We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of an era, bad service and bad dessert”

The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Burnet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Enjoy spectacular sunsets, distant thunderstorms, and panoramic views while savoring delicious, fresh, Texas Hill Country cuisine at our award-winning Overlook Restaurant. Join us year-round for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Overlook Restaurant promises you a distinctly unique experience. The Overlook Restaurant features traditional Texas cuisine with an emphasis on steaks and seafood with a Hill Country twist. Come savor our fresh, organic, signature dishes, prepared with natural, free range meats, and locally grown produce. To tempt you further,our delicious house-made desserts are served daily. The restaurant's extensive wine list features domestic, imported, and Texas wines. The award-winning Overlook Restaurant is Open Daily for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner for casual dining. Dinner reservations are required on weekends and holidays and recommended on weekdays, closing hours may fluctuate due to business levels. Please be aware that Fridays and Saturdays from 3 P.M. to 5 P.M. the Overlook does close.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy spectacular sunsets, distant thunderstorms, and panoramic views while savoring delicious, fresh, Texas Hill Country cuisine at our award-winning Overlook Restaurant. Join us year-round for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Overlook Restaurant promises you a distinctly unique experience. The Overlook Restaurant features traditional Texas cuisine with an emphasis on steaks and seafood with a Hill Country twist. Come savor our fresh, organic, signature dishes, prepared with natural, free range meats, and locally grown produce. To tempt you further,our delicious house-made desserts are served daily. The restaurant's extensive wine list features domestic, imported, and Texas wines. The award-winning Overlook Restaurant is Open Daily for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner for casual dining. Dinner reservations are required on weekends and holidays and recommended on weekdays, closing hours may fluctuate due to business levels. Please be aware that Fridays and Saturdays from 3 P.M. to 5 P.M. the Overlook does close.
Austin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“End of an era, bad service and bad dessert”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I belong to a motorcycle riding group that has made a regular event of our rides from Austin to The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles. It was so popular because the ride was beautiful, the service was adequate, the food was excellent but the dessert was to die for. That was then, this is now and now is the end of an era.

The last three trips there have been less than impressive. The first of the three, one of our riders did not get his entree (hamburger) till after everyone else had already eaten, had dessert and paid out. Group size was about 15 and we called the week in advance. Strike One.

The second time it was a little worse. The food was still good but the service got worse and many of the diners in our group waited 20-30 minutes after the first of us to get their food. We filled our own water and tea because we just got tired of waiting. Group size was about 18 and we called the week in advance. Strike Two.

This last time, Sunday May 4th, we had a birthday in the group and his sweetheart called to set the reservations several weeks in advance. She made the reservation for 25 and she ordered a custom cake from the chef for the occasion. The food came streaming (more like sputtering) out over the course of about an hour or more. The waitresses appeared to take the orders "in order" but when they began delivering food it was an auction. The would bring a tray and scream out, "who had a po-boy?" Oftentimes, they got the menu item wrong, chicken po-boy instead of Canyon Chicken Sandwich which left know one answering the auctioneer. Many did not get served and new orders had to be placed and even then, they came out wacky wrong. Sounds bad, huh? Wait for it, there's more. The cake that was ordered for the "surprise birthday" celebration? ...they didn't make it. One of the kitchen staff said they forgot and another said they never got confirmation (Bullcrap). So, to "make up for it" they served us all the carrot cake they had which turned out to be about 6 slices for 25 people. I really thought the carrot cake could save everything based on my past romances with it but it just wasn't meant to be, I guess. It was burnt on the bottom and dry and tasteless throughout. ...and get this: They charged the sweetheart for them.

Strike Three. Your out.

We won't go back and I am very sad about that. I really looked forward to our trips there.

I really hope they can overhaul everything that is broken. I truly loved going there at one time.

Steve W
Ride Austin

PS. We did complain to the managers in charge that day but it didn't help. Many in the group also wrote personal emails to the restaurant Chef and the Director and all they got back was a very canned answer that looked sort of sincere at first until they compared notes and realized that every response to every email was the same. Just a copy and paste. How's *that* for sincerity?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Technigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We would like to apologize that the service you received in our restaurant was less than what you expected, and I would like to address a couple of the issues in your review.

At the beginning of your review you mention that you had been here two previous times and had received lackluster service. Since there are not any dates, I am unable to address these specific instances, however, if we had been aware of them at the time, they would have been addressed by both the resort and the restaurant management.

The lunch you mentioned on May 4th, there were some issues on our part, and for that we sincerely apologize.

Someone from your group did call several weeks before your arrival and spoke to our Chef about a group of about 16 persons coming for lunch and the possibility of a birthday cake being made. The person was asked to call us a few days before arrival to confirm both the size of your party and that a cake was needed. This did not happen and as such the cake was not made.

A couple of hours before your group arrived we were contacted and told that your group had grown from 16 to somewhere between 25 and 30, and told that a cake was needed. At that time your group was told that the birthday cake had not been made since a confirmation call had not been received. Due to the extremely short notice, it was not possible for a cake to be made before your group's arrival.

For groups your size we do have a specific and limited groups menu for groups to use. This did not happen and for that we are extremely apologetic. With a group your size ordering off the full menu all at once, it slowed down the response time from our kitchen. There were persons in your group who switched orders, switched seats and made the same order with more than one server, all of this added to the slow response time from our kitchen, and to the confusion of our servers delivering your meals. For that, we again apologize.

You are correct that a number of your group members emailed us about their experience. Most of the letters had the same complaints, and as such, we did fashion a letter that addressed all of the complaints of your group. This was not an attempt to give a canned or insincere response, it was an attempt to address all of the complaints of your group at once. We apologize if you felt that our explanation was not what was needed or expected.

This experience has become a learning experience for our restaurant staff. This is not the normal experience our diners have, nor is it the treatment that our large groups experience week in and week out (a large part of our business is corporate and non-profit groups, all of whose meals are eaten in the restaurant).

We do sincerely apologize and hope that in the future you will give our restaurant another chance.

Cordially,

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The resort and restaurant is nice enough. The food was really pretty good.
The staff needs a little help, young girls that just need someone to train them. They lack the personal touch you hope to receive when your visiting the Texas Hill Country! They also need a guide on the amount of wine that is pored. They weren't as generous with my second glass as they were my first!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our resort and food. We also thank you for letting us know that we have a little more training to do with our newer servers. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment in our performance.

We are an award-winning restaurant for a reason and we strive for excellence in everything we do. We as a whole are devastated when we do not meet or exceed guest’s expectations.

We would ask that you give us another chance to show you what service means to us.

If I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Most cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
mance@canyonoftheeagles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
1 review
“Want to go back!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We ate here a few times on our brief stay in Burnet. The staff cannot be beat. Friendliest most attentive staff ever. I had a menu item, sirloin, delicious. But two others who I was with special ordered because of a gluten intolerance and the chef and staff were incredibly accommodating. Family friendly. I wish we lived closer I'd love to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lxw378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words towards our staff, food, and Executive Chef.

We hope that you do make it to the area again soon and that we are able to serve you again.

Best wishes,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
mance@canyonoftheeagles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Reviewed under Canyon of the Eagles but just wanted to be sure that you know this is a great restaurant, great chef and great food. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasOrcas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Relations at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate the comments and look forward to serving you again the next time you visit us.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review by a local ”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

There aren't many close restaurants when you live on the lake, but we're pleased this one is here. For dinner: they like you to have reservations (which we made a couple hours in advance, no big deal). The room is lovely, rustic, yet elegant. The tea is good, and they have a wine selection. The food was good quality. We'll definitely go back if only for the food. Service was good, and what we would expect for the price. Service is a big deal for me, especially if the atmosphere and prices reflect that it should be good.
For breakfast: it was a morning of a buffet, a Sunday. I had high hopes given our experiences with dinner. The service was excellent, but with the food I was not pleased. The biscuits were hard and mildly charred. And, Although the fruit tray was delicious and lovely, and Bacon good, I must say something about the potatoes. From the outside, they looked dark brown and crispy, and my mouth watered for the soft middle of country potatoes. My poor mouth. The middles had been fried clean through. The consistency of each one was that of a hard crouton! Any longer in the pot, and they'd have disintegrated to crunchy ash! This is Texas, people. How can you dare to serve burnt biscuits and taters on a twenty dollar buffet? so, we won't come for weekend breakfast buffet again, but we still love dinner here, and may come for breakfast during the week when we can order our meals.

Helpful?
Thank Glory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Glory B...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the restaurant and our food. It is definitely a feather in our cap when our local residents enjoying coming to eat as much as our resort guests.

We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and our wine selection (many of our wines are from vineyards within 100 miles of our location).

We apologize that your breakfast experience was not as enjoyable as your dinner experience, and have let our Executive Chef know of the difficulty you had with our breakfast potatoes.

We strive everyday to meet and exceed our guests expectation, and we are sorry that in this instance we failed.

We hope though, that you will return again for breakfast, lunch or dinner (during the week as well as the weekend), and let us show you that we do learn from our mistakes.

Thank you again for our review, and if I may be of further service, please let me know.

Most cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
mance@canyonoftheeagles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles also viewed

 

Been to The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing