We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bryan
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A romantic getaway!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We live this place. Great hospitality and food hidden in this central Texas region. Surrounded by vineyards, its near some fine dining in College station as well. The rooms are exquisite and the gardens fragrant and beautiful. We love it when the owner visits with us at the restaurant. The soup is not to be missed at the restaurant... Even if you're not a soup lover. One if the top restaurants in Texas as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Romantic, relaxing beautiful rooms. We stayed in the Venus room and it was quite lovely. Splurged in the romance package and was treated to rose petals on the floor and bed, a vase of red roses, dark chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of our favorite wine! We kicked off the stay with the couples massage in our room...Dolly was amazing!

There is many themed items in the room, but it works and doesn't seem cluttered. Bathroom looks to be recently redone, nice shower and big soaking tub. Messina Hof provides lovely smelling bath products and they are nice treat, the bath salts smell amazing! Rooms have tv and cable, mini fridge in the closet, iron and board, and coffee makers.

Staff at Messina Hof are a really rare breed, they are extremely helpful and friendly and really help to set the B&B apart from any competition! The morning breakfast is excellent! Fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, cereal and milk....to start, then they give you a generous sized portion of a hot breakfast. Very yummy way to start your day! Rich coffee and usually muffins and or scones!

This was a fantastic splurge and we really enjoyed all aspects of the winery!

Winery tour was fantastic, Texas wine has quite a lot to offer...everyone should go and taste them, and possible stay a night or two too. Everyone is extremely friendly, and we even watched the staff filling the blue Angel Riesling...which is delicious! To watch the owner work and help the bottling process was indeed a rare treat!

The wine bar was a nice simple lunch selection with great views of the Villa and pond. One can easily enjoy a glass or two of wine in this atmosphere.

We hope to return soon!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have wanted to stay here since I was a college student down the road. 90% of the experience was fantastic! We stayed in D'Artangan - aside from the decor being more Spanish than French, it was a fun theme. LOVED the crystal ship chandelier! However, the carpet and paint are both past their prime and the bed spread was nasty. The sheets and everything else was very clean. I even took a bath in the fabulous giant tub & I never feel comfortable sitting in a hotel tub! The patio was perfect for watching the sun set and enjoying the complimentary wine & cheese each evening. Tip: they will make it to go for you if you are staying in The Villa. All the people we met were wonderful. The tour was fun & informative. We even got to watch them bottle some wine the morning we left. The king size bed was really two twins, not a problem for sleeping, but... The owners are around a lot when they are in town and extremely welcoming, informative and entertaining! One night, Paul was waiting by the car for his wife to go somewhere. When he saw her quips, "There's my better Hof." He's pretty much "on" all the time. Great place for romantic getaway or a small reunion of some kind. No kids allowed unless you rent out the entire Villa. They have lots of fun dinners and events, so check out the web cite when you are booking to get reservations.

Room Tip: Read the bed and amenities carefully for the available rooms. They vary in size and what kind of vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have gone to Messina Hof many times and have been a VIP member of their place so we are jaded, but it is still a wonderful place. This is the first time we have stayed at the Villa and were not disappointed. We were met by the B&B manager in the two-storey entry hall with awesome chandelier. We booked the Hof room named after a city in Germany and it was well appointed with antiques from the owners family who emigrated from Germany. The private balcony is right on the woods and you have a view of thier pond with fountain which really provided a neat evening setting. My only comment was that the bath features could be updated from when they were installed in the 1980's. The room though was perfectly quiet and spacious. In the morning you get a champagne breakfast; ours being excellent crepes served with Mimosas.

Room Tip: The Hof room is on the western side to watch the sunset and extremely private. It is on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveGunnsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Having done multi-day wine trips all over the U.S, we decided to take a one day (overnight trip) to the Messina Hoff winery and stay at the on-site Villa. I have to admit we have been to Bryan-College Station too many times to count (two sons are Aggies) but had avoided Messina Hof because we thought it a little pricey. I also did not expect any great wine tour or wines for that matter. I was pleasantly surprised. For $165/night weekday rate we got a wonderful, spacious room in the Villa. The price included a free glass of wine in the tasting room (healthy portion). We also go a very fun wine tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and was as good at her job and explanations as the best in Napa. At the end, we got a tasting of four of their wines (again healthy portions) and later that evening we had dinner at the on-site restaurant across the parking lot from the winery. The next morning included a simple, but delicious breakfast with champagne. The wine is good, the staff friendly and helpful, the food delicious, and the price is really a great value. I highly recommend this as a day trip from Houston if you like wine or just want to get away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve77346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for our wedding anniversary / valentine weekend. The Romeo & Juliet room was perfect, the Sweetheart Dance was fun, and dinner the next day at the Vintage House Restaurant was delish! We were able to taste a variety of wines at the dinner dance, and I can say they were all great.

I can't wait to go back during late spring to see all the flowers in full bloom, and all the greenery! Not to mention the vineyard itself!

The wine is wonderful! This was my first experience at a bed & breakfast or a winery, I can say I was not disappointed. The staff was very helpful and sweet. Jean is a wonderful lady who was so welcoming and just lovely to speak with. All the servers were really nice, and Michael at the retail was very knowledgeable about the wines, he answered every question we had!

Our room was so nice, we had our own private patio area and it was great sitting there and having coffee in the morning listening to the birds, cardinals to be exact. We saw a turtle sunbathing, so cute!

We also made some new friends!

Thanks Jean & Everyone at Messina Hof for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here with some friends as a first trip back to Aggieland in nearly 4 years. All that was missing from the stay was a shuttle from the Villa to campus - management should REALLY consider adding this for game day weekends. If they had a shuttle we would have had more than a glass of wine in the new (to us) tasting room and then gone to catch up with friends at tailgates before the game. As Aggies, we have a special spot for Messina Hoff wines, the restaurant, and the winery itself. Relaxing stay in the Villa. Fun conversation with the other guests over a filling breakfast the next morning. Book early if you plan to stay over graduation, parent's weekend, game day, or other TAMU events. Seriously though, get a shuttle to be included in the cost of a room at the Villa and offer it for guests of the restaurant or tasting room at a charge on game day/graduation weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryan hotels
7.8 mi away
The Stella Hotel
The Stella Hotel
#1 of 14 in Bryan
188 reviews
3.6 mi away
The LaSalle Boutique Hotel & 120 Kitchen
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bryan College Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn College Station
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bryan
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bryan College Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof

Property: The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof
Address: 4545 Old Reliance Rd, Bryan, TX 77808-8995
Region: United States > Texas > Bryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Texas wine country! Nestled in the heart of Texas, and just minutes away from the Texas A&M campus, The Villa at Messina Hof Winery & Resort hosts 10 beautifully appointed rooms richly decorated with timeless antiques and furnishings from different romantic eras. Included with your stay is a winery tour and tasting, evening wine and cheese reception in the Wine Bar and a delicious European-style champagne breakfast. Experience the romance and the passion of the vineyards, and create some of your own. Come to Messina Hof and join the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Bed and Breakfast at Messina Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa At Messina Hof Hotel Bryan
Hotel At Messina Hof
The Villa Bed And Breakfast At Messina Hof Bryan, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing