We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very large room size”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Brownwood
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Brownwood
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very large room size”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were in Brownwood for a funeral and had two rooms at the Holiday Inn Express. There were 6 other family members who also stayed here. Each room was a king suite for $109/night. Room was very large, with a small separation between the bed and the sitting area. The entry had a closet with iron and board on one side and the bathroom on the other. Bath includes dryer and magnifying mirror, good towels, tissues, soaps, lotion, shampoo, and conditioner.

Also included in the entry area was a long counter with a small sink, the coffee setups, a microwave with a recessed light about which made a good nightlight, and lots of storage under the countertop.

The sitting area included a queen sofabed, coffee table, large comfortable chair, and a desk with office chair and easily accessible plugs for my computer. At check in I was given the ID and password so that I did not have to call the desk later. Much appreciated. The lighting was good.

The bed was a very comfortable king with two side tables, good reading lights on each side, a large flat screen with lots of channels and an up to date channel number guide, another chest with lots of storage, the heat/AC unit which could be personally controlled, window with blackout curtains (although a little light came through side, so I used my old clothes pin trick) and, the bed linens were excellent, and included four pillows. The closet included all the bedding for the queen sofa, meaning that if you were needing to use that, you did not have to wait for housekeeping to bring the linens.

Breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, bagels, toast, three cereal choices, packets of instant oatmeal, biscuits, yogurt, milk, sweet rolls, apples, jams and jellies, and pretty good coffee plus setups for tea. And if you do not like the packaged creamers, they actually had half and half in a container. Considering the size and cost of the room, we thought the included breakfast was a pretty good deal.

The staff was excellent and allowed one room on each floor to check out late so that all the family had a place to store bags and change clothes after the funeral. I recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to come and post such a detailed review here on Tripadvisor. I want to say that we are always glad to be able to help in any way we can at our property. While we can't always work in a late check-out, I am thrilled we were able to work with everyone enough to manage the situation.

We appreciate these candid, detailed reviews more than you can know, so again... Thank you!

-Michael Bradford
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    31
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
22
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a truly fine property. Everything from the size and quality of the room to the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff to the plushness of the towels to the quality of the free breakfast (way above usual motel fare - the scrambled eggs were real and freshly cooked and even the biscuits and gravy were acceptable) was well above average for a property in this class of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestTexastraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor! We greatly appreciate that you took time out of your day for us. We are glad to hear that everything exceeded expectations, since we put forward such an effort for excellence. We sincerely hope to see you again should you ever be through the area again! Good travels to you.

-Michael Bradford
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My wife and I arrived late Friday night for a one night stay. Check in was quick and the lady at the counter was friendly. Cleanliness of room was good. The continental breakfast was just okay. This seems to be a common trend at most of the chains of hotels. Cheap food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 174btw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
I want to say that we appreciate you coming on here and leaving a review! Our staff loves being able to provide the best, friendliest service in town. We're excited to hear that our continuing commitment to excellence is still evident.

I hope we have the chance to serve you again if you're ever back through the area.

-Michael Bradford
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Kari is the best! Everytime I go to Brownwood, I stay at the Holiday Inn Express. They always say, "Wecome back!" whenever I walk in the door, and I feel like they really mean it. All the staff members are kind and helpful.
The last time I tried to make a reservation, they were booked up. I called Michael back every day, hoping for a last minute cancellation. Kari overheard Michael say my name and recognized it immediately. She found a way to get me in a room! How great is that?!

I love this hotel!

Room Tip: I stayed in the handicapped room once. I won't request it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
I definitely want to take the time to say "Thank you!" for staying with us and for your review here on TripAdvisor. All of our staff will go out of our way to accommodate any one of our welcome guests. We are quite pleased that we were able to find a room for you. With the hotel business, there is always a chance of cancellations and our General Manager was more than happy to thoroughly investigate the matter to ensure your satisfaction!

We here at Holiday Inn Express, Brownwood hope to see you again! We are proud that our commitment to excellence shines through for all of guests to see!

-Michael Bradford
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This was one of the most hospitable places I've been to in a long time and I travel a lot. Staff was always very helpful and pleasant to work with. The rooms were a very nice size and very clean. The hotel internet was a little slow, but there was a full house when we stayed so this may have been to blame.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you for taking your time to come here and post such a positive review, especially so closely following the hectic holiday season! We are continually striving for excellence in our hotel and staff, and I'm glad that it shines through to the guests such as yourself.

We will be glad to serve you again, should you ever be through the area! It was a pleasure serving you and all our other wonderful guests that stayed this holiday. Have a happy New Years and a prosperous 2012.

-Michael Bradford
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastrop, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Nice room, comfortable beds. Great breakfast. My boys especially enjoyed the pancake maker. I forgot a couple of items. Called & spoke to Michael and he took care of it for me immediately. Very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us during the busy Thanksgiving season, and we also appreciate you taking time out of your day to post a review here on Tripadvisor! The addition of the automatic pancake maker has made our already popular hot continental breakfast an even more spectacular hit. I'm also glad to have been able to help locate your left behind items. Our wonderful Housekeeping staff are always prompt to notify Management when items have been left, so that we may reunite our guests with their wayward property. We really do hope to see you again if you're ever back in the area.

-Michael Bradford,
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
420 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The staff was excellent. Michael at the front desk arranged an early check in and gave me a good suggestion for dinner. The room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaySmartwHIE_BWDTX, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Brownwood, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback! As the new Director of Sales, I'd like to personally express my gratitude that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in the area!

-Michael Bradford,
Director of Sales
HIEXP Brownwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownwood
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Brownwood
Hampton Inn Brownwood
#1 of 7 in Brownwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Early
Comfort Inn Early
#1 of 1 in Early
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#4 of 7 in Brownwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knights Inn Brownwood
Knights Inn Brownwood
#6 of 7 in Brownwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gate 1 inn
Gate 1 inn
#5 of 7 in Brownwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brownwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brownwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Brownwood
Address: 504 West Commerce St., Brownwood, TX 76801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Brownwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Brownwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brownwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Brownwood Proudly introduces our newly renovated Hotel. Renovations include new carpeting throughout all public areas and guest rooms, new mattresses and furniture as well as a refreshed breakfast area and fitness center improvements. We provide all the amenities and technology of a full service hotel at a 'Stay Smart' price. We are conveniently located in the heart of Texas. The hotel includes a Business Center (24 hours free internet service) and Conference room. Our luxurious guest rooms are equipped with free high speed internet access. Guests will enjoy a deluxe, 'Stay Smart' complimentary breakfast bar, and free parking. All of our rooms have interior entrances, well lit work areas, Micro-Fridge, in-room coffee service and 27' TVs with over 120 digital cable channels including movie channels. In addition, we have a fully equipped fitness center and an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brownwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brownwood Hotel Brownwood
Holiday Inn Brownwood
Brownwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing