We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tour”

Burton Cotton Gin and Museum
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Burton
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

You will view a short 15 minute video before the tour begins about how a cotton gin operates. Then the curator comes in and talks for a few minutes and answers any questions. It was very interesting and the tour is informative if you are in to rediscovering things as they were at the turn of the century. We also had lunch at the Burton Street Café, which features some dishes from the German influence in the town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It still works!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were the only two visitors this morning, but the docent (so embarrassed we didn't get his name!) gave us the full 1 1/2 hour tour of a truly operational steam powered cotton gin--the only one in the United States. It was fascinating to learn the process from picking in the field to the picking up of your baled cotton a short time after delivering to the gin. The docent engaged us in the story, making it personal. A nice touch: the video came at the end, so served as a review of what we had learned and helped us remember so much new material. This little village has a genuine jewel, so do take the time to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oldest and only Cotton Gin still operational”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

They only start up the gin during the once a year celebration. My 11 year old son and I really enjoyed the tour and film clips. Very informative on the importance of cotton in the early 1900's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Actually pretty cool!”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stopped here and too the tour, with one of the most passionate tour guides we've ever had - learned about cotton, the cotton gin, and got some cotton to take home with us too. :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AimeeColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were part of large group and we were treated to the Diesel engine up and running. There were also tour guides telling us so many interesting things. They were very knowledgeable.

My husband works in safety at a large corporation and I kept expecting to find him keeled over from a heart attack at the difference in the procedures the workers used to deal with and what is required to protect workers now. I didn't think to ask about work related accidents in the old days.

PS. "Gin" is short for engine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burton Cotton Gin and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Burton Cotton Gin and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing