We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful, and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Painted Sky Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Painted Sky Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Burnet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta Fire Department
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, and beautiful”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We love the Painted Sky Inn. We stayed four nights. Very quiet, peaceful, and beautiful. The "beaches" are loaded with bluebonnets...blanketed. The night sky is full of stars. We watched the 'blood moon' lunar eclipse. It is a wonderful place to stay. Denise is the owner and manager: call her on the phone instead of booking online. A snowy egret rookery, with greater and lesser blue herons, is down the road, heading toward Burnet, on the left. It is located in front of a cliff. The cliff appears to be an ancient cave, noting the formations. Painted Sky Inn is located perfectly for exploring the Texas Hill Country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaFireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Every time I pass the rookery you mention here, I think about you all and the wonderful discovery you made of it. Thank you for find it and telling us about it. I would have never known to give it a name but I had seen all these Egrets hanging around it. This is a great place for bird watching and you just enhanced it for us and others. Thank you for staying with us, enjoying the place and taking the time to give us a review. We hope to have you come back soon. The Bluebonnets are as we have never seen them before and have blanketed our beach, are tall and thick. It's a banner year for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cameron, texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We absolutely LOVE the Painted Sky Inn. The owner Denise is the nicest person you'll ever meet. Her Inn has an amazing view of the lake and it truly lives up to its name. The sky is beautiful!
The rooms are well kept & comfortable. And there are deer roaming everywhere. They're right at home and unafraid of the travelers who stay there. Pets are welcome with open arms, which is a huge plus for us. I cannot say enough good things about the Painted Sky Inn. We're planning our 4th return trip in mid April & it cant get here fast enough. If you love Texas Bluebonnets in the Spring, then this Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Congratulations to you and to us that this review made it as a Burnet Feature Review on Trip Advisor this month! Thank you so very much! What an honor to have you review us to such a high level. We are so glad that you have stayed with us multiple times and are still coming back. That's the best compliment we could ever have. This year the Bluebonnets are the best and are covering the entire beach! We are looking forward to having you back here this Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked last minute for a short family getaway for New Years, 2013-2014. Very family friendly, we have two small children and it was perfect for them. They have a playground on site, a large yard to play in and canoe rentals with life-jackets small enough for a 3-year old. They have a great fire pit where they built the fire and even provided the items needed for smores. And on celebrate New Years they even set off fireworks! Rooms were very clean I had no problem letting my 10 month old crawl everywhere in the house we rented. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tashmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
We are so glad that you brought your family out for New Year's Eve and that you enjoyed it so much. We like to be that place that you can get away, enjoy the holiday without having to deal with a crowd. New Year's Eve is normally pretty quiet out here and such a benefit that you can bring your children and shoot off fireworks if you want to. We hope you come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The inn is situated on a lake that is, sadly, 33 feet low due to the extended drought. They still have enough water for canoeing and fishing. The rooms are freshly remodeled and clean. The beds are comfortable, which is important when you have had a busy day traveling or exploring. The rooms come with kitchenettes and the basics for cooking, and a grill behind each room facing the lake and the beautiful view of the lake and hills. Burnet, Texas is close for grocery shopping. If you want a cozy retreat with a lovely view you should stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadRashTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
I love your user name! You seem to do a lot of traveling and with that brings lots of experiences with hotels. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here, found it comfortable, clean and cozy. The three "C's" :), is what we aim for. Your comments give us added incentive to continue on this path and improve. We hope you can come back and stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Painted Sky Inn is a little piece of paradise. The drive out was beautiful and the inn was just perfect for a short getaway. Kayaking was great, easy access to the water and fishing was great too. Denise, the owner and manager, was super helpful and I can't wait to return. Didn't take the kids this time, but I know they would have a good time if we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for choosing us for what I imagine was a much needed time away! We are so close to Austin that you aren't spending all day to get away! It was great that you took the kayaks out and explored the area. I think you all caught a bunch of catfish off the island if I remember correctly. I hope to see you back here with the family and the next time you need to escape the hustle and bustle. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here and so appreciate your review. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last minute getaway from Austin with our 15 month old son. We decided to book the 2 room cabin so we'd have a separate room and wouldn't have to be quiet once we put our son to sleep. The lake was extremely low but my husband was still able to fish off the pier and on his tube. The hotel was very clean and nice and Denise is a wonderful, accommodating host. The view was gorgeous and we enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings. It would be nice if the hotel was a little closer to town, but Denise warned us when we made our reservation so we were prepared. We had a great time and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avacorinne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for coming here and making us your last minute vacation stop. It was so great seeing your husband float out and fish in his tube. Your right, we aren't very close to town and it takes 20 minutes to get to gas and grocery but the good news for staying here is that you can cook your meals and don't have to eat out of a cooler or in a restaurant if you don't want to. One of these days, I'll find someone who will put a food truck out here and we'll have all that covered. Hope to see you guys back soon. Weather is cooler and the fish are biting! Thank you so much for your review. Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

From the decks of the Inn we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets that inspired the name of the Inn. Denise was an exceptional host, was on sight the entire time, knew the area well and places to recommend and made us feel right at home. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The only thing that could have made it better would be if the lake was back to normal levels. Beyond that, I would recommend to anyone wanting to get away to a quite little getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L, Owner at Painted Sky Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home here. It's such a little intimate place that you need to feel at home. The sunsets are what I consider to be a primary feature too and I'm so blessed to have a sister who was talented enough to get the name right. Being a getaway place is what we want to be for our guests and I so appreciate you recommending us for that to others. You don't have to have high water levels to take a nice quiet and relaxing break in a scenic place. Thank you for taking time to review us! Hope see you again soon! Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnet
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burnet
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Post Oak Inn
22.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lampasas Inn & Suites
20.1 mi away
The Inn at Lampasas
The Inn at Lampasas
#1 of 3 in Lampasas
141 reviews
17.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Llano
BEST WESTERN Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Sky Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Sky Inn

Property: Painted Sky Inn
Address: 1400 CR 128, Burnet, TX 78611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Burnet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Painted Sky Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted Sky Inn is a newly modernized and intimate get-a-way located on a deep water cove on the Eastern shore of Lake Buchanan and conveniently positioned between Canyon of the Eagles Nature Park and Reveille Peak Ranch Adventure Park. This owner/operated inn features nearly 600 feet of lake frontage and gorgeous views from every unit. The location is one of the best on Lake Buchanan for its open water views, deeper water for launching and excellent fishing from its well known pier. Accommodations for up to 54 people makes Painted Sky Inn perfect for hosting family, organization or corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Painted Sky Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Sky Hotel Burnet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing