We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake LBJ dirty & murky water!”
Review of Lake LBJ

Lake LBJ
Ranked #12 of 19 things to do in Burnet
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake located in Texas' Hill Country known for great freshwater fishing.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lake LBJ dirty & murky water!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were invited to go with my in laws to meet with the realtor to view lake front properties on Lake LBJ. We took our boat and met the realtor so she could show us the properties for sale by water.
The lake was sooo dark, murky and dirty. I was amazed by the huge homes on such a dirty lake. The lake is narrow and has a lot of shallow parts. I was glad the realtor was riding in our boat with us as she told us where all of the shallow shots were.
My son was skiing and the lake was so narrow the boat behind us couldn't even pass. This was on a Sunday afternoon. I couldn't imagine being on that lake on a Friday or Saturday!!!
There are so many beautiful lakes but LBJ is NOT one of them!!! I would never want to visit that lake again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Day trip”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Many public areas and boat ramps. Jet ski rentals and resorts

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pedidocTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great lake”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We had a great time. Went boating and used waverunners. We had the lake to ourselves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank barnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sports and relaxation galore!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Water Skiing, Jet skis, swimming, boating, picnics, BBQs.... whatever you want, you can get here. The lake is close to Friedsburg as well. That's another Texas hot spot!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best constant level lake in the Hill Country of Texas”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Even in a severe drought year Lake LBJ will be full. It is one of the few constant level lakes on the Colorado river. Best place to stay is Horseshoe Bay. Stay at the Marriott for full resort amenities or one of the many homes or condos for rent on the water. Our favorite is the Waters condos. They have a beautiful pool and day docks for your boat. Easy booking through All Seasons rentals.

Helpful?
Thank 123TX2step
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake LBJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing