We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Buda
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was not a "run down" hotel, yet it is getting a lot of freshening, inside and out. During our stay in mid-October 2013, the exterior painting was almost complete and preparation was beginning for interior painting. Landscaping and decorative painting outside was near completion and looked great. Our room had a brand-new air conditioning unit which was really nice. The breakfast area had several new items and they had a Belgian waffle maker which made those Texas-shaped waffles! We had a really pleasant stay and consider the Southgate Best Western an excellent value. -- Roy Montgomery

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

When we walked into the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised by the lobbies appearance. Mike was at the counter to assist with check in process and was very friendly. Check out process was easy. In our group for the weekend, one couple had requested a nonsmoking room and when they arrived in their room. It was obvious that someone had been smoking a cigar in that room. Mike was very apologetic and changed rooms for them. He also called up to the room to make sure the accommodations were satisfying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was pleasantly off the highway making it easily accessible. The staff went out of their way to provide us with any and everything we needed. Overall we will definitely be staying here the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Adolph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My son and I checked-in on a Thursday afternoon and departed on the following Sunday morning during a sportscar race weekend at the nearby track (COTA). Mike checked us in and was very efficient, courteous, and helpful (I think he's the Manager). Everything was clean and neat. Our room was upgraded at the same price and it was clean and comfortable (#218). There was plenty of close-in handicapped parking (a pet peeve of mine). The only ice machine was near te pool area, which was inconvenient. It's a little difficult to reach this hotel from the south, but it CAN be accomplished. There's an inconspicous area in back of the next-door Burger King which joins the hotel parking lot with a steep ramp. The free breakfast on Saturday morning was just OK, although the coffee was better than average. Thursday's rate was $99.98, but the Friday/Saturday rate doubled to $189.97. That's a fairly steep rate for weekends in a non-resort area. Since we were at the track most of the time, I feel it's wasn't a good value.

Room Tip: I had a front-facing room and the highway noise wasn't noticed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Just your average off the highway place. Got in late and desk clerk was in dining area using phone. Breakfast not impressive. Area not maintained throughout meal service. Many tables had other peoples trash on them but I can't entirely blame hotel. What is wrong with people not disposing of their own trash. Had language difficulty with check in clerk, room attendants, as no one really speaks clear English. Pool area was locked from access at 11am? The biggest issue is how difficult it is to reach. Service road in front of highway is one way only and unless you are going south I 35 you need to by pass it and double back from highway. I felt unsafe in rain on roads around property. Only nearby eatry is Burger King. Rooms in front of building have highway noise. Rooms are okay. Clean and average. Guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiAnnesInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We pre-booked our reservations and received an excellent price. This turned out to be a wise choice because we checked in on the Saturday before Labor Day and rates here (and all over the city) were twice as much. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. All decor (lobby, rooms, and breakfast area) appeared to be new. Manager/owner(?) is very personable and interested in the quality of our stay. He even advised us to park our motorcycles in full view of the front security cameras so that they could be monitored overnight. This was above and beyond what we would normally expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Mike, at the front desk, accommodated us by checking out our room to see if it was ready, and it was, even though we were checking in 3 hours before the check in time of 3 p.m. He helped us with our parking. He was friendly. Although I am not from India, nor have ever visited there, I asked him about India because it seemed to me he might have been from there.. He did not mind our personal questioning, although he himself did not ask any intrusive questions about ourselves. I used the swimming pool and it was clean and refreshing. Mike provided us with extra coffee. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, with a good variety of good food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buda
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buda at Cabela's
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kyle - Austin South
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 3 in Kyle
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Buda Austin Inn & Suites
4 mi away
Comfort Suites Buda – Austin South Hotel
3.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Buda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Address: 18658 S Interstate 35, Buda, TX 78610-5820 (Formerly The Southgate Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Buda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Buda
Price Range: £41 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southgate Inn & Suites Buda Texas Hotels is the great place to stay in Buda Texas located close to the Tanger & Prime Outlet Mall, Cabela Outfitters and downtown Austin attractions. The Southgate Inn & Suites features modern amenities like well-appointed guest rooms, meeting rooms, outdoor pool, fitness center and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buda
Buda Best Western
Quality Inn And Suites Buda, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing