We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Brownwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I were able to escape here for the weekend while Grandpa and Grandma watched the kids. We stayed in the Cottonwood, it was exactly what we needed, quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. The place is thoughtfully appointed and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were fancy and yummy. You have to try the nature trail. Don mentioned that there is usually a “cat escort”, we were not disappointed. We enjoyed all the amenities that came with the room (The Cottonwood has its own outdoor hot tub.) I am recommending this to my friends and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: The Cottonwood has a hottub and WIFI, it overlooks the pond, we watched the deer come in to have a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank goodness for Grandpa's and Grandma's that know how important it is for couples to have some alone time. We are so glad you came and enjoyed it here. We try to always respect a couples privacy, but be here when you need us. Hope to see you again. Thanks deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I were married last weekend. We had the most wonderful ceremony and the best cake and photos taken. We enjoyed ourselves more than we thought possible. We saw shooting stars, had the most relaxing weekend and ate at Humphrey Pete's, which was fabulous too. We are already planning our return visit next year for our anniversary. Many thanks to Don and Becca for the amazing, perfect time. We also hope to meet Debbie next time we are there. We came from Houston, which is 5 hours away, but I have to say that it was worth every mile. Thanks from the bottom of our hearts.

Room Tip: The Wildrose Cottage is romantic and very intimate. With a hot tub and Jacuzzi you couldn't ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie-and-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

We do so appreciate you writing a review for us. We are so happy that you were pleased with your stay and your Texas elopement package. We do look forward to you coming for an anniversary and finding your bottle on the wedding tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We were married the day before Thanksgiving, in a beautiful intimate ceremony by Don the Innkeeper, his wife took amazing photos and provided a lovely cake and bouquet. We stayed in a beautiful romantic Victorian style cottage - decorated in a wonderful romantic style. Sat out under the stars in the hot tub, ate Debbie's delicious breakfasts and were totally secluded from the world for two days. It far surpassed our expectations.

Room Tip: The Wildhouse Retreat was amazing and my favourite but there are many different styles to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarasiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you very much! It was our pleasure to have y'all stay with us and share your special day here. We hope to have you come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ive never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. BUT I will say that the Morelocks have created a very high standard if we ever decide to go anywhere else. The only bad thing about this place is that its over 4 hours from Houston. I wish it were closer!

We arrived Friday night, left Monday, and stayed in the Cottonwood. Right away we were greeted and helped with our bags by Don (and the cats!). He made sure that we knew that the hot tub was ready to go for us. Which was one of the first things we did! What a view of the night sky!

Throughout the weekend, we roamed the property and the trail a few times, had a couples massage, and went into town a few times to the suggested restaurants. Nothing disappointed us.. except that some restaurants and wineries are closed on Sundays. Next time we'll arrive Thursday and leave Sunday.

I cant say enough about the hospitality, and the quality of the attention to details in everything by the Morelocks! The food was great! The accomodations were great! The property and views were great! The pets are great (donkeys, and kitties!)!! I cant say enough really.. You'll have to go and experience it yourself. We will definitely be going back!

We wanted a nice relaxing trip out of the city.. and that's exactly what we got and more! We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropikchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we consider this the highest compliment we can get. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and really hope you will come again. Reviews make me giggle!!! deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I were married this past Saturday at the Star of Texas B &B and we couldn't be happier with the entire experience. The intimate ceremony was perfect and every detail was taken care of from the hand-tied bouquet to the fantastic wedding cake. Our room was delightful, complete with a luxurious bed and jacuzzi tub for 2. We enjoyed massages, an amazing wine, fruit and cheese tray, a fantastic nature trail walk (with the hilarious donkeys), and a gourmet meal, followed by an hour in the hot tub underneath the stars. Who could ask for a more perfect way to start our lives together? Every meal was absolutely delicious and the local wines provided were outstanding. Don & Deb are lovely people and have out-done themselves with this unforgettable Bed & Breakfast. My husband and I are already planning our return visit and can't wait to stay in every room on the property. Thank you Don & Deb for an amazing wedding weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Sabrina, thank you for your review, we had so much fun doing the Celtic wedding and making it a special day for you all. We do look forward to seeing you all again. Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have now stayed in five different rooms at Star of Texas. It is impossible to pick a favorite. The bluebonnets were beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic. Service was excellent. Always consistently good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Innkeeper & Baker at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

I'm so thrilled to hear that you have stayed with us 6 times! Wow! Consistency is definitely key in running any business. We have been re-decorating some of our rooms, so you will have something new to look forward to on your 7th stay. We appreciate you!
Becca Morelock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was a great place for my husband and me to go! We really enjoyed the peaceful nature walk with our dog, the beautifully decorated Oak Cottage, and the delicious breakfast! We really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars! This will be a trip that we remember and hold close to our hearts forever. Thank you for everything Morelocks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieMStar, Owner at Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thanks so much for your review, I love seeing the word "restful", we all need that so much in our busy lives that we do want guest to come and really rest. Hope to see you again soon. deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brownwood hotels
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brownwood
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brownwood
Hampton Inn Brownwood
#2 of 7 in Brownwood
246 reviews
4.8 mi away
Knights Inn Brownwood
Knights Inn Brownwood
#5 of 7 in Brownwood
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Brownwood
6.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#6 of 7 in Brownwood
56 reviews
8.3 mi away
Gate 1 inn
Gate 1 inn
#4 of 7 in Brownwood
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 650 Morelock Ln, Brownwood, TX 76801-0935
Region: United States > Texas > Brownwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brownwood
Price Range: £172 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our Texas Hill country bed and breakfast for romantic weekend getaways. Located close to Brownwood,TX and Lake Brownwood. We are a premier elopement destination in Texas with several elopement packages to offer. For Texas honeymoon getaways, our peaceful cottages offer privacy with hot tubs.We are also a Texas Hill country wine trail lodging. We have been chosen as one of the "10 Coziest B&B's in America". We offer great packages like wine & cheese or spas for your Texas romantic getaway. Come to Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast in the Texas hill country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Star of Texas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing