We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Burnet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our award-winning hill-top restaurant has terrific views and beautiful sunsets of the surrounding hills and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily! Our Chef de Cuisine offers delicious and fresh signature dishes. Wine, beer, and cocktails are offered both in the restaurant and Eagles Nest Lounge (open every weekend). Kid's menus are available. Restaurant hours are 8 a.M. To 8 p.M. Monday through Thursday, 8 a.M. To 9:00 p.M. Friday, 7:30 a.M. To 9 p.M. On Saturday, and 7:30 a.M. To 8 p.M. On Sunday. Operational hours may vary according to the season. The restaurant closes daily from 3 p.M. To 5 p.M. And dinner service starts at 5:00 p.M. Reservations are suggested during the weekdays and required on Friday and Saturday nights and holidays.
Gause, TX
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not The Best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Over the period of 3 days in Jul 2014 we ate three meals - dinner, lunch, and breakfast. All three times we were disappointed. I am not sure what the "award winning food" is that they claim to have, but we found it to be lackluster and over priced.

First, understand that this is part of the Canyon of the Eagles resort which is about 25 miles or so from any town with cafes and restaurants. Burnet is the closest. So, unless you want to drive 30 minutes or more one way to eat, then you are hung because this restaurant is the ONLY choice.

The menus are fairly limited for an award winning place. Plus, for every entree we ordered we were told they were out of some component of that meal. For breakfast for example, they did not even have any jellies or jams. The did come up with one blueberry concoction which was good. I had pancakes and they were black on both sides and almost as thin as a tortilla. They were listed as having apple compote topping, but they were out of that! So, they thawed out some strawberries and put that on them. While they tasted ok, they were greasy, over cooked and thin. Maybe that is the chef's idea of something unusual and great, but I found it to be pretty unappealing. One entree we ordered was the grilled pork chop. While large, it was under cooked and someway fatty. I have forgotten what, but they were out of something on the menu that went with it.

We asked one day at lunch what the deserts would be for dinner thinking we would just eat desert and skip the meal. They gave us a list of only three things. One was cheesecake, so we opted not to go to town to eat or to eat in the restaurant, but just to have the dessert. We got there and were told it was too hot today so the cheesecake would not set up properly. Award winning?

Generally though, the entriees were ok, but nothing to get excited about. The portions were large. They have a pulled pork enchilada meal that is very good, but rather bland. The Canyon Burger is excellent and quite large.

Service was fine, but there were never over 3 tables in use at any meal we were there. They had about a third of the tables or maybe more set with linen table cloths and linen napkins. None of those tables were used for any of the three meals we were there for. We had plain tables with no covering (they were granite tops) and nice cloth napkins. Not sure what you had to do to be seated at one of the other tables! The ambiance is excellent with an outstanding view. But, they do not pay attention to many details. The floor was clean, but not up against the baseboards or in corners. The windows were quite dirty, especially on the outside. Also, the AC did not appear to be working properly, but it was sufficient to get by.

Overall, I thought it was greatly underrated and way over priced with a limited selection. While we didn't starve to death eating there, we felt like we were not getting what we paid for and certainly it was average at best for restaurants in general and poor for one at a resort. I recommend you bring a cooler with your own food and, depending on how long you are at the resort, make a few trips into town for good meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Relations at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write a review and let us know the problems you had with your stay. We apologize that our service was not up to our standards.

During your visit we did have a very large corporate group in-house (over 50 persons). The large round tables covered with the linens were the tables used by the group during their meals. In order to make sure that all of our guests have a personal dining experience, we attempt to schedule our groups dining times at a different time from our other guests. This is why you did not see people sitting at those tables during your meals.

While it does not happen often, we sometimes do run out of items on our menu. For this we truly apologize. When it does happen our kitchen staff does attempt to substitute items to your liking in order to make your dining experience something memorable. We apologize if this did not happen to your liking while you were here. Had we been made aware that you were unhappy during your stay, we would have done all we could to make it right for you. Customer service is our number one priority, and we apologize that in this instance we fell short in our goal.

Again, we apologize that your experience was not what you had hoped, but we hope that you will come back and give us another chance when you are in the area.

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buffet Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I love buffet breakfasts! And this one was excellent. We walked in right before 10:30 when they shut down, but they welcomed us with open arms. They even offered to make us their coconut cream pie pancakes since they had run out. Those were amazing! We pigged out on pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, and fruit. Everything was delicious and the service was great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bseg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rustic Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the view and the rustic, yet elegant setting. This restaurant is part of the Canyon of the Eagles Resort - within a short walk. A serendipitous find!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As Good as a Four Star Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I were very surprised and impressed with everything we had here from the catfish po-boys, fried avocado appetizer, lump blue crab cakes, the pecan crusted fish, and the desserts. The desserts were delicious. Even the presentation was something the chef clearly enjoyed showing off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“End of an era, bad service and bad dessert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I belong to a motorcycle riding group that has made a regular event of our rides from Austin to The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles. It was so popular because the ride was beautiful, the service was adequate, the food was excellent but the dessert was to die for. That was then, this is now and now is the end of an era.

The last three trips there have been less than impressive. The first of the three, one of our riders did not get his entree (hamburger) till after everyone else had already eaten, had dessert and paid out. Group size was about 15 and we called the week in advance. Strike One.

The second time it was a little worse. The food was still good but the service got worse and many of the diners in our group waited 20-30 minutes after the first of us to get their food. We filled our own water and tea because we just got tired of waiting. Group size was about 18 and we called the week in advance. Strike Two.

This last time, Sunday May 4th, we had a birthday in the group and his sweetheart called to set the reservations several weeks in advance. She made the reservation for 25 and she ordered a custom cake from the chef for the occasion. The food came streaming (more like sputtering) out over the course of about an hour or more. The waitresses appeared to take the orders "in order" but when they began delivering food it was an auction. The would bring a tray and scream out, "who had a po-boy?" Oftentimes, they got the menu item wrong, chicken po-boy instead of Canyon Chicken Sandwich which left know one answering the auctioneer. Many did not get served and new orders had to be placed and even then, they came out wacky wrong. Sounds bad, huh? Wait for it, there's more. The cake that was ordered for the "surprise birthday" celebration? ...they didn't make it. One of the kitchen staff said they forgot and another said they never got confirmation (Bullcrap). So, to "make up for it" they served us all the carrot cake they had which turned out to be about 6 slices for 25 people. I really thought the carrot cake could save everything based on my past romances with it but it just wasn't meant to be, I guess. It was burnt on the bottom and dry and tasteless throughout. ...and get this: They charged the sweetheart for them.

Strike Three. Your out.

We won't go back and I am very sad about that. I really looked forward to our trips there.

I really hope they can overhaul everything that is broken. I truly loved going there at one time.

Steve W
Ride Austin

PS. We did complain to the managers in charge that day but it didn't help. Many in the group also wrote personal emails to the restaurant Chef and the Director and all they got back was a very canned answer that looked sort of sincere at first until they compared notes and realized that every response to every email was the same. Just a copy and paste. How's *that* for sincerity?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Technigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonOftheEagles, Director of Guest Services at The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We would like to apologize that the service you received in our restaurant was less than what you expected, and I would like to address a couple of the issues in your review.

At the beginning of your review you mention that you had been here two previous times and had received lackluster service. Since there are not any dates, I am unable to address these specific instances, however, if we had been aware of them at the time, they would have been addressed by both the resort and the restaurant management.

The lunch you mentioned on May 4th, there were some issues on our part, and for that we sincerely apologize.

Someone from your group did call several weeks before your arrival and spoke to our Chef about a group of about 16 persons coming for lunch and the possibility of a birthday cake being made. The person was asked to call us a few days before arrival to confirm both the size of your party and that a cake was needed. This did not happen and as such the cake was not made.

A couple of hours before your group arrived we were contacted and told that your group had grown from 16 to somewhere between 25 and 30, and told that a cake was needed. At that time your group was told that the birthday cake had not been made since a confirmation call had not been received. Due to the extremely short notice, it was not possible for a cake to be made before your group's arrival.

For groups your size we do have a specific and limited groups menu for groups to use. This did not happen and for that we are extremely apologetic. With a group your size ordering off the full menu all at once, it slowed down the response time from our kitchen. There were persons in your group who switched orders, switched seats and made the same order with more than one server, all of this added to the slow response time from our kitchen, and to the confusion of our servers delivering your meals. For that, we again apologize.

You are correct that a number of your group members emailed us about their experience. Most of the letters had the same complaints, and as such, we did fashion a letter that addressed all of the complaints of your group. This was not an attempt to give a canned or insincere response, it was an attempt to address all of the complaints of your group at once. We apologize if you felt that our explanation was not what was needed or expected.

This experience has become a learning experience for our restaurant staff. This is not the normal experience our diners have, nor is it the treatment that our large groups experience week in and week out (a large part of our business is corporate and non-profit groups, all of whose meals are eaten in the restaurant).

We do sincerely apologize and hope that in the future you will give our restaurant another chance.

Cordially,

Cordially,

Mance Bowden
Director of Guest Services
Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles also viewed

 

Been to The Overlook Restaurant at Canyon of the Eagles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing