and lodge building built by the CCC in '30's. Nice campground and boat ramp. Lake Brownwood has suffer from the Texas drought and as of this writing is about 9-10 ft low, so if you are boating be very careful, since there are rocks and stumps waiting to grab your boat motor's lower unit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Brownwood State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing